£67.07 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 9 Feb 2015 Check-out 12 Feb 2015

The Out NYC

4 stars
510 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
102 reviews
42nd Street, What a Treat!

First and foremost, the MTA should reconsider building a subway station under 10th Ave and Dyre for... See full review

  • Marrk Z.
  • 30 Dec 2014
Impressed

My room was great. It was at the front and overlooked the street. Some rooms had windows on the... See full review

  • Zzb2
  • 15 Jul 2014
Sleek, 4 Star Urban resort, minutes from Times Square with complimentary spa access and WiFi. Like New York City itself, THE OUT NYC is defined by limitless possibilities. Discover your home away from home in one of the hotel's 101 contemporary guest rooms and gain access to our unique outdoor spaces, expertly curated art collection, and comprehensive amenities. Experience the acclaimed culinary achievements at KTCHN, a modern American restaurant boasting a Mediterranean flair. Relax your mind and elevate your senses against the backdrop of a glass 23-foot high glass Spa Atrium, a cascading waterfall and private year-round cabanas. And when night falls and the city comes alive, you're merely few steps away from BPM Nightclub, 14,000 square feet of nighttime entertainment delivered by the world's most electrifying performers, DJs and promoters. Fodor's named The OUT NYC as one of the world's most beautiful hotel gardens and TripAdvisor named us one of the top 10 Trendsetter Hotels.

The Out NYC Rooms

Deluxe Room
Inside the room, you will be greeted by serene design, select tarries, and own brand of luxury bath products from C.O. Bigelow. Do business at ergonomic desk with WiFi, or escape the computer screen and watch the TV screen. 40 inch flat-screen TVs are equipped the latest programming and technology to make in-room entertainment easy. Our 4-Star Guest room offers one King or Queen bed.
Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
Create the perfect weekend getaway on a budget without sacrificing any of the comfort. Each of our Shared Bunk Rooms is equipped with one bathroom and four full-sized beds separated from one another by plush privacy curtains. All four bunks include a 22-inch TV and the room features locked storage cubbies for each guest. With comfortable accommodations at the right price, you and your friends can save your money for everything NYC has to offer. Features: Maximum Occupancy: 1 per bed, work space/desk, Wireless High Speed Internet Access (fee not included), 22 Flat screen TV per bed, Individual closet space, Full Size Amenities. This is a shared accommodation.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business centre
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Out NYC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
THE OUT Hotel has a conference area that can be rented from anywhere between 500.00 USD and up. THE OUT has indoor and outdoor event space options as well as a variety of services that can be provided to any private event you are interested in hosting; from private dinners of 10 people to cocktail receptions of 750 people and everything in-between.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by ebookers

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for The Out NYC

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guillaume v.
Business
Washington
22 Jan 2015

Great for business trip

Ideally located in Mid Town. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The rooms faced an inner patio. Not an issue in the winter because the patio was empty but could be a problem in the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jihee L.
Business
Ithaca
21 Jan 2015

The neighborhood is dodgy but the hotel is nice.

The neighborhood is sketchy... and it's scary to go outside but the hotel is nice and you have everything you need in the hotel(gym, restaurant, pool, etc.) It was awkward and a bit emasculating to be mistaken as a gay but what can I say,,, I am in a gay hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gemma
Business
Las Vegas
17 Jan 2015

It was ok

Nice location. Room was clean. Wished it had more amenities. wished it had a parking lot. Parking was close to the hotel paid $45/day. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim.985
Business
Sydney
15 Jan 2015

A week @ The Out

I stayed for a week @ The Out NYC, and it was a fantastic stay! Great location few blocks away from the metro stations around 42nd St, Time Squares, tons of HK/Mid Town restaurants and bars! Cleanliness and comfort of the room I'd give 5/5, well done guys! (although some days the toilet in my room was blocked for a couple of times). And the hotel facilities (spa, sauna & gyms) came really handy for those wet and rainy days! We'll come back again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It could get noisy on the weekend because of the party downstair so ask for rooms away from the club.

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College Alumnus
Business
Moorestown
14 Jan 2015

Short weekend getaway

I went to a nearby play and then visited the nightclub next door. I had to change my room because the heat wasn't working. But it was right across from an open courtyard and cold air was blowing directly into the building. This makes a nice touch for a summertime visit but not during a cold snap in January! I was given a free breakfast coupon for my inconvenience but it was only good for continental breakfast items on the menu. In spite of these issues, I would visit the hotel again, perhaps during warmer weather. I was only there one night so didn't get to use all amenities. Staff was helpful and courteous. Place is clean with nice decorum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you visit the nightclub next door, it's nice to be able to return to the hotel without having to walk any distance. Many of the theaters are within a short walking distance.

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marrk Z.
Business
New York
30 Dec 2014

42nd Street, What a Treat!

First and foremost, the MTA should reconsider building a subway station under 10th Ave and Dyre for the #7-Line Extension Project...But the walk from 8th Ave about 42nd street is extremely entertaining

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alby714
Business
Orange, CA
1 Dec 2014

First time in New York

This hotel was clean and well organized, my television was not working and the front desk sent up a tech within minutes to address the issue. Overall the room was clean and and well decorated. Bed was super comfy and just a brisk walk to Time Square. Had a great time and look forward to future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Philly22
Business
Philadelphia
3 Nov 2014

great location.

The hotel has a great location. But the rooms are very noisy from the club next door and if you are planning to take naps or sleep before 5 am, forget it. The room is quite only between 5 am and 5pm. This is a good place if you just need a place to keep your stuff and take a shower. Otherwise avoid it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FWMaverick
Business
Fort Worth, TX
1 Nov 2014

Straight-friendly

That's right. The OUT is a primarily LGBT welcomming hotel that is straight friendly, said without sarcasm. This is my 2nd visit there in a shared room and most of the other mates have been straight - and everyone gets along just fine like grown-ups. If you're looking for inexpensive mid-town it's hard to go wrong with this set up. Downside, weekend the bar thump from next door is AWFUL and you'll need ear plugs to get sleep. But iif you're up til bars close anyway, no biggy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
An sick traveler
Business
Oxford, Ohio
27 Oct 2014

Worth Every Penny!

The Out NYC was more than I expected for the price I paid. I stayed in a shared bath with 3 total strangers, who I only seen in the morning when they were leaving for the day. What was great about this place is how the took care of me when I became ill. (No fault of The Out) They went out of their way to make me comfortable until I made arrangements to return home. This hotel is popular with the younger, more hip crowd.. (I'm 53# The building itself has created it's own vlbe thru art work, interior design, and the KTCHN.. #the food established at The Out#. This place is great for the budget minded traveler who wants a clean room with an excellent NYC location. #Hells Kitchen) The only issues some people may have.. The Out NYC is popular among the gay community & the noise during the night may keep up light sleepers. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just down the street from B.B. Kings Blues Club... excellent music for an inexpensive price.

Back to menu Return to top