Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.3 out of 5

"Beautiful lobby, our suite was great, staff extremely helpful and accommodating. " More

By a verified traveller on Wed 26 Feb 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Our customers tell us that they enjoy the sightseeing around Continental Hotel Budapest. During your stay, you're just a quick walk from Dohany Street Synagogue. Features include free WiFi in public areas, plus a restaurant and a health club. Built in 2010, this 4.5-star hotel has 272 rooms over 6 floors. Each room includes amenities such as a Smart TV and free toiletries.

  • Air-conditioned rooms with Smart TVs, room service (during limited hours) and hairdryers
  • Free WiFi in some public areas
  • Grab something to eat at the restaurant or stop for a drink at the bar/lounge
  • Buffet breakfast served daily for a fee
  • Self-parking available for a fee
  • Take a swim in the seasonal outdoor pool
  • Amenities include a front-desk safe, a business centre and meeting rooms
  • On-site recreation includes a health club and a sauna
  • Guests speak favourably about the central location and the comfortable guestrooms
  • Within a 15-minute walk of Hungarian State Opera House and Dohany Street Synagogue
  • Pets welcome for a fee

Standard Double or Twin Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
£72* Per night/room 28 Aug - 29 Aug

Executive Double Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Standard Double Room Single Use

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Suite

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Standard Double Room Single Use

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Standard Double or Twin Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Continental Hotel Budapest ratings based on 102 verified reviews

Review Summary
4.3 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Continental Hotel Budapest

Everyone (71) Couples (12) Family (3)
4 out of 5

Posted by on 9 Mar 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Beautiful lobby, our suite was great, staff extremely helpful and accommodating.

Posted by , from Portsmouth UK on 26 Feb 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

27 Feb 2020 by Zoltán Géher

Dear Snailherder, I would like to say thank you for choosing to stay at our Continental Hotel Budapest and for dedicating your precious time to write few lovely words about us. It is wonderful that you were amazed by our stunning lobby area and you found your suite to be perfect for your city break. Further on, I am pleased that you truly enjoyed the quality of our hospitality. It has always been our aim to hire professional employees with a positive and helpful attitude. Thank you for the appreciation and for the definite recommendation. We hope your ways will lead you back to us in the not so distant future for many more excellent experiences. Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager

5 out of 5
Lovely hotel very classy. Just don’t be sick in the room otherwise they will give you evils for the rest of the trip.

Posted by , from Brighton on 25 Feb 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

27 Feb 2020 by Zoltán Géher

Dear The_wc, First of all, thank you for your stay at our Continental Hotel Budapest and for supporting us with an excellent ratings given. On the one hand, I am truly happy that you were generally very satisfied with our great hotel. On the other hand, I am very sorry that your trip was shadowed by an illness and that unpleasant feelings were arisen in you. Let me assure you that such kind of attitude is far from our guest philosophy, we even offer our assistance as much as we can. Anyway, please accept my apology for any inconveniences you may have encountered. I sincerely hope that you will return to us if your plans take you back to Budapest, will be waiting for you! Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager

3 out of 5
The property was unique and very well located. Unfortunately, our floor was being renovated and the room directly next to us was being under construction while we were there. It seemed we were the only people on the floor and we could hear construction even on a Sunday morning. As we left, we realized they had already started clearing out all the rooms around us for renovations.

Posted by on 12 Feb 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Feb 2020 by Zoltán Géher

Dear Guest, First of all, thank you very much for your stay at our Continental Hotel Budapest. Needless to say, that all types of criticism are important for us, especially if they are constructive. We are rating them as a chance to improve our services. I was disappointed to read about your mixed impressions. On the one hand, I am glad that you deemed worthy to mention our centrally located, beautiful property. Hope it was proved to be a good base to explore Budapest. On the other hand, I am truly sorry that your rest was not as peaceful as you expected. Being anonymous, I could not check your booking and your room assigned for your hotel stay. At the meantime, I can confidently tell you that noisy construction works should not be started before 10:00 o’clock. In addition, you may have been alone in a section of the floor, but it is sure that you were not the only guest on the entire floor. It is very regrettable that you did not indicate your unpleasant feelings on the spot and did not give us the chance to help make you feel better with a possible room change. I sincerely hope that, despite the above, your Budapest stay was satisfactory and you left us with nice memories. We wish to have an opportunity to welcome you back and restore your faith in our great hotel. Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager

3 out of 5
Check-in and check out was fast and the Rooftop was really nice to sit out on during the day, beds in room were comfortable too. We didn't have the best experience staying at the Continental. Our room wasn't serviced for our 3 night stay, first day was fine as we had do not disturb on door, but we wanted clean towels and some soap and maybe our bin emptied after 2 nights but it never happened. As it was 30 degree heat outside I wanted to use the gym to run but there was only 1 treadmill and it was broken. I didn't like that there were people drinking beer and smoking in the outdoor pool but that's down to those guests not really the hotels fault I guess. Breakfast was a pretty stressful experience and food was average, so much so we found a lovely cafe around the corner on day 3 and had a delicious coffee and fresh pastry there instead with no queues or people sitting on top of each other.

