£94.44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 23 Nov 2014 Check-out 24 Nov 2014

W New York

4 stars
541 Lexington Avenue, 541 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10022
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
192 reviews
4th July visit

The W hotel was a great experience and will love to stay there next time I am in New York. There's... See full review

  • April Mom
  • 7 Jul 2014
Girls weekend in NYC

Had a wonderful time at the W on Lexington Ave in NYC. This was my second time there and the... See full review

  • Cupcake65
  • 8 Jun 2014
The NYC hotel where Wall Street high-fliers and vacationers rub shoulders
Located in downtown Manhattan, the W New York is an ideal base for visitors eager to see to what New York City has to offer.  It is close to entertainment, tourist hotspots and shopping hubs.  The hotel is also near to Wall Street, making it a favorite port of call for the financial traders eager to celebrate, relax or stay after a hard day’s work.  W New York is the place to be to work off frustrations in its fitness centre, or relax.
Reasons to stay
  • The hotel offers guests a wide range of amenities and services
  • Wide range of restaurants and lounges available for guests 
  • Close proximity to New York's financial centre, tourist hotspots and landmarks
W New York rooms
Guests at the W New York have a choice of 217 rooms spread over 58 floors. The hotel sports hip names for the room grades giving a fresh and contemporary feel.  Guests enjoy rooms graded in a number of unique  ways, with descriptions such as ‘Wonderful’, ‘Spectacular’, ‘Cool’, ‘Wow and ‘Extreme Wow’ commonplace.  A Wonderful Room is spacious, 274 to 351 square feet in size.  Large windows give a great view of the New York skyline.  Visitors will be amazed by the lighting effects in the room, created by the LED light along the headboard wall and metallic wall coverings.  Other features include a 37 inch LCD flat screen TV, and radio complete with iPod docking station.  Guests sleep in a W bed with Egyptian cotton sheets, while the walk-in shower/rain forest has a frosted glass wall.  People staying at the W New York will also have similar comforts in the Spectacular Rooms, sized 338 to 366 square feet.  Visitors can delight themselves with the ultimate indulgence in the Extreme Wow Suite - an impressive 1,058 square feet in size.  The lounge has a 42 inch LCD flat screen TV, multicolored three-seat sofa, dining table for four, as well as a wet bar with a marble top. 
Things to do nearby
  • World Trade Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • South Street Seaport (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Theater District (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Chinatown (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Statue of Liberty (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

W New York Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business centre
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Florist
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.756 -73.9724
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 32.19, KM; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 16.09, KM; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 25.75, KM;
Area description
Resort, Airport

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Barney's: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi

Dining

Whiskey Blue
Experience nightlife in the city that never sleeps at one of its iconic lounges. With a vibrant and energetic ambiance, Gerber Group's hotspot, Whiskey Blue, is a modern take on Gotham’s swanky cocktail lounge—now featuring a small bites menu.
W Café/Oasis Bar
Our W Café is the perfect pit stop to pick up your morning coffee and nutrients while reading your daily paper. At night, cozy up to the zinc-topped Oasis Bar and quench your spirit. Sip Flirtinis. People-watch in the adjoining Living Room.
Heartbeat
Savor fresh ingredients and bold flavors from around the world with a focus on balance and freshness. Hang out in our upbeat and elevated atmosphere, featuring a menu with classic dishes and new favorites designed to entice and satisfy.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (192)

Ratings and reviews for W New York

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shandyb
Business
Uk
2 Jan 2013

Fantastic location

Loved this place. You can walk all over Manhattan from this lovely hotel which is a few mins away from the Chrysler building. It takes 10mins to the Rockerfeller Centre and a little longer to Times Square. Room was clean and the bed so comfy and warm. Refreshing shower with Bliss products provided. Ironing board, iron and hairdryer all provided. Nice lobby lounge/bar with free wi-fi. (Funky cocktail bar attached). Concierge v helpful. I would stay here again have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free wifi in the lobby bar/lounge

