Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.0 out of 5

"while staying it was my birthday and the hotel suprised me with a card wine and fudge which i thought was a really nice thing to do i would recommend ... " More

By a verified traveller on Mon 12 Mar 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Our customers tell us that they enjoy the comfortable rooms at NH City Centre Amsterdam. During your stay, you're just a quick walk from Amsterdam Museum. You'll find features such as a restaurant, a bar and a coffee shop/café. This 4-star hotel has 213 rooms over 5 floors. Free WiFi and flat-screen TVs are available in all rooms.

  • All rooms offer flat-screen TVs, minibars and room service
  • Free WiFi
  • Enjoy local cuisine while dining at d Vijff Vlieghen
  • Buffet breakfast served daily for a fee
  • Self-parking available for a fee
  • Services include dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services and tour or ticket assistance
  • On-site recreation includes bicycles to rent
  • Guests speak favourably about the location and the comfortable guestrooms
  • Steps from Amsterdam Museum and The 9 Streets

Standard Room

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
£108* Per night/room 8 Mar - 9 Mar

Superior Triple Room (Extra Large)

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Superior Room, Canal View

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Superior Room (Extra Large)

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Single Room

Bed Count 1 Single Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Superior Room, View (Extra Large)

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

NH City Centre Amsterdam ratings based on 149 verified reviews

Review Summary
4.0 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for NH City Centre Amsterdam

Everyone (39) Couples (42) Business (2) Family (22) Friends (34) Other (5)
4 out of 5

Posted by on 3 Feb 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Posted by on 30 Dec 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Posted by on 10 Dec 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
The check in staff great. I arrived on a second visit this trip and the room was too dark and not suitable. When I spoke to reception the lady found me a bright clean room and escorted me to the room just to check I was happy with it. Which I was. No arguments as I feared, just a staff that listened to my requests. The room service/cleaners likewise helped with all requests and were very pleasant. The gym room is nice n clean. It's v basic - not a large space so a few machines/weights but was well kept and ventilated. The breakfast area is nice. Food good quality. My only "complaint" the TV selection not best compared to other hotels. Perhaps more channels in English for entertainment for leisure stays (like bbc first and mtv/cómedy central from basic cable in nl with Dutch subtitles for Dutchies too 👌)? But wide range news in many langs for business travellers. WiFi strong and reliable. Location is fantastic. Spuistraat is my fav Amsterdam Street and the Bijnhof behind the American Bookstore on corner by hoppe is not to be missed (before 5pm). V quiet at night too. I'm booked for a week at Christmas now as was such a relaxed stay. Hopefully not my first return trip.

Posted by , from Irl UK on 8 Dec 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Posted by on 30 Sep 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Oct 2019 by GR

Dear Mr/Mrs, thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Guest Relations

4 out of 5
The location was great, with easy access to trams just around the corner and most things within walking distance. The staff was friendly and nice and offered to help with booking tours etc. The breakfast had a large selection of things to choose from, and the creamy scrambled eggs and the tiny pancakes was a great start to the day. The room was nice and kept clean. However, the size of the superior room we had was a bit disappointing. There was hardly any room to keep your suitcase if you wanted to be able to move around the bed. And despite the usual sign saying you should hang up your towel if you want to reuse it, our towels were changed every.

Posted by on 25 Jun 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Jun 2019 by Guest Relations

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us in such a detail. It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed the central location of NH City Centre. Our hotel is indeed close to all the main points of attraction. Furthermore, thank you for the kind remarks concerning our breakfast buffet and regarding the cleanliness of our rooms. I am however sorry to see that you experienced some inconvenience with the size of the room. Our superior rooms can be up to 20 square meters, but are however provided with a beautiful canal view. We hope to welcome you back in the future and to make sure that you will have a memorable stay in our hotel. Kind regards, Guest Relations

4 out of 5
The best things about this hotel are the buffet breakfast (extra charge) and the location in old part of city, perfect for a short break. Staff are polite, though not overly helpful. However this is a large hotel and it seemed to be very busy during our stay. Room had everything required. We upgraded to a superior with canal view. Just a couple of minor issues - such as position of the bed against wall meant no bedside table on one side, and no price list for mini bar items. Regardless we enjoyed our stay overall.

