Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.0 out of 5

"Quirky hotel and lovely staff. Lack of airconditioning detracted from our stay - our room was at the top of the hotel, and remained at the daytime tem ... " More

By a verified traveller on Wed 26 Jun 2019

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Max Brown Hotel Museum Square's great location gets high marks from our customers. During your stay, you're just a quick walk from Van Gogh Museum. You'll find features such as free breakfast and free WiFi in public areas, plus a restaurant. This 3-star hotel has 64 rooms over 6 floors. Enjoy your stay with amenities like free WiFi and cable TV channels in each room.

  • All rooms offer cable TV, electric kettles and phones
  • Free self-service breakfast served daily
  • Free WiFi
  • Options for a bite to eat or a relaxing drink include a restaurant, a coffee shop and a bar/lounge
  • Amenities include a front-desk safe, multilingual staff and coffee/tea in a common area
  • Guests speak favourably about the proximity to public transport and the helpful staff
  • Steps from Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum

Standard Double Room

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
£107* Per night/room 26 Jun - 27 Jun

Loft

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Medium Double Room (Max 2 Persons)

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Medium Triple Twin Room

Bed Count 2 Single Beds Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Standard Twin Room, 2 Single Beds

Bed Count 2 Single Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Medium Triple Room

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Max Brown Hotel Museum Square ratings based on 47 verified reviews

Review Summary
4.0 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Max Brown Hotel Museum Square

Everyone (31) Couples (5) Family (2)
3 out of 5

Posted by on 14 Mar 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Quirky hotel and lovely staff. Lack of airconditioning detracted from our stay - our room was at the top of the hotel, and remained at the daytime temperature of around 30 degrees all through the night even though the outside temperature dropped significantly. Open windows and a fan had no impact so we had three poor nights' sleep. Otherwise it would have been a very comfortable room.

Posted by on 26 Jun 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Jul 2019 by Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback. We are very happy to read that our staff was able to make your stay remarkable. However, it saddens us to read that you did not have a good night sleep. It is correct that we do not have A/C in the rooms (yet). Normal Dutch summers do not get very hot and these were some unusual times. We do hope that you will consider us for your next visit to Amsterdam. With kind regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

5 out of 5
Excellent location and hotel. Traditional stylle house so it is snug in rooms and in staircases . We loved it.

Posted by on 25 Mar 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Mar 2019 by Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

Dear Guest, Thank you for the kind words in regards of your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the nearby future. Kind regards,

5 out of 5
The property was in a really nice quiet area in Amsterdam. As the building is old, although the decor is modern, the stairs are slightly steep and narrow compared to what you get in the UK. There is a lift though.

Posted by on 17 Mar 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

22 Mar 2019 by Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

Dear Guest, We appreciate you time to write this feedback. Our hotel is situated in authentic canal houses, therefore some parts of the building are still in its original state. We choose to remain the original stairs, to keep the charm of a canal house. However, as you have mentioned, our guests can still make use of the elevato to provide more comofort. We hope to welcome you again in the future! With kind regards,

5 out of 5
Good location near museums and easy walk to the city center

Posted by on 26 Jan 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Jan 2019 by Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

Dear Guest, It satisfy me to read that you enjoyed the location. I hope you took good avantage of it, so you could discover Amsterdam to the fullest. We hope to welcome you again in the nearby future. With kind regards,

5 out of 5
Lovely little hotel. Situated in the museum quarter. Walking distance to super area of restaurants. Breakfast was delicious and plenty of it! Would definitely recommend it.

Posted by , from Bournemouth on 9 Sep 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Sep 2018 by T. Knapen

Dear Vic, We appreciate you feedback! It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again, so we can create another great experience for you. Thank you! Kinds regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

4 out of 5
The hotel is located at Museum Square which is nicely located fir the arts but a little far from Dam Square and Central Station which is a good 40min walk. The hotel is small and quirky, which is its selling point. Rooms are a little small but adequate for what you need. Room was cleaned daily but sheets not changed which would have been a nice touch. Hotel staff were polite and overall our stay was nice. I would be happy to stay there again however next time my personal preference would be to stay closer to Dam Square

Posted by on 18 May 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 May 2018 by Telka Knapen- Hotel Manager

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the stay! We are happy to hear that the location fits perfection to you! We Always want to share our local tips for the best tips! Hopefully, we can welcome you back here in Amsterdam for more special memories! Warm regards,

5 out of 5

Everything exceptional

No faults whatsoever, staff were friendly and created a great atmosphere to be in. The room was exactly what we needed and was really clean.

Posted by , from england on 20 Dec 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

22 Dec 2017 by Telka Knapen- Hotel manager

Dear Mr Josh, Thank you for taking the time to give us this great feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We wish you a warm, wonderful Christmas time and a great 2018! Warm regards,

2 out of 5

Max Brown Review

Pros: Near to central Amsterdam
Cons: Quality control checks.
Location: Museum quarter good central location, hard rock cafe nearby
Tired premises, needs attention, small and cramped. Steep staircase's but there is a lift. Basic breakfast provided. Bathroom door in our room wouldn't close, loose light fittings. We didn't feel the quality control checks were great. Insistance of an upfront but refundable 25euro / night deposit as "insurance" in case of damage to room, which we felt was cheeky since we had already prepaid in full for room. This took some of our spending money cash on day one. Good location for exploring Amsterdam was the only plus point for us.

