£133.21 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 27 Apr 2014 Check-out 28 Apr 2014

W New York

4 stars
541 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10022
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
178 reviews
Best hotel chain

Have stayed with the W New York 4 times now both Times Square and Lexington on two occasions now... See full review

  • Jojoldean
  • 24 Jan 2014
the W midtown

Cozy room, perfect no matter where you are from. Great location! Near Rockefeller & Times Square,... See full review

  • NYC lover from LA
  • 3 Jan 2014
The NYC hotel where Wall Street high-fliers and vacationers rub shoulders
Located in downtown Manhattan, the W New York is an ideal base for visitors eager to see to what New York City has to offer.  It is close to entertainment, tourist hotspots and shopping hubs.  The hotel is also near to Wall Street, making it a favorite port of call for the financial traders eager to celebrate, relax or stay after a hard day’s work.  W New York is the place to be to work off frustrations in its fitness centre, or relax.
Reasons to stay
  • The hotel offers guests a wide range of amenities and services
  • Wide range of restaurants and lounges available for guests 
  • Close proximity to New York's financial centre, tourist hotspots and landmarks
W New York rooms
Guests at the W New York have a choice of 217 rooms spread over 58 floors. The hotel sports hip names for the room grades giving a fresh and contemporary feel.  Guests enjoy rooms graded in a number of unique  ways, with descriptions such as ‘Wonderful’, ‘Spectacular’, ‘Cool’, ‘Wow and ‘Extreme Wow’ commonplace.  A Wonderful Room is spacious, 274 to 351 square feet in size.  Large windows give a great view of the New York skyline.  Visitors will be amazed by the lighting effects in the room, created by the LED light along the headboard wall and metallic wall coverings.  Other features include a 37 inch LCD flat screen TV, and radio complete with iPod docking station.  Guests sleep in a W bed with Egyptian cotton sheets, while the walk-in shower/rain forest has a frosted glass wall.  People staying at the W New York will also have similar comforts in the Spectacular Rooms, sized 338 to 366 square feet.  Visitors can delight themselves with the ultimate indulgence in the Extreme Wow Suite - an impressive 1,058 square feet in size.  The lounge has a 42 inch LCD flat screen TV, multicolored three-seat sofa, dining table for four, as well as a wet bar with a marble top. 
Things to do nearby
  • World Trade Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • South Street Seaport (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Theater District (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Chinatown (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Statue of Liberty (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

W New York Rooms

Wonderful
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness centre or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business centre
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Florist
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.756 -73.9724
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 20.00, MI; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 10.00, MI; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 16.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Barney's: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (178)

Ratings and reviews for W New York

Overall score

3.7 / 5
178 out of 178
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
150 Hotel Nights A Year
Brighton, Michigan
13 Aug 2012

Very Comfortable

Bed was amazing and shower had great pressure. Better than home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

1
Frequent traveler 435
Florida
25 Jul 2012

One of the worst hotels that I have stayed at.

I have been in closets bigger than this hotel room! You can barely move around the bed. The staff was rude and not helpful. The lobby turns into a nightclub after dark which makes it very difficult to get checked in. I would pay the extra and stay in a real hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
SF to NY
San Francisco, Ca
18 Jul 2012

GREAT LOCATION

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Manhattan. The rooms are clean and comfortable. A bit small, but then again, I didn't spend much time in my room. For a clean, basic room in a great location with great customer service and a friendly staff, at a reasonable price, I like this hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
Size Doesn't Matter
Toronto, Ontario
2 Jul 2012

Small, but who needs big?

The room was tiny. That being said, NYC rooms are generally tiny. And considering it's in a great location if you want midtown shopping and central park, plus staff that are really professional, helpful and friendly, plus great toiletries, plus free wifi in the cozy lobby, plus a very comfy bed... the smallish room really wasn't that important.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Pizza off the room service menu (after a night of pub crawling) was AMAZING.

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
Ivandterrible
Bonita Springs, FL
26 Jun 2012

Not too Shabby

Not agreat room (6tH foor) but not bad. As always a great staff. As always, overvalued. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Ave shopping

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
40th Birthday Couple
Chicago, IL
20 Jun 2012

Birthday getaway

Hotel has a great location and staff were very helpful. I've read other reviews on this hotel that the rooms were too small. Our room was small but fine for NYC standards. We had a great time and would stay at the W again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
Eric Trunghoa
Garden Grove, California
13 Jun 2012

EXCELLENT HOTEL

The room is small nut very clean and well organized. Bath room is very clean with shower, sliding door at perfect status. I omly regret that internet is not free. Will go back again. Eric

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
DAGNS
Business
Long Island
12 Jun 2012

Average stay

We are from Long Island, and needed to stay overnight in the city for business, so we decided to stay at The W for the first time since we'd heard good things about it. I guess for a single night stay in NYC it was ok. The room was clean, but tight. It served its purpose; but we would definitely not stay more than one night in such a small room with a terrible view for the asking price. I was ready to go back home and sleep in my own bed even after just one night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
super shopper irene
San Francisco, CA
7 Jun 2012

Worked for Me

I enjoyed the W hotel very much. The staff was very helpful and knowledgable. The room was comfortable but small and suited my needs. My only concern was the lighting in the room. I had to go into the bathroom to read my map. I loved the location and the 51st subway station was close by. I would definitely stay there again when in NYC. Room service was tastey also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
Parkers
London, UK
5 Jun 2012

Fabulous Anniversary Trip

I have just returned from W New York on an anniversary trip with my husband, we had a fabulous time at this hotel and the staff were fantastic and made our trip incredibly special. We arrived early but were able to check-in straight away. When 'Liz' found out it was our anniversary she upgraded our room from 'cozy' to 'wonderful' and gave us free wi-fi too! And what a surprise when early evening a bottle of bubbles and strawberries arrived with a card saying "Happy Anniversary". I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning a long weekend in New York it's all about Location, Location, Location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top