£26.18 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 12 May 2014 Check-out 15 May 2014

Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

2 stars
5827 Caravan Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
180 reviews
family and friends

We had a wonderful time in Orlando and visiting family and friends. The hotel was very conveniently... See full review

  • andrea and billy
  • 5 Jun 2013
all of the holiday was brilliant

everything was very good. hotel was basic but it suited us. could have done with a microwave See full review

  • val and ken
  • 3 Aug 2013
Renovated rooms. Free transportation to Disney, Universal and Seaworld. Gourmet restaurant on-site serving American/Indian cuisine. Oversized heated pool and kiddie pool. The Days Inn Maingate to Universal is conveniently located off I-4, Exit 75B Within walking distance to the main entrance to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and City Walk. Comfortable guest rooms include -Two double beds, King-bed rooms, Studio Suites which have one king size bed and a sofa bed. Refrigerators in all rooms. Microwave upon request. Cable TV with expanded line up. I-Drive Trolley service for nominal charge, 4 Miles to Orlando Orange County Convention Center, all major Central Florida attractions within short drive, Guest service desk for area attraction tickets, Free scheduled transportation to and from Disney theme parks and Universal Studios. For information regarding Banquet Hall rental please contact Tabla Bar and Grill directly at 407-248-9400. Continental Breakfast 7-9:30 am daily at Tabla Cafe 3.75 per person plus tax. Groups must schedule private breakfast with Sales Department prior to arrival.

Amenities

  • High speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

28.4771 -81.455
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Movie Rider: 2.6 mi
  • King Henry's Feast: 3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Movie Rider: 2.6 mi
  • King Henry's Feast: 3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.7 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 8.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.1 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by ebookers

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (180)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Overall score

2.4 / 5
180 out of 180
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
johnman
Jacksonville FL
21 Mar 2011

DONT DO IT!!!!

In my 30 years on this earth, this is the most disguisting place I have ever slept, or showered in. I know its cheap, and close to city walk, but it is not worth it. The white bathtub was covered in black mold. The sheets smelled like they hadn't been washed. DONT DO IT!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Boston, MA
28 Feb 2011

Average but comfortable

Wanted a reasonably cheap place to sleep and that is exactly what we got. Comfortable beds, clean room and not noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
ely, minnesota
27 Feb 2011

hotel room

The only thing "newly remodeled" was the shower curtain. The clock and tv did not work, the toilet ran and leaked,the walls were dirty and had dust hanging from them, the carpet was filthy. The shuttle to the parks only ran once a day, would have been nice to know that. If I had not already paid for the room, I would have left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
15 Feb 2011

RUDE, OVERCHARGE AND LIE!

[...] pretty much they are lying about having continental breakfast. They are also lying about the "free shuttle transportation." They supposedly have one shuttle and I never saw it. It goes to the park at 10:45 and leaves at 7:30. Useless. Also, I asked for a cab and they called a sketch town car that didn't have a meter and they guy charged double every other cab in the area. As far as the room goes, it's about what you'd expect for 30 bucks a night. Small, dinky towels. Loud people outside. Lots of pizza menus being squished through your door at all hours of the night. Air conditioner that is off/on. Apparently the refrigerator wasn't cold enough, which I found out when my leftovers from a fancy restaurant were ruined the next day. FINAL ISSUE: THIS IS A BIG ONE! THEY LOCKED ME OUT OF MY ROOM ON MONDAY (VALENTINE'S DAY) THE DAY THAT THEY PROMISED I WOULDN'T HAVE AN ISSUE. I went down to ask about it, he said I hadn't paid for the night yet. A: I already had discussed this whole situation with him for check in. B: I had put my credit card number on their website already. C: Most places, they preauthorize your card and you pay at check out, which they already had my card. D: Even though he said it was because I didn't pay, he didn't charge my card until Tuesday morning (so he lied, AGAIN). They guy's name was [...]. I am just got back to Atlanta a couple of hours ago. I am still waiting to see if my card gets overcharged which I am definitely expecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Douglasville, Ga
14 Feb 2011

You get what you pay for...and less....

We were staying at this hotel because it has many tv stations (tv didn't work the entire time we were here, even after the repairman came in and could not figure it out so we had no tv the whole trip). Another reason we were staying was because the free wifi (didn't work in the rooms...only in the lobby). The heated pool was not heated it was just a regular pool with a tiki bar next to it. It is near the maingate of Universal Studios but the bus that takes you only runs to the park 2 hours after it is open and picks up 5 mins before the park closes (which we were wanting to arrive as the park opened or a little before). We walked to and from Universal with no problem but make sure to bring your walking shoes! Basically this hotel was a whole bundle of false advertising but you only find that out once you are actually there. The staff was ok, they really only talked to you if you approached them first (ex:no greeting they would just stare at you until you spoke). Overall though, if you know what to expect before you go...this is a super cheap hotel in an alright location. I would book again if we were going back to Universal any time soon because its such a great price even though it is almost just for a shower,fridge, and bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This location is within a short walking distance of Universal Studios and has several food places and shopping places near it.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Massachusetts
17 Jan 2011

Days inn review

I took a visit to Orlando to enjoy the famous theme parks. My boyfriend and I stayed at Days Inn. Even though the Inn was less than 2 minutes away from universal Studios the experience at the Inn was NOT great at all. My flight landed in orlando at 11 A.M. and as I arrived at the Inn at 11:20 A.M. the staff at the Inn would not allow me to check in until 4 P.M.. My boyfriend and I waited around the Inn than got fed up and traveled around Orlando. ( we got off the plane and was expecting to change and shower before going out). The Inn was stuffy,can't open window and when u shower with hot water the steam does not leave the room because the bathroom had no windows or anyways of getting rid of the steam. Every morning for the 5 days that we stayed in this Inn you can hear everyone walking back and forth in front of your door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

I would defiantly recommend Steak n shakes if you are ever in Orlando. It's very good and super cheap.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
New York, NY
17 Jan 2011

Worth $40. Nothing more to say.

The continental breakfast is pathetic at best. The hotel had no bugs and the sheets were clean. These were the two positive things about this hotel. This is worth the $40/night. That's about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Red Coconut Club at Citiwalk is worth it!

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Lodi, NJ
9 Jan 2011

Days Inn Universal MainGate

rooms were clean and spacious. There was an annoying charge of $2.50 per day "for the use of the telephone" But we had cellphones and did not need or use the hotel phone. Breakfast was next door and we were charged for it so we walked to the cracker barrell and ate there. Desk was most accomodating to any questions and assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cracker Barrel, TGIF and local steak and Ale: all good and service was excellent.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
miami, florida
6 Jan 2011

Not so good....

We had issues with one of the rooms rented in which the AC did not work. At check in we were told we had connecting rooms but once we got to the room they weren't. We tried to get different rooms that were connecting and we were told the hotel was book to capacity and no other rooms were available. We then had issues with one of the rooms in which the AC did not work, all of a sudden there were 2 other rooms available. We ended up moving just one of the rooms. At check out we had to pay a resort fee that was not disclosed at time of booking or at check in to the resort. We still had to pay even after the inconvinience we had. On a positive note, the rooms did seem clean and smelled good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Atlanta GA
27 Dec 2010

kumar_visit

we feel very bad into this hotel as we stayed in for 3 days out of which 2 days there was no hot water in the room, nor they provide any drinking water facility into the room. I don;t know how much time they took to fix the promblem but they keep on saying that something going bad with their boiler which they called is responsible for not warming the water for the complete hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top