£87.12 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 31 Aug 2014 Check-out 1 Sep 2014

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
76 reviews
Perfect economy hotel

Great location and very clean room. This was the best smelling hotel I've ever been in. We couldn't... See full review

  • Friend of Peter
  • 27 Jan 2014
HOTEL WAS VERY CENTRAL

Hotel was very clean, rooms immaculate and lovely comfortable beds and a very big bathroom, hotel... See full review

  • tricks
  • 6 Nov 2013
The famous architects Mergatroyd and Ogden built the Jolly Hotel Madison Towers in 1923; it is a rare example of "Italianate" style still in existence in Manhattan. In 1991 the largest Italian Hotel chain "Jolly Hotels" purchased it. Recently described by the New York Times as a charming business boutique hotel, it is conveniently located in midtown Manhattan on 38th street between Madison Avenue and Park Avenue. All the rooms offer a unique, relaxing and sophisticated European ambiance together with the latest up to date technology.

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Rooms

Standard Room: One Twin, Queen, or King Bed
Rooms feature one twin, queen, or king bed set in a traditional European design with handcrafted furnishings in light Italian cherry wood. Working desk with leather chair, imported Venetian glass lamps, dual telephone line with voicemail and modem connection. High speed internet Web TV, minibar, pay per view, cable TV with HBO, iron/ironing board, and individually controlled room temperature. Superior bathrooms average 40 square feet, warm beige wallpaper and Italian travertine marble, hairdryer and telephone. We also feature extra amenities such as body lotions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jolly Hotel Madison Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7501 -73.9806
Area served
Midtown Manhattan
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport and JFK Airport
Area description
From the La Guardia Airport, take the Parkway West ramp towards Manhattan. Take the the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway Exit. Merge onto I-495 West toward Midtown Tunnel. Turn left onto East 37th Street. Turn right onto East 38th Street. From the JFK Airport, go North on 134th Street. Turn right onto South Conduit Avenue. Turn slight right onto ramp. Turn left onto 150th Street. Turn left on North Conduit Avenue. Merge onto I-495 West. Turn left onto East 37th Street. Turn right onto East 38th Street.

Nearby points of interest

  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.6 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by ebookers

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
22 Jul 2007

Pleasing surprise

Our room, while small, was very comfortable and accomodated two people nicely. At first I was concerned because our room was located next to the elevator but we never heard a sound during our two night stay. Very quiet, clean and excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

close to subway, shopping, restaurants, etc.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tricks
sligo, Ireland
6 Nov 2013

HOTEL WAS VERY CENTRAL

Hotel was very clean, rooms immaculate and lovely comfortable beds and a very big bathroom, hotel central to Times Square, loads of restaurants and tourist attractions near by. Staff very helpful with regards to Broadway Shows and great directions to shopping centres as well as Shopping Outlets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping Outlets are about an hour away, would be worthwhile going as designer clothes are much cheaper and more of a selection.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Heather Money Saver
Pottstown, PA
9 Jul 2010

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Stay

The hotel was beautiful and the people there were great. The people that worked there were very nice and attentive to your needs. And the vale parking was a great touch and good price too. I couldn't have asked for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Three blocks away from grand central station.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Country Girl in the City
Berlin, CT, USA
21 Nov 2011

Romantic Weekend in the City

The Jolly Madison Tower Hotel made our weekend one of the best trips to NYC! We drove in from CT on Saturday afternoon, the hotel was easy find and the staff took care of everything, including parking our car, without any fuss or hassel. The room was clean, the bathroom was gorgeous, a little small but perfect for a couple. Your able to get room service for breakfast and access to a mini bar if you so choose. Location is GREAT!!! Not too close but not too far, you can walk to pretty much any of the major sight seeing attractions but not have to deal with neon lights shinning in your windows! The Hotel is on a very safe and quite street. There are a few different resturants close by for a late dinner after a broadway show (however things do close up kind of early). I don't think I will ever come to NYC without staying here. The staff made our weekend stress free and the hotel is a major value! I can't wait to come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
4 May 2008

great location

the jolly hotel was a great place to stay. wonderful location and accessable to everything. grand central station was only a block away and we could easily walk to times square. the room was comfortable, with the only drawback a very small bathroom. was very clean and we would definitely go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

no matter which way you went when you left the hotel you could find restaurants and shopping within a few blocks.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
9 Dec 2007

Good Midtown Location

The Jolly Madison was the only NY Midtown Hotel that I found that didn't jack there rate to the moon during the Christmas season. It was a very good value. The room was comfortable and met my needs. I enjoyed my stay and will certainly consider staying there again on my next trip to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Midtown shopping and a short walk to fabulous restaurants

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Friend of Peter
St. Paul
27 Jan 2014

Perfect economy hotel

Great location and very clean room. This was the best smelling hotel I've ever been in. We couldn't get our TV to work, but we didn't have much time to watch TV anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Morgan Library and Museum is a 5 minute walk away. The library is amazing and we enjoyed the DaVinci and Edgar Allen Poe exhibits.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adrian G
Argentina
3 Jul 2014

Nice NH Hotel near Times Square

I booked a double superior room through Orbtz for USD 180 so my review considers this price as value for money (room price at hotel was USD 350). Jolly Hotel Madison Tower is an NH hotel so if you have stayed in any of them, expect no less from Madison Tower. Location is pretty good, its near Times Square, Grand Central, Empire State among other things. Rooms are spacious and clean, fully equipped except for the 20' CRT TV. You can get continental breakfast in room for 20 USD. The only flaw is no free wifi, nor room or lobby. Internet is charged something like USD 3 for 30min and USD 10 for 24h clock. You pay 3 bucks, you get 30 min clock no matter if you where connected 1 min or the whole time. You cannot use more than one device per connection. It's cheaper and easier to walk two blocks and get a SB coffee and free wifi. (Techys advice: wifi is url proxy filtered, you can bypass it through IP address naming or so).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square, Empire State, Grand Central & Macys.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FL to NY
Palm Beach, FL
6 Aug 2012

Great hotel for the price and location!

This hotel was in a great location from everything we wanted to do. Very close to Grand Central Station to catch any train or subway to get around town. The staff was very helpful and made you feel welcomed! Yes the room is small, but they tell you that on their website, and yes it could use a little updating, but those are not a big deal to my Husband and I. We weren't living in the hotel and didn't need a lot of space. We had a big king bed, room to walk around and a bathroom. And the room and bathroom were clean!!!! What else can you ask for in NYC? The beds and pillows yes I'll admit could use a bit more cushion, but we still slept good anyways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rockville,MD
2 May 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Visiting NYC for one night and found this hotel on many web sites. It is centrally located, friendly staff. Rooms are average size for NY, small for other locations. Not new, but well kept. Nice bathroom but did need some repairs. Would stay there again and for the price in NYC it couldn't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant around the corner suggested by the doorman.

Back to menu Return to top