4.0 out of 5

"while staying it was my birthday and the hotel suprised me with a card wine and fudge which i thought was a really nice thing to do i would recommend ... " More

By a verified traveller on Mon 12 Mar 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Our customers tell us they enjoy the quiet rooms at NH City Centre Amsterdam. During your stay, you're just a quick walk from Dam Square. Enjoy features like a restaurant, a bar and a coffee shop/café. This 4-star hotel has 213 rooms over 5 floors. All rooms offer free WiFi and flat-screen TVs.

  • All rooms offer flat-screen TVs, minibars and coffee/tea makers
  • Free WiFi
  • Enjoy local cuisine while dining at d Vijff Vlieghen
  • Buffet breakfast served daily for a fee
  • Self-parking available for a fee
  • Services include dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services and tour or ticket assistance
  • On-site recreation includes bicycles to rent
  • Guests like the accommodation for the cleanliness, overall comfort and low noise level
  • Within a 15-minute walk of Dam Square and Anne Frank House

Standard Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
£99 per night

Superior Triple Room (Extra Large)

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Superior Room, View

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Superior Room (Extra Large)

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Single Room

Bed Count 1 Twin Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Superior Room, View (Extra Large)

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

NH City Centre Amsterdam ratings based on 128 verified reviews

Review Summary
4.0 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for NH City Centre Amsterdam

Everyone (24) Couples (41) Business (2) Family (18) Friends (34) Other (5)
4 out of 5
The best things about this hotel are the buffet breakfast (extra charge) and the location in old part of city, perfect for a short break. Staff are polite, though not overly helpful. However this is a large hotel and it seemed to be very busy during our stay. Room had everything required. We upgraded to a superior with canal view. Just a couple of minor issues - such as position of the bed against wall meant no bedside table on one side, and no price list for mini bar items. Regardless we enjoyed our stay overall.

Posted by , from Bognor Regis Uk on 9 Oct 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Oct 2018 by GR

Dear Ali, thank you for sharing your experience online with us. I will share your remarks with our team, to improve our level of quality and service. Kind regards, Guest Relations

5 out of 5

best birthday

Pros: everything there is not one thing i would change
while staying it was my birthday and the hotel suprised me with a card wine and fudge which i thought was a really nice thing to do i would recommend this hotel to my family and friends the staff are very friendly the rooms are spotless and the beds are the best room service can not be faulted all in all best birthday ever

Posted by on 12 Mar 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

13 Mar 2018 by GR

Dear guest, thank you for staying with us and celebrating your birthday in Amsterdam. We are glad we were able to surprise you with some gifts. :-) With best regards, Guest Relations

5 out of 5

A Pleasant and Deceiving Hotel

Very deceiving from the outside - but once inside, pleasantly surprised with the spacious and clean reception. Lovely restaurant and bar area (although we didn’t use it). Very quiet too - we heard no noise at all, not even in the corridors (which are amazingly bright, not dark and dingy as some we have stayed in the past) and no noise from other rooms or guests. Staff were very professional, polite helpful and efficient and check in and departure took no time at all. We were very impressed with our triple room , (as we were three adults sharing) 3 very comfortable single beds, lovely clean and crisp bed linen and enough storage space for our needs. Bathroom was not overly spacious, but modern and clean with a great shower and plenty of hot water. Only disappointment was that we did not have a window with a canal or street view, but as we were only in the room to sleep, shower and change, did not really bother us. Would definitely stay at this hotel again and would definitely recommend.

Posted by , from manchester, UK on 17 Jan 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Jan 2018 by Guest Relations

Dear Ann, I want to thank you for your wonderful review! It is great to read that you had a good stay with us. If we may welcome you another time in the future, please inform us that you would like to have a room with a view. We cannot guarantee it but we will do our utmost best for you! With kind regards, Guest Relations

4 out of 5

Great location

Good location for all areas On arrival were early wanted to store luggage this was possible but were offered to upgrade for a fee and a superior room would be avail , then was told that I was getting a twin room not double as resuested told this was a request not a gaurentee in a weekend childfree I would not of booked this hotel with booking if did not think would get as I asked for. The hotel blamed booking site not them , eventually got given a very small double which was meant to be superior at no charge but had all the things I was expecting from my room and no more could of done without the argument had booking and hotel been more helpful

Posted by , from scotland on 31 Jan 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Great location

Hotel in great location. Close to everything. Staff friendly. Rooms good size, modern and clean. Would recommend and if we return to Amsterdam we will definitely use this hotel.

