£107.59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 21 Apr 2014 Check-out 22 Apr 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
327 reviews
Great Place

My daughter and I traveled to NYC for the first time and this was a great place to stay. I loved... See full review

  • trey72
  • 8 Apr 2014
great hotel.great location.great price

The hotel was a very enjoyable stay.the bed was so comfortable to sleep in.quiet location but only... See full review

  • sandra and james
  • 22 Mar 2014
Get some rest and rejuvenation in a centrally located NYC hotel

From the moment that guests lay their eyes on the Wolcott Hotel, they will notice its impressive construction, complete with classic French style and decor.  This hotel prides itself on providing accommodation that is rich with elegance, but that is also reasonably priced.  It is situated in a prime location, thus making it convenient for guests to walk to the many desirable sights, including shops, dining, world-famous attractions and theaters.  Visitors can also obtain tickets to the numerous local attractions via the concierge desk.  For those traveling on business, the Wolcott Hotel has a 265 square foot meeting room.

Reasons to stay
  • Within walking distance of theaters, shops, dining and attractions
  • Plush, luxurious accommodation at affordable rates
  • Several room size options, including two-room suites
Wolcott Hotel rooms

The Wolcott Hotel features 200 guest rooms, including 63 two-room suites that come with two or three beds and a common parlor area.  Standard rooms come with either two twin-sized beds or one queen-sized bed.  No matter what size room a guest chooses, in-room amenities include TVs with pay-per-view and Nintendo gaming systems, telephone with voicemail service, iron and ironing board, safe and bathroom with shower/tub combinations and hair dryers.  Some rooms also provide great views of the Empire State Building.

Things to do nearby
  • Empire State Building (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Theater District (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Central Park (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Ground Zero (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Yankee Stadium (8.5 mi/13.7 km)

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business centre
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (327)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
327 out of 327
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
trey72
Oregon
8 Apr 2014

Great Place

My daughter and I traveled to NYC for the first time and this was a great place to stay. I loved that is was old looking and the staff was amazing!! They were great with any questions we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the subway everywhere!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
colette super woman
Dublin , Ire
26 Mar 2014

couples get away

ideal location , 2 blocks from statue of liberty and just off 5th ave.we up graded to a junior suite and well worth the extra. staff always very friendly and helpful. the free muffins and tea or coffee in the morning were a treat. we stayed in N.Y last summer in an apartment but further downtown, here we found you were no more than 10 to 15 mins walk to all main attractions, we really enjoyed walk over Brooklyn bridge and the highline, would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

try " rattle and Hum" on 33rd or oReillys on 35th for great food and drinks.!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
LucyApril 2013
NYC
24 Mar 2014

Clean and convenient

No frills, no free internet. Clean, comfortable, convenient, and muffins w coffee every morning in the lobby. We had a semi suite w 3 twin beds. Nice and quiet, while only 2 blocks to the ESB.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cross the street to Ayza for wine and chocolate. Hit up Mandoo Bar for Korean one block north.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
irish girls
Ireland
24 Mar 2014

location, location, location

3 blocks from the empire state building and very close to Penn station which made exploring the city so simple and cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

"Bread and butter" located just over 5th ave for great value range for food and drinks 24/7. City pass is good value if you are ready to pack the sight seeing into a short time. We got a 3 day pass but its can be hard to fit enough to cover the cost price. The Century 21 store on Broadway and cortlandt st is great value for shopping in Manhattan

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Jones 2014
Exeter
24 Mar 2014

Amazing location!

Great value for money and perfect location for seeing all the sights. Could see the empire state building from our bed room window :) Staff were nice a bit off-ish at times but nothing major. Lots of places to eat close by!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deli/cafe on the corner of E31st opposite dunkin doughnuts, amazing selection of food all freshly prepared and great value for money.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
sandra and james
westmeath ireland
22 Mar 2014

great hotel.great location.great price

The hotel was a very enjoyable stay.the bed was so comfortable to sleep in.quiet location but only mins away from all the hussle of 34th st and 10 mins from times sq.the tea and muffins were great every morning.only downside was no free wifi.would defo stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buba gumps in times square.excellent food and service not to be missed.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Egon3
New York
26 Feb 2014

charming quirky hotel

This was perfect for a one night get away. The room was spacious (for New York) and exceptionally clean. The décor is a quirky combo of Old New York and motel modern. Location proximity to Penn Station was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Ansam
New York
26 Feb 2014

A pleasant experience

Although the hotel was very pleasant, clean and well positioned I found the facilities basic. I found it difficult to get used to the cardboard cups for coffee and eating breakfast in the lobby amongst the hustle and bustle of tourists coming and going. However I did enjoy my stay I particularly found the hotel very convenient for accessing the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
m and p
brighton
23 Feb 2014

great location and good value

We enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is very near to Macys, empire state, and the Metro. You can walk to time square easily. The hotel is old fashioned, it has a grand lobby and lounge area. The rooms are quite 1980's in decor but we did not mind this. The hotel has a cheap laundry room, ice machine and vending machines in the basement which was really handy. Really nice free muffins and coffee each morning was a real bonus. Would recommend a stay here. We stayed in 719 which has a view of the empire state. We did book a junior suite but this was at back of hotel and waa dark so we moved. Smoking is also permitted in hotel which we didn't like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to macys visitors centre to get 10% discount voucher. Bring passport for this.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
ChristinaAaron
st augustine, fl
21 Feb 2014

Great spot to stay at in the city

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Wolcott. The hotel location is more than ideal, everything you need is within walking distance. The room was clean, not fancy but more than sufficient for our needs. We will stay there again and we both recommend it to anyone that is looking for a clean, affordable place to stay at in manhattan. Thanks guys!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk anywhere! :)

Back to menu Return to top