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kylesmith003
Business
Seattle
27 Nov 2012

Great location, friendly staff, just some bumps in the road

At check in I was given a room key that didn't work, when I went to exchange the key I was asked to stand in line behind about 10 people to get the correct key. In had no towels and used shampoo in the room, quickly corrected by friendly staff, but you shouldn't have to ask for new shampoo. At check out I had a $192.52 "discount fee" from the W which no one at W could explain. I called Cheap Tickets and they quickly rectified it for me. Would stay at another W Hotel, but likley not again at this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
csy83
Business
Missouri
27 Nov 2012

Amenities are old

lights and elevators are too old, they don't work very well, air- con is kind of loud, did not have tooth brush and tooth paste provided, did not expect to live in an old hotel. i like the bathing materials they provided and the bliss spa in the hotel, first time do not need to worry about if the quality of shampoo would hurt my hair/ body wash would hurt my skin. everything else is fine, but i think the price level they charge is higher than what they deserve

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boxster driver
Business
Aguadilla, Puerto RIco
26 Nov 2012

Excellent staff and location

The professional staff are the excellent to be in front of the facilities. The locaion of the hotel is perfect to enjoy walking at the city, close to good restaurant and stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wizzarddr
Business
Philadelphia
26 Nov 2012

W hatever

The room was minimalist stark - the bed was small - even for a queen bed. When asked to be moved - they informed me that I was in a MEGA room and to have a king sized bed - I would have to be down-graded to a superior - which they refused to do. No coffee maker in the room. The room was clean. As I was there for four nights - after the second night I wanted to have fresh sheets and removed the sheets from the bed to encourage them to place fresh ones - they simply remade the bed with the old sheets. Staff was friendly. Had only one meal there - breakfast was adequate. Drinks at the lobby bar were good. Check out was a breeze. Good location. National next door (cafe) was fabulous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

National (resturant) next door was fabulous - the best fries and chicken ever!

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DDWeeD
Business
Miami, FL
29 Oct 2012

New york on my mind.

The location of the hotels is very good. Close to practically everything. The staff was friendly and helpful with all our needs. The room was small, but cozy, the AC was broken but it was fixed very fast. The bed was beautiful but very uncomfortable for my taste, the room is not very dark to sleep, the light from the hall way, the clock radio the Ipod stand and the mini bar drove me nuts, did not get a good nights rest. We did not have meals at the hotel but where told of a great breakfast place a couple of blocks away, The Comfort Diner, it was very good and cheap. Overall the stay was good, next time I will be prepared for my good night sleep. One more thing the weather was great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AshleyP229
Business
Pittsburgh, pa
22 Oct 2012

Just ok

Overall the hotel was clean and the location is great for shopping and dining. 3 blocks from Saks and 5th avenue. The room was extremely small. I know it's New York but this is by far the smallest hotel that I've seen. Bathroom was very tiny and for short people the mirror is too high to look in. Maybe other rooms are nicer but ours was extremely small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Bit of Traveling
Business
Chicago, IL
22 Oct 2012

Great Place to Stay

Very comfortable, stylish hotel! Great location in the middle of the city, very accessible -- easy to get to public transit, Rockefeller center, Times Square, Grand Central Station, etc. Rooms are a bit small, though, and doors are noticeably thinner than I expected. Otherwise, very comfortable stay! Lots of fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ess a Bagels are two blocks away, fantastic! And The Smith is excellent for brunch!

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
denissesonia
Business
los angeles
18 Oct 2012

Horrible experience

THe staff is very rude . i would not recommend this hotel , we stayed here for 3 days and we never got room service ..Has we checked in the girl was really rude made us feel very uncomfortable .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rich tired traveler
Business
Franklin, MA
15 Oct 2012

OK Stay

The stay was just ok. I could not check into my room until after 3:20 and the toilet seat had a bunch of hair and dental floss on the seat. Not very welcoming. The front desk staff was just ok...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top