£111.98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 11 May 2014 Check-out 12 May 2014

The Out NYC

4 stars
510 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
73 reviews
Great stay

Perfectly located for where we needed to be. Room was clean and nicely supplied. See full review

  • Anderstout
  • 2 Mar 2014
Random Weekend Stay

Went to NY for a random weekend stay and I decided to stay at a hotel. I'm glad I booked The Out. I... See full review

  • KynKouture
  • 27 Jan 2014
Sleek 4 Star Urban resort, minutes from Times Square with complimentary spa access and WiFi. Like New York City itself, THE OUT NYC is defined by limitless possibilities. Discover your home away from home in one of the hotel's 101 contemporary guest rooms and gain access to our unique outdoor spaces, expertly curated art collection, and comprehensive amenities. Experience the acclaimed culinary achievements of chef Dale Schnell at KTCHN, a modern American restaurant boasting a Mediterranean flair. Relax your mind and elevate your senses at The Spa, where our team of expert masseurs, facialists and personal trainers deliver results against the backdrop of a glass 23-foot high glass atrium, a cascading waterfall and private year-round cabanas. And when night falls and the city comes alive, you're merely few steps away from XL Nightclub, 14,000 square feet of nighttime entertainment delivered by the world's most electrifying performers, DJs and promoters. Fodor's named The OUT NYC as one of the world's most beautiful hotle gardens.

The Out NYC Rooms

Deluxe Room
Inside the room, you will be greeted by serene design, select tarries, and own brand of luxury bath products called SPA. Do business at ergonomic desk with WiFi, or escape the computer screen and watch the TV screen. 40 inch flat-screen TVs are equipped the latest programming and technology to make in-room entertainment easy. 4-Star Guest room offers one King or Queen bed.
Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
Create the perfect weekend getaway on a budget without sacrificing any of the comfort. Each of our Bunk Rooms is equipped with one bathroom and four full-sized beds separated from one another by plush privacy curtains. All four bunks include a 22-inch TV and the room features locked storage cubbies for each guest. With comfortable accommodations at the right price, you and your friends can save your money for everything NYC has to offer. Features: Maximum Occupancy: 1 per bed, work space/desk, Wireless High Speed Internet Access (fee not included), 22 Flat screen TV per bed, Individual closet space, Full Size Amenities

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business centre
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Out NYC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7599 -73.9963
Area served
New York City.
Nearby airports
John F Kennedy Airport: 1 hour distance from the hotel. LaGuardia Airport: 45 minutes from the hotel. Newark Airport: 1 hr. and 15 minutes from hotel. Hotel does not offer a shuttle; hotel can arrange for a car service.
Area description
Conveniently located minutes away from Times Square and the theatre district; in the heart of Hell's Kitchen and most major transportation hubs such as Penn Station, Port Authority and NJ Transit.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Out NYC has a conference area that can be rented from anywhere between 500.00 USD and up. Hotel has outside facilities that guests can take advantage of using for events and meetings. Pricing is TBA.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by ebookers

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for The Out NYC

Overall score

4 / 5
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

2
Deegan
Melbourne, FL
27 Mar 2014

Loud nightclub

If you want to stay here, bring ear plugs. There's a nightclub in the hotel and it thump thumps in your room into the middle of the night even on week nights. Not the place to stay if your goal for choosing a hotel is to have a place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
GT55
Business
Rochester, NY
12 Mar 2014

Convenient for Jacob Javits Conventions

Very modern decorations and eclectic clientele. Good restaurant downstairs (named KTCHN). Unfortunately, no parking garage service is available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
Nina Hoang
Little Rock, Arkansas
9 Mar 2014

Room is so clean but lack of amenities

I just stayed in The OUT for 2 nights in 4 single -dom-beds. That means i have to share the room with 3 others including bathroom. The location is perfect where you can get on the bus M42 or subway station as well to Times Square and Downtown. The room is clean as being 4-stars hotel, staff are young, ethusiasm. Before i came there, i worried about how we can share the room with strangers. But I was suprised that It worked well. There are curtans covering every beds so you can have private spot. However, room need to have iron and the bathroom need a DOOR (not just a curtain). And if the rooms have carpet for whole public area, it'll be perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Buy metrocard unlimited for 1 week (even u just stay here for 2-3 days) to getting around by bus and subway. It's so easy to use and convenient and save money compare to getting taxi

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
Anderstout
Hamilton, NJ
2 Mar 2014

Great stay

Perfectly located for where we needed to be. Room was clean and nicely supplied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
Stroudie
London, UK
18 Feb 2014

Great Hotel

Location is great, few minutes walk to Port Authority, to catch the Subway, friendly, helpful staff, rooms were spotless. Nice restaurant, and bar if you just want a cocktail. Away from the hustle and bustle of Times Sq, but within easy walking distance. Stayed a few times, and would always recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A very short walk indeed to the Intrepid Air & Space Museum, which houses a wide range of Aircraft, including a Space Shuttle. Go there!

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
Jennifer Biz Woman
Business
Ohio
6 Feb 2014

Delighted!

I was a bit unsure about the shared accommodations but was pleasantly surprised at how well it worked out. And what a value!! I will booking this again when I return next month.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
JCLS
Connecticut
3 Feb 2014

Boutique Bliss!

This hotel is a little gem. Close to the theater district and Times Square the options within walking distance are endless. We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The onsite dining at KTCHN was excellent!

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
simmymone
toronto
29 Jan 2014

great place

nice staff, cool vibe, men and women, couldn't be better except if it was warmer weather. i can see how this place would rock in the spring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

la soiree off broadway

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

3
Rich60605
Chicago, IL
29 Jan 2014

High Expectations. Lower Reality.

Queen size bed in a room designed with mid level Ikea furnishings. Plastic chair, the only chair in the room, to do any work. Desk light inadequate to see any work you needed to do. Least comfortable room I have ever had in many many NYC trips. Shower leaked along the glass edge so the bathroom was a puddle every shower. Almost no bathroom counter space. The room fridge was packed with overpriced sale items so it left no room to put anything of your own. Carpet in the room entry was torn and worn away. Was concerned about outside noise from the club that is apparently almost never opened. But it was my own room noise that was the worst. Heating/AC were so loud that anytime it came on I had to turn up the TV sound and then turn it back down when heat went off. For the last night, the room staff left the prior days used towels on the floor and only supplied me with fresh bath towels. No wash clothes or hand towel. I didn't notice until I was in the shower. The hotel's bar choices of beer was minimal. To finish up, the desk clerk recommended a car service (that they took a $10 cut of up front) to the airport. When I asked if the car service would take the fastest route (bridge or tunnel) at that price the clerk said it was included. When I told the driver to take the tunnel he said it was $7.50 more to go that route. I told him either take me back to the hotel or its his expense. He ate the expense but the hotel needs to train their staff about their car service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ollie's Chinese Restaurant. Very good food and prices.

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
KynKouture
Boston
27 Jan 2014

Random Weekend Stay

Went to NY for a random weekend stay and I decided to stay at a hotel. I'm glad I booked The Out. I stayed in one of the shared suites and I was pleasantly surprised. The beds were nice in size and very private. I was lucky enough to only have one other person in the room with me but we barely saw each other as we only stayed in the rooms long enough to shower and sleep. The spa area, restaurant and lounger were AMAZING. Then again I have such a huge heart for the LGBT community. It's a few blocks from Times Sq for the tourists but I loved that it was blocks away from some of my fave hole in the wall restraunts and bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top