Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
3.9 out of 5

"A wonderful pool. The breakfast was excellent. I was very pleased with being able to leave my car at the hotel for a week while sailing. Not far fr ... " More

By a verified traveller on Fri 22 Dec 2017

Enter dates to see availability

Select your room to view prices

Standard Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
£69* Per night/room 3 Mar - 4 Mar

Poolside King Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Queen and Single

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

One Bedroom Apartment

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Hotel Description

Our customers tell us that they can't get enough of the restaurant at Colonial Palms Motor Inn. During your stay, you're just a quick walk from Port of Airlie. Free breakfast, free WiFi in public areas and free self-parking are available. This 3.5-star motel has 30 rooms over 2 floors. Free WiFi and balconies are available in all rooms.

  • Air-conditioned rooms with balconies, TVs and fridges
  • Free continental breakfast served daily
  • Free WiFi
  • Free self-parking
  • Grab something to eat at the restaurant or stop for a drink at the bar/lounge
  • Take a swim in the 2 outdoor pools or soak in the spa tub
  • Amenities include free newspapers in reception, a front-desk safe and meeting rooms
  • Guests have great things to say about the location and the restaurant
  • Just a 4-minute walk from Port of Airlie and 14 minutes on foot from Boathaven Beach
  • Airport shuttle service available for a fee

Colonial Palms Motor Inn ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.9 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Colonial Palms Motor Inn

Everyone (7) Couples (1)
4 out of 5

Very comfortable

Pros: Practical and comfortable and the staff were lovely.
A wonderful pool. The breakfast was excellent. I was very pleased with being able to leave my car at the hotel for a week while sailing. Not far from the market or from Fish D'vine (a fantastic restaurant) or from the shops. I would recommend this hotel.

Posted by on 22 Dec 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

27 Dec 2017 by John

Thank you for your comments which are appreciated. They assist us in improving our standards and services to guests

1 out of 5

Really disappointing attitude

We’d booked two nights at this motel as part of a 10 night road trip from Cairns to Brisbane. Unfortunately I fell ill on leaving Mission Beach and was admitted to hospital in Tully. Initially they told me that I would be in for three days. Therefore my wife, out of courtesy, phoned the hotel to let them know. The hotel advised us to contact ebookers. I sent an email but never received any reply. The hospital then discharged me a day early so we decided to drive the 6 hours to Airlie Beach to take up our second night. We’d been unable to contact the hotel on our journey as we couldn’t get any signal on our phones. When we arrived we were delighted to see a large sign advertising vacancies. We were bitterly disappointed to be told, however, that they’d booked out our room to someone else and had no other rooms left. Why then was there a sign saying vacancies? I was feeling too unwell to argue my case so we looked elsewhere. So, we paid for two nights, they probably received our payment, resold our rooms and then couldn’t show the good grace under the circumstances to accommodate us, even though the sign showed they were prepared to accommodate others. Very poor. Very unaccommodating. Dreadful disregard for the circumstances. I will never use ebookers again because of the performance of this hotel.

Posted by on 18 Dec 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

21 Dec 2017 by John

Thank you for your comments. We apologise for your treatment. Let me explain the issues. When you book thru OTA's there are serious issues with their program. Firstly we do not put all of our inventory on line as we have regular guests and many coach groups. When you book you will have a instant confirmation that you have a booking. However in us using industry room management systems it can take 20 to 40 minutes to come to our booking system. In many cases, the type of room you have booked is not available. The OTA's have no means of responding to you that the room is not booked. If you have prepaid, all the worst. We cannot cancel your booking on the OTA system. You have to contact them to do it yourself. So in fact we did not have your booking. As to our sign, it was damaged in TC Debbie and the "NO VACANCY" part was inoperatable. As we required a cherry picker to get to that part of the sign and they are only now becoming available for small jobs. We did not receive your funds as your booking and would have being advised as a "no show" and that action then triggers a response from the OTA. As we were full, there were no rooms to accommodate you!!

4 out of 5
Sehr gute Wahl wenn man mit dem Auto unterwegs ist. Das Motel hat alles was man braucht, ist sauber, der Internet-Access ist sehr gut und die Besitzer sind sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit - absolut zu empfehlen.

Posted by on 30 Sep 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Nov 2019 by John

Thank you for your comments which are appreciated. They assist us in improving our standards and services to guests. We trust you enjoyed your visit to the Whitsundays and would ask you recommend to family and friends that they come visit our region

4 out of 5
Hervorragende Lage um Ausflüge zu den Whitsundays zu machen - nur 2 min Fußweg zur Marina!

Posted by on 11 Mar 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Nice hotel, good location

Pros: The restaurant: breakfast included and the dinner is amazing (an excellent taste of Australian gastronomy !)
Location: We did a trip to Withsunday islands with a sailing boat.
An excellent welcome, the staff was very helpful for sorting out all the excursions. The room is large and comfortable, bathroom reniewed recently, balcony with view on the nice swimming pool (there are 2 of them). You can borrow some towels for the beach or your day trip. A little bit outside the city (10 minutes walk to the center), but very good compromise for resting and being out of the crowd.