Posted by , from Scotland, UK on 14 Sep 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

21 Sep 2017 by Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

Dear Bikedraft, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am very sorry that your stay was not up to your standard. The deposit is required during check in, in case you would like to consume anything at the bar. That is correct. However, everything will be refunded during check out, except for the city taks and everything you consume in the bar. As for the quality in the room, I will note this to the Housekeeping department. I hope that the rest of your stay was more convienent. With kind regards,

4 out of 5

Posted by on 3 Oct 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

21 Oct 2019 by Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to grade us. We are really happy to see such a high grade for your stay. With kind regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

About the Max Brown Hotel Museum Square

Location Jan Luykenstraat, 44, Amsterdam, 1071

Property Features

Along with a restaurant, there's a coffee shop/café on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Free breakfast is served daily. WiFi and wired Internet are free in public spaces. Tour or ticket assistance, multilingual staff, and coffee/tea in common area are also featured at the boutique Max Brown Hotel Museum Square. This 3-star Amsterdam hotel is smoke free.

  • 64 guestrooms or units
  • 6 levels
  • Breakfast available (free)
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff members are multilingual
  • Front desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • No smoking on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Transport

  • Airport: Amsterdam (AMS-Schiphol) (14.6 km / 9.1 mi)
  • Train station: Amsterdam Zuid Station (2.9 km / 1.8 mi)
  • Metro station: Rijksmuseum Stop (0.2 km / 0.1 mi)

Room Amenities

Max Brown Hotel Museum Square offers 64 forms of accommodation. Cable televisions are provided. Bathrooms include baths or showers. This Amsterdam hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • Television
  • Cable channels
  • Electric kettle
  • Bathtub or shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Telephone
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Guests are served a free self-service breakfast daily from 7 AM to 10 AM.

Max Brown Hotel Museum Square has a restaurant on site.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight

Special check-in instructions:

For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11:00 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.

Pet Policy

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed at Max Brown Hotel Museum Square

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. No on-site parking is available. Special cancellation policies or charges may apply for group reservations (more than 8 rooms for the same property/stay dates). Safety features at this property include carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, a security system, a first aid kit and window guards. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property, and guests are provided with hand sanitiser.Personal protective equipment, including masks and gloves, will be available to guests.For traveller safety, the following measures are in place: social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; an acrylic shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas.Individually wrapped food options are available for breakfast.Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 24 hours between bookings.Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

This hotel will place an authorization within the 72 hours of cancellation time for any bookings where payment for the stay will be made on site instead of at the time of booking.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit or credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. No on-site parking is available. Special cancellation policies or charges may apply for group reservations (more than 8 rooms for the same property/stay dates). For guests' safety, the property includes carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, a security system, a first aid kit and window guards in all accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property, and guests are provided with hand sanitiser.Personal protective equipment, including masks and gloves, will be available to guests.For traveller safety, the following measures are in place: social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; an acrylic shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas.Individually wrapped food options are available for breakfast.Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 24 hours between bookings.

  • Cash or credit card deposit required
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wear personal protective equipment
  • Security system
  • Protective clothing is available for guests
  • Masks are available for guests
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Gloves are available for guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually wrapped food options are available
  • No pets or service animals allowed
  • Individually wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Gap period enforced between guests' stays 24 hours

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • A tax is imposed by the city: EUR 3.00 per person, per night, up to 21 nights. This tax does not apply to children under 16 years of age.
  • A 6.422 per cent city/local tax will be charged

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Nearby parking fee: EUR 60 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Amsterdam Poet
  • Amsterdam Poet hotel
  • hotel Poet
  • hotel Poet Amsterdam
  • Poet Amsterdam
  • Poet Amsterdam hotel
  • Poet Amsterdam Tryp Wyndham hotel
  • Poet hotel
  • Poet hotel Amsterdam
  • Poet Tryp Wyndham hotel
  • Max Brown Hotel Museum Square Amsterdam
  • Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
  • Max Brown Museum Square Amsterdam
  • Max Brown Museum Square
  • Amsterdam Acro Hotel
  • The Poet Amsterdam a Tryp by Wyndham hotel
  • Max Brown Museum Square
  • Max Brown Hotel Museum Square Hotel
  • Max Brown Hotel Museum Square Amsterdam
  • Max Brown Hotel Museum Square Hotel Amsterdam

You should know

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed on site.

National Rating

This property does not have a Netherlands Tourist Board rating. For the benefit of our customers, we have provided a rating based on our ratings system.

url importing http://www.ebookers.com/Amsterdam-Hotels-Max-Brown-Hotel-Museum-Square.h1524945-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Amsterdam-Hotels-Max-Brown-Hotel-Museum-Square.h1524945-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.ebookers.com/Amsterdam-Hotels-Max-Brown-Hotel-Museum-Square.h1524945-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.