Posted by on 21 Apr 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Visit to see the Heironymous Bosch exhibition

The hotel was lovely. Staff very friendly and helpful. It's location was perfect, really central for exploring Amsterdam and for eating places etc. I had a great room overlooking the canal. It was my birthday while I was there. The receptionist noticed when she looked at my passport. When I came back to the hotel that night, there was a card and some chocolates from the hotel. That was a lovely touch. Only thing that I think should have been different was that breakfast should have been included as part of the price.

Posted by on 13 Apr 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Would stay again

Perfect location for getting to the main attractions. Walking distance to Ann Frank house and flower market. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Room good size for three of us. Looked recently decorated - clean, spacious, airy and light. Very comfortable bed. Would definitely stay again!

Posted by on 9 Apr 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

So lovely

The hotel was very nice, clean and great location. The staff are lovely and helpful had an AMAZING time

Posted by on 4 Apr 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Fine but a bit bleak

I have stayed here before when it was Tulip Hotel so I basically chose it for the position. The hotel is in new hands and has been recently redecorated. It is fine but a bit bleak - niet gezellig! largely brown and beige. My room was a good size but overlooked an area, but I saw a couple of rooms with a view through the door en passant and they were much smaller. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. As the weather wasn't good several times I went out in the morning and came back after 2 to 3 hours to find the room unmade up, so after 2 days I asked reception to get it done as I went out and it was fine when I returned. No bar or coffee shop during the day which was a deficiency I thought. I didn't have the breakfast but ate locally in a variety of places which I prefer.

Posted by on 18 Nov 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

One time is enough...

We had not been very happy as the room had been the smallest on the floor next to the elevator. Had not been possible to sit normal in front of the desk as the bed had been so close. In addition the free internet is only at a reducent speed not allowing streaming at all. Furniture too had seen better days. Not so great 5 days...

Posted by on 20 Oct 2015

Was this review helpful to you?

About the NH City Centre Amsterdam

Location Spuistraat 288-292, Amsterdam, 1012 VX

Property Features

Along with a restaurant, there's a coffee shop/café on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. A business centre and a meeting room are available. Tour or ticket assistance, multilingual staff, and coffee/tea in common area are also featured at the eco-friendly NH City Centre Amsterdam. For a fee, parking is available. A complete renovation of NH City Centre Amsterdam was completed in March 2016. This 4-star Amsterdam hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 213 guestrooms or units
  • 5 levels
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Business facilities
  • 1 conference room
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff members are multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • Lift
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Amsterdam (AMS-Schiphol) (17.7 km / 11 mi)
  • Train station: Amsterdam Central Station (5.1 km / 3.1 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

NH City Centre Amsterdam offers 213 forms of accommodation with minibars and a safe. Flat-screen televisions come with cable channels. Bathrooms include a bath and shower, complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer. This Amsterdam hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Additionally, rooms include coffee/tea makers and blackout curtains. Housekeeping is offered on a daily basis and an iron/ironing board can be requested.

  • Minibar
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Bathtub or shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board available
  • Blackout drapes
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a buffet breakfast daily from 7 AM to 11 AM.

D Vijff Vlieghen – This restaurant specialises in local cuisine and serves lunch and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Gerzonis Bar – This bar only serves light fare.

On-site venue No. 3 – This buffet restaurant specialises in international cuisine and only serves breakfast.

Nearby Activities

The recreational activities listed below are available either on-site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Boat tours nearby
  • Bicycle rentals on site
  • Scooter/moped rentals nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

Special cancellation policies or charges may apply for group reservations (more than 8 rooms for the same property/stay dates).

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit or credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

Special cancellation policies or charges may apply for group reservations (more than 8 rooms for the same property/stay dates).

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • A 6.422 per cent city/local tax will be charged.

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between EUR 13 and EUR 32 per person (approximately)
  • Self-parking fee: EUR 50.00 per day (in/out privileges)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Hotel NH City Centre Amsterdam
  • Nh Amsterdam City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
  • Nh Hotel Amsterdam
  • Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Awards & Affiliations

Green/Sustainable Property
This property participates in Green Key (nogle), a programme that measures the property's impact on one or more of the following: The Environment, the community, the cultural heritage and the local economy.

National Rating

This property does not have a Netherlands Tourist Board rating. For the benefit of our customers, we have provided a rating based on our ratings system.