£98.76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 30 Apr 2015 Check-out 1 May 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
392 reviews
3 night trip to New York

When we first arrived at the hotel, i thought that it was a little run down. the room that we had... See full review

  • Gemma S.
  • 22 Apr 2015
Beautiful Hotel, Great Location!

We chose the hotel based on location and value for the price but got SO much more than we expected.... See full review

  • Martie H
  • 24 Mar 2015

The hotel lobby has soaring ceilings, exquisite chandeliers, columns and over-the-top ornamentation and recalls the style of French King Louis XVI. For all that initial grandeur, the hotel focuses on modern convenience and comfort. Amenities include Internet access, business and fitness centers and free muffins and coffee each morning. The location puts guests within and easy walk of the Empire State Building, Fifth Avenue shopping and much more. 


Highlights
  • Free coffee and muffins in the lobby daily
  • Three blocks from the Empire State Building
  • Easy walk to Macy's and Fifth Avenue
Location
The hotel is just three blocks from the Empire State Building and about four blocks from Macy's. Times Square is about a nine-block walk up Broadway, and the neighborhood of Chelsea, known for its art galleries, is a short walk west of the hotel. 
Rooms
The Hotel's spacious rooms and suites are comfortably decorated and feature many modern amenities such as TVs with cable and pay-per-view movies, wireless internet access, radios, telephones with voicemail and in-room safes.  Hairdryers and irons with ironing boards are also provided, and the bathrooms come complete with complimentary toiletries.  Rooms are available in a variety of configurations offering one, two or three single beds or one queen size bed, while the hotel's spacious suites have the added benefit of separate living areas with day beds.
Features
The Hotel offers an on-site fitness centre, a well-equipped business centre and a conference room suitable for small business meetings and seminars.  Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's concierge service to assist with tours, theatre tickets and more.  There are countless restaurants and bars on the doorstep offering a diverse range of regional, national and international cuisine.  The Gansevoort Market is also nearby, where guests can enjoy a range of boutiques, restaurants and nightclubs.
Dining
The hotel offers complimentary coffee and muffins in the lobby daily. Ben & Jack's Steakhouse is about three blocks down Fifth Avenue.
Transportation
  • Penn Station (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • MTA Subway N, R lines at 28th St (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.2 mi/ 14.8 km)
  • Newark Liberty Airport (14.5 mi/ 23.3km)
  • John F. Kennedy Airport (17.1 mi/ 27.5 km)
Attractions
  • Macy's Herald Square
  • Empire State Building
  • Fifth Avenue
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business centre
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
15:00
Check-out:
12:00

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
392 out of 392
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gemma S.
Business
N/A
22 Apr 2015

3 night trip to New York

When we first arrived at the hotel, i thought that it was a little run down. the room that we had was a little bit dated. But the staff were absolutely amazing. There was free coffee and muffins every morning. The location is great, and after all you only sleep in the room and basic is all we needed. The hotel was excellent value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Louise E.
Business
N/A
9 Apr 2015

Teenage shopping trip!

Good location right near Macy's . Good value for money n friendly staff n nice to have coffee n muffins am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phil
Business
Durham
7 Apr 2015

Trip to hear granddaughter sing the lead in an opera at Loew's Theater

We easily achieved our primary purpose of seeing our granddaughter sing the lead role in the NYU production of the opera Cendrillon and met with numerous members of our family and friends. We also did a bit of site seeing, but this was a quick trip and was limited somewhat by my wife's physical limitations. It was also the weekend of the Final Four, so I got to watch that also and since my team won, it was great! We found the hotel to be very clean, convenient, with an impressive lobby and very friendly and helpful staff. It met our needs quite well and we would be pleased to go back there again. I did not rate the wifi service since we did not use it, but if I am required to rate it anyway in order to complete the survey, I will rate it as good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martie H
Business
N/A
24 Mar 2015

Beautiful Hotel, Great Location!

We chose the hotel based on location and value for the price but got SO much more than we expected. The lobby was gorgeous! It was one block from my daughters college. It was immaculate and the room was huge! We will definitely be staying here frequently!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda M.
Business
Aptos
23 Mar 2015

NYC getaway

Older hotel with lots of charm. Great location and value. Staff was very friendly. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mandy Hockey Fan
Business
Reidsville
22 Mar 2015

Great father daughter trip!

This was the first time we stayed here. It was very convenient to everything we needed. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kedo
Business
N/A
20 Mar 2015

Great value, great staff, great location

This hotel has bags of character and really good staff. It's in midtown Manhattan - literally a block away from the Empire State Building and just round the corner from Macy's - in a safe location. More than 100-years-old, its glory days were probably decades ago and if you are looking for luxury, modern or chic hotels this one is not for you. The lobby is impressively ornate, the rooms have seen better days - threadworn carpets, dull decor, heavy brown furniture and enamel-chipped bathroom fitments. But the rooms are big for NYC and spotlessly clean. The staff are impressive - on two occasions I had minor problems in the room (the TV and the security safe) on both occasions there was someone from maintenance at my door within 5 minutes of phoning reception and sorted out the problems quickly and efficiently. The amenities are fairly standard for a 3 star hotel - there is a TV, iron, safe, basic toiletries. No mini bar/fridge, coffee/tea making facilities, you pay extra for wifi - and it is expensive for what it delivers (about $9.99 /24hours for average speed). They serve muffins and tea/coffee every morning in the lobby, which is a nice way to start the day, and more than you'd expect from a 3 star. The heating was a bit of an issue - it could get very hot or quite chilly during the night. There is no climate control in the rooms (although there were extra blankets). But it was really just a minor point. Overall, this is a safe, great value hotel in central NYC with pleasant, efficient staff. I'd recommend it and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Josh from NYC
Business
Bronx
19 Mar 2015

Money-Grubbing and Arrogant

Here goes -- our view outside the window was of a garbage disposal and dirty bricks, the heater was busted and turned on and off randomly, we had to call down multiple times for towels and soap, and there was an odd odor on the floor. But the kicker was the mandatory $3 charge for printing literally two pieces of paper. When I mentioned that the charge was quite excessive the man behind the counter, in a condescending manner, basically told me if I didn't like it I could take my business elsewhere. So I shall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David M.
Business
N/A
17 Mar 2015

Superb Location

Lovely old hotel with stunning features, would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Russophile
Business
New London
12 Mar 2015

decent hotel

the hotel's location is perfect for me - very close to Penn Station and a block away from Koreatown. The room has an interesting decor, but is spacious for New York. Shortcomings: no free wifi and the heater makes funny noise at night. Overall, it's a decent hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top