Posted by , from France on 4 Aug 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

8 Aug 2017 by John

Thank you for your comments which are appreciated. They assist us in improving our services to guests.

4 out of 5

Nettes Personal

Wir waren 1 Nacht in diesem Hotel vor unserem Segelausflug in die Whitsundays. Das Hotel ist in der Nähe vom Hafen (ca. 5 min. zu Fuss). Der Besitzer John ist sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Wir durften sogar unser Auto gratis für 2 Nächte stehen lassen... :-)

Posted by on 9 Feb 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Sehr schöne Zimmer mit Meerblick, gutes Frühstück

Insgesamt schönes helles Hotel mit 2 Pools und leckerem Frühstück. Zum Zentrum ca 10min zu Fuß an eine Hauptverkehrsstr entlang, was jedoch nicht weiter schlimm ist. Zum Flughafen werden shuttle für 20 Dollar pp bestellt. Auf jeden empfehlenswert für das Geld.

Posted by on 28 Oct 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Ich habe das Hotel mit 2 Freunden nach einer Segeltour in den Whitsundays besucht. Waren alle sehr zufrieden!

Posted by on 25 Aug 2016

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Colonial Palms Motor Inn

Location 2 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach, QLD 4802

Property Features

Colonial Palms Motor Inn offers its guests 2 the outdoor swimming pools and a spa tub. There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Free breakfast is served daily. Public spaces have free WiFi. Spa services, a terrace, and tour or ticket assistance are also featured at Colonial Palms Motor Inn. Free self parking is available. This 3.5-star Airlie Beach motel is smoke free.

  • 30 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • Continental breakfast (free)
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Number of outdoor pools - 2
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Fridge

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Hamilton Island, QLD (HTI-Great Barrier Reef)
  • Property shuttles: Airport shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Colonial Palms Motor Inn offers 30 forms of air-conditioned accommodation with a safe and a hairdryer. Rooms open to balconies. Guests can surf the web using complimentary wireless Internet access. Guests can make use of the in-room fridges and coffee/tea makers. Bathrooms include a shower and complimentary toiletries. Additionally, rooms include an iron/ironing board and a ceiling fan. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • Private balcony
  • Television
  • Fridge
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Wheelchair accessible

Food & Drink

Guests are served a free continental breakfast daily from 7 AM to 9 AM.

On-site venue – This restaurant specialises in regional cuisine. Guests can enjoy al fresco dining (weather permitting).

Nearby Activities

2 the outdoor swimming pools are on site along with a spa tub.

Accessibility

If you have any requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Wheelchair-accessible parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 9 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM. To make arrangements for check-in, please contact the property at least 24 hours before arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. If you are planning to arrive after 9:00 PM, please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in instructions. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Guests planning to arrive outside of normal check-in hours must contact this property in advance to arrange check-in.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM.
To arrange for check-in, guests must contact the property at least 24 hours prior to arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests arriving after 9:00 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in information. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property accepts credit cards, debit cards and cash

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts credit cards, debit cards and cash. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F; guest room doors are sealed after cleaning. Personal protective equipment, including masks and gloves, will be available to guests. Social distancing measures are in place; guests are provided with hand sanitiser; cashless payment methods are available for all transactions; reservations are required for some on-site facilities. Enhanced food service safety measures are in place. The property affirms that it adheres to the Safe Travels (WTTC - Global) cleaning and disinfection practices.

  • UnionPay
  • Guest accommodation is sealed after cleaning
  • Electrostatic spray is not used for disinfection
  • Cashless transactions are available
  • Staff temperature checks are not conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Masks are not compulsory at the property
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Contactless food service / room service is not available
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Reservation might be required for some facilities on site
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Contactless check-out is not available
  • Staff do not wear personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is available for guests
  • Masks are available for guests
  • Mobile key entry is not available
  • Gloves are available for guests
  • Food service has been amended for enhanced safety
  • Property follows sanitisation practices of Safe Travels (WTTC - Global)
  • No shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No lifts
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually wrapped food options are not available
  • Debit cards
  • No gap period between guests' stays

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Credit card charges are subject to a surcharge of 1.50 per cent

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Colonial Palms
  • Colonial Palms Motor
  • Colonial Palms Motor Airlie Beach
  • Colonial Palms Motor Inn
  • Colonial Palms Motor Inn Airlie Beach
  • Colonial Palms Motor Inn Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands
  • Colonial Palms Motor Inn Motel
  • Colonial Palms Motor Inn Airlie Beach
  • Colonial Palms Motor Inn Motel Airlie Beach

You should know

  • Please note that this property can refuse certain bookings for the purpose of group events or parties, which include pre-wedding stag/bachelor and hen/bachelorette parties.
  • Reservations are needed for spa treatments. For reservations, contact the motel before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
url importing http://www.ebookers.com/Airlie-Beach-Hotels-Colonial-Palms-Motor-Inn.h1306-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Airlie-Beach-Hotels-Colonial-Palms-Motor-Inn.h1306-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.ebookers.com/Airlie-Beach-Hotels-Colonial-Palms-Motor-Inn.h1306-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.