£107.05 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 20 Apr 2014 Check-out 22 Apr 2014

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

3 stars
22 East 38th Street, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
66 reviews
Perfect economy hotel

Great location and very clean room. This was the best smelling hotel I've ever been in. We couldn't... See full review

  • Friend of Peter
  • 27 Jan 2014
HOTEL WAS VERY CENTRAL

Hotel was very clean, rooms immaculate and lovely comfortable beds and a very big bathroom, hotel... See full review

  • tricks
  • 6 Nov 2013
The famous architects Mergatroyd and Ogden built the Jolly Hotel Madison Towers in 1923; it is a rare example of "Italianate" style still in existence in Manhattan. In 1991 the largest Italian Hotel chain "Jolly Hotels" purchased it. Recently described by the New York Times as a charming business boutique hotel, it is conveniently located in midtown Manhattan on 38th street between Madison Avenue and Park Avenue. All the rooms have been recently renovated, offering a unique, relaxing and sophisticated European ambiance together with the latest up to date technology.

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Rooms

Standard Room: One Twin, Queen, or King Bed
Rooms feature one twin, queen, or king bed set in a traditional European design with handcrafted furnishings in light Italian cherry wood. Working desk with leather chair, imported Venetian glass lamps, dual telephone line with voicemail and modem connection. High speed internet Web TV, minibar, pay per view, cable TV with HBO, iron/ironing board, and individually controlled room temperature. Superior bathrooms average 40 square feet, warm beige wallpaper and Italian travertine marble, hairdryer and telephone. We also feature extra amenities such as: body lotions, bath salts, shaving set, toothpaste and toothbrush.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jolly Hotel Madison Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7501 -73.9806
Area served
Midtown Manhattan
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport and JFK Airport
Area description
From the La Guardia Airport, take the Parkway West ramp towards Manhattan. Take the the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway Exit. Merge onto I-495 West toward Midtown Tunnel. Turn left onto East 37th Street. Turn right onto East 38th Street. From the JFK Airport, go North on 134th Street. Turn right onto South Conduit Avenue. Turn slight right onto ramp. Turn left onto 150th Street. Turn left on North Conduit Avenue. Merge onto I-495 West. Turn left onto East 37th Street. Turn right onto East 38th Street.

Nearby points of interest

  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.6 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi

Dining

The Cinquelerre Restaurant
Wonderful authentic Italian Restaurant with traditional dishes, that recreates the cozy atmosphere of the fishing villages on the Italian Riviera. The walls frescoes reproduce the image of an enchanting view from the reefs overlooking the blue Mediterranean Sea. A feast for your eyes and for your senses once you start savoring the incredible fish and meat dishes with the colorful pastas and the Italian desserts that will make you feel "out of this world" but deep inside the heart of Italy. The Cinquelerre Restaurant has been awarded with two stars by the New York Times restaurant review.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by ebookers

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Overall score

3.2 / 5
66 out of 66
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
22 Jul 2007

Pleasing surprise

Our room, while small, was very comfortable and accomodated two people nicely. At first I was concerned because our room was located next to the elevator but we never heard a sound during our two night stay. Very quiet, clean and excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

close to subway, shopping, restaurants, etc.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
4 May 2008

great location

the jolly hotel was a great place to stay. wonderful location and accessable to everything. grand central station was only a block away and we could easily walk to times square. the room was comfortable, with the only drawback a very small bathroom. was very clean and we would definitely go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

no matter which way you went when you left the hotel you could find restaurants and shopping within a few blocks.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
tricks
sligo, Ireland
6 Nov 2013

HOTEL WAS VERY CENTRAL

Hotel was very clean, rooms immaculate and lovely comfortable beds and a very big bathroom, hotel central to Times Square, loads of restaurants and tourist attractions near by. Staff very helpful with regards to Broadway Shows and great directions to shopping centres as well as Shopping Outlets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping Outlets are about an hour away, would be worthwhile going as designer clothes are much cheaper and more of a selection.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
Heather Money Saver
Pottstown, PA
9 Jul 2010