Posted by , from Bognor Regis Uk on 9 Oct 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Oct 2018 by GR

Dear Ali, thank you for sharing your experience online with us. I will share your remarks with our team, to improve our level of quality and service. Kind regards, Guest Relations

5 out of 5

best birthday

Pros: everything there is not one thing i would change
while staying it was my birthday and the hotel suprised me with a card wine and fudge which i thought was a really nice thing to do i would recommend this hotel to my family and friends the staff are very friendly the rooms are spotless and the beds are the best room service can not be faulted all in all best birthday ever

Posted by on 12 Mar 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

13 Mar 2018 by GR

Dear guest, thank you for staying with us and celebrating your birthday in Amsterdam. We are glad we were able to surprise you with some gifts. :-) With best regards, Guest Relations

5 out of 5

A Pleasant and Deceiving Hotel

Very deceiving from the outside - but once inside, pleasantly surprised with the spacious and clean reception. Lovely restaurant and bar area (although we didn’t use it). Very quiet too - we heard no noise at all, not even in the corridors (which are amazingly bright, not dark and dingy as some we have stayed in the past) and no noise from other rooms or guests. Staff were very professional, polite helpful and efficient and check in and departure took no time at all. We were very impressed with our triple room , (as we were three adults sharing) 3 very comfortable single beds, lovely clean and crisp bed linen and enough storage space for our needs. Bathroom was not overly spacious, but modern and clean with a great shower and plenty of hot water. Only disappointment was that we did not have a window with a canal or street view, but as we were only in the room to sleep, shower and change, did not really bother us. Would definitely stay at this hotel again and would definitely recommend.

Posted by , from manchester, UK on 17 Jan 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Jan 2018 by Guest Relations

Dear Ann, I want to thank you for your wonderful review! It is great to read that you had a good stay with us. If we may welcome you another time in the future, please inform us that you would like to have a room with a view. We cannot guarantee it but we will do our utmost best for you! With kind regards, Guest Relations

4 out of 5

Great location

Good location for all areas On arrival were early wanted to store luggage this was possible but were offered to upgrade for a fee and a superior room would be avail , then was told that I was getting a twin room not double as resuested told this was a request not a gaurentee in a weekend childfree I would not of booked this hotel with booking if did not think would get as I asked for. The hotel blamed booking site not them , eventually got given a very small double which was meant to be superior at no charge but had all the things I was expecting from my room and no more could of done without the argument had booking and hotel been more helpful

Posted by , from scotland on 31 Jan 2017

Was this review helpful to you?

About the NH City Centre Amsterdam

Location Spuistraat 288-292, Amsterdam, 1012 VX

Property Features

Along with a restaurant, there's a coffee shop/café on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Tour or ticket assistance, multilingual staff, and coffee/tea in common area are also featured at the eco-friendly NH City Centre Amsterdam. Parking is available for a fee. A complete renovation of NH City Centre Amsterdam was completed in March 2016. This 4-star Amsterdam hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 213 guestrooms or units
  • 5 levels
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff members are multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • Lift
  • No smoking on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Amsterdam (AMS-Schiphol) (17.7 km / 11 mi)
  • Train station: Amsterdam Central Station (1.9 km / 1.2 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

NH City Centre Amsterdam offers 213 forms of accommodation with minibars and a safe. Flat-screen televisions come with cable channels. Bathrooms include baths or showers, complimentary toiletries and hairdryers. Guests can surf the web using complimentary wireless Internet access. Additionally, rooms include coffee/tea makers and blackout curtains. Housekeeping is offered on a daily basis and an iron/ironing board can be requested.

  • Minibar
  • In-room dining
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Bathtub or shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board available
  • Blackout drapes
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a buffet breakfast daily from 7 AM to 11 AM.

D Vijff Vlieghen – This restaurant specialises in local cuisine and serves lunch and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Gerzonis Bar – This bar only serves light fare.

On-site venue No. 3 – This buffet restaurant specialises in international cuisine and only serves breakfast.

Room service is available.

Nearby Activities

The recreational activities listed below are available either on-site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Boat tours nearby
  • Bicycle rentals on site
  • Scooter/moped rentals nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.

  • Wheelchair-accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cots (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Special cancellation policies or charges may apply for group reservations (more than 8 rooms for the same property/stay dates). Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. Special cancellation policies or charges may apply for group reservations (more than 8 rooms for the same property/stay dates).

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • Debit cards not accepted

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • A tax is imposed by the city: EUR 3.00 per person, per night, up to 21 nights. This tax does not apply to children under 16 years of age.

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between EUR 13 and EUR 32 per person (approximately)
  • Self-parking fee: EUR 50.00 per day (in/out privileges)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Nh Amsterdam City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
  • Hotel NH City Centre Amsterdam
  • NH City Centre Amsterdam Hotel
  • NH City Centre Amsterdam Amsterdam
  • NH City Centre Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Awards & Affiliations

Green/Sustainable Property
This property participates in Green Key (nogle), a programme that measures the property's impact on one or more of the following: The Environment, the community, the cultural heritage and the local economy.

National Rating

This property does not have a Netherlands Tourist Board rating. For the benefit of our customers, we have provided a rating based on our ratings system.

url importing https://www.ebookers.com/Amsterdam-Hotels-NH-City-Centre-Amsterdam.h26865-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.