Jolly Hotel Madison Tower Stay

The hotel was beautiful and the people there were great. The people that worked there were very nice and attentive to your needs. And the vale parking was a great touch and good price too. I couldn't have asked for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Three blocks away from grand central station.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
Friend of Peter
St. Paul
27 Jan 2014

Perfect economy hotel

Great location and very clean room. This was the best smelling hotel I've ever been in. We couldn't get our TV to work, but we didn't have much time to watch TV anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Morgan Library and Museum is a 5 minute walk away. The library is amazing and we enjoyed the DaVinci and Edgar Allen Poe exhibits.

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
Country Girl in the City
Berlin, CT, USA
21 Nov 2011

Romantic Weekend in the City

The Jolly Madison Tower Hotel made our weekend one of the best trips to NYC! We drove in from CT on Saturday afternoon, the hotel was easy find and the staff took care of everything, including parking our car, without any fuss or hassel. The room was clean, the bathroom was gorgeous, a little small but perfect for a couple. Your able to get room service for breakfast and access to a mini bar if you so choose. Location is GREAT!!! Not too close but not too far, you can walk to pretty much any of the major sight seeing attractions but not have to deal with neon lights shinning in your windows! The Hotel is on a very safe and quite street. There are a few different resturants close by for a late dinner after a broadway show (however things do close up kind of early). I don't think I will ever come to NYC without staying here. The staff made our weekend stress free and the hotel is a major value! I can't wait to come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
9 Dec 2007

Good Midtown Location

The Jolly Madison was the only NY Midtown Hotel that I found that didn't jack there rate to the moon during the Christmas season. It was a very good value. The room was comfortable and met my needs. I enjoyed my stay and will certainly consider staying there again on my next trip to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Midtown shopping and a short walk to fabulous restaurants

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
monarico4
Business
Jersey
13 Jan 2012

clean and convenient

great location-room is nothing fancy but clean and totally refurbished bathrooms-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
jenabell
Co Durham United Kingdom
2 Feb 2013

Fantastic 50th Birthday

Where to start, the holiday was nearly a disaster as we were delayed at the airport and the luggage was lost. We eventually arrived at the hotel 8 hours later than arrival time. The reception staff were ok but when we asked for a room with a view of the empire state building, they were a bit abrupt saying they had no rooms left on that side of the building. Never mind we eventually got to our room and were really pleased with the size and cleanliness of it. There were 2 double beds in and a fridge for the pop and wine! The shower was fantastic with plenty of hot water. The air conditioner wasnt working but this was repaired straight away and the room was lovely and warm afterwards. The beds were made every day and the toilet rolls and towels replaced also which was great. The bar had 2 hours with half price drinks every evening and the staff were friendly and made the cocktails we asked for with no problem. We didnt eat at the hotel but there was a menu available for breakfast The location of this hotel is excellent as its really handy for some of the main attractions, the Empire state building, Time square, theatres, Grand central terminal and central park to name a few are all in walking distance (if you like walking) I would definately recommend this hotel and will use it again when we return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The Phantom of the Opera at the Theatre is a must see

Review of Jolly Hotel Madison Tower

Reviewer score

4
FL to NY
Palm Beach, FL
6 Aug 2012

Great hotel for the price and location!

This hotel was in a great location from everything we wanted to do. Very close to Grand Central Station to catch any train or subway to get around town. The staff was very helpful and made you feel welcomed! Yes the room is small, but they tell you that on their website, and yes it could use a little updating, but those are not a big deal to my Husband and I. We weren't living in the hotel and didn't need a lot of space. We had a big king bed, room to walk around and a bathroom. And the room and bathroom were clean!!!! What else can you ask for in NYC? The beds and pillows yes I'll admit could use a bit more cushion, but we still slept good anyways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top