Posted by , from Ireland on 2 Sep 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

6 Sep 2019 by Zoltán Géher

Dear Ciaran, First of all, thank you so much for choosing to stay at our Continental Hotel Budapest and for taking your precious time to share your sincere opinion. I was thrilled to learn, that you found our hotel nice in many aspects, although your overall experience was not as perfect as expected. It is great that you were satisfied with the efficient job of our Reception and you managed to be relaxed on our rooftop terrace and in your cozy room too. I was sorry to read about the cleaning defficiencies experienced. I truly hope you indicated your complaints on the spot giving us the chance to quickly manage the issue. Please note, it is not allowed to smoke on the rooftop terrace, but unfortunately sometimes there are guests who do not follow rules at all. So sorry for the inconveniences encountered and for the unpleasantness experienced during the busy period of breakfast time. That is true, it can be crowded in case of full house, but let me ensure you that our staff always do the best to make the breakfast flawless in the most busy moments too. Besides, I am glad that you found your preferred breakfast choice finally. For the future, let me kindly suggest you to come for breakfast in the early hours in order to avoid the peak period. Please note, that the treadmill is serviced by a third party company and they could not react immediately. For now, it has been repaired and is well working. I truly hope that, despite the above, your stay was still a positive memory and you will return to us once again in the future. We would be happy to better serve you and prove you that we are an excellent hotel choice in every ways. Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager

5 out of 5

Posted by on 27 Jul 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
This was the most fabulous hotel ever, I loved every moment of it! Staff, amenities, all of it was perfect

Posted by on 26 Jul 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

31 Jul 2019 by Zoltán Géher

Dear our Guest, Thanks a million for such a rewarding statement shared about your Continental Hotel Budapest experience. Your words speak for themselves; I cannot be happier than to learn, that we managed to meet your highest expectations and you considered our hotel the most fabulous place you have ever stayed at. Thank you for your nice review shared and full score ratings given. Please, do not hesitate to return to us for another great holiday. Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager

5 out of 5
Unique decor. Lovely rooftop pool. Great breakfast

Posted by , from London on 27 Jun 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

28 Jun 2019 by Zoltán Géher

Dear Manateegolfer, It is very kind of you to take your precious time to share few lovely words about your Continental Hotel Budapest experiences. It gives me great pleasure, that you were amazed by our beautiful decoration and unique rooftop pool. It is always delightful to see, if our guests can take the advantages of our relaxing wellness area. Further on, I am glad, that you were fulfilled with the tasteful buffet breakfast you took at our Araz Restaurant. I am truly glad you had a great time in our hotel and it would be our pleasure to have you back again in the near future. Thank you for recommending us for fellow travelers. Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager

5 out of 5
Beautiful hotel with attentive & friendly staff. Room cleaned daily to high standard. ARAZ restaurant served up delicious steak & duck for mains. Will revisit for next trip back to Budapest. (Only small thing is the street itself is not the prettiest) Enjoyed our stay.

Posted by on 24 Jun 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

28 Jun 2019 by Zoltán Géher

Dear our Guest, I would like to express my appreciation for taking your precious time to write some kind words about your Continental Hotel Budapest experiences. I am so happy and proud to learn from your feedback, that you encountered a genuine, high-level service from our friendly staff. Many thanks for appreciating the efforts of our maids and for highlightig the excellent cuisine of our Araz Restaurant. It is a real pleasure to see, that you would return to us without hesitation. We cannot wait to be at your service again soon! Thank you so much for recommending us for fellow travelers. Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager

5 out of 5
WE WERE VERY SATISFIED WITH OUR ROOM AND THE SERVICE IN THE HOTEL. EVERYTHING WAS CLEAN AND WELL MAINTAINED AND THE BREAKFAST WAS VERY GOOD QUALITY FOOD AND LOTS OF CHOICES

Posted by on 11 Jun 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Jun 2019 by Zoltán Géher

Dear our Guest, Thanks a million for choosing to stay at our Continental Hotel Budapest and for taking your valuable time to share your fantastic feedback. It feels amazing, that everything was to your satisfaction from our comfortable and clean room to our high-level service provided. Further on, many thanks for highlighting and appreciating the various buffet breakfast offer of our Araz Restaurant. Hope, this meant the best start of your days. I am truly glad you had a great time in our hotel and it would be our pleasure to have you back again in the near future. Thank you for your support and nice recommendation. Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager

About the Continental Hotel Budapest

Location Dohany Utca 42-44, Budapest, 1074

Property Features

Continental Hotel Budapest offers its guests a seasonal outdoor pool, a health club, and a sauna. Along with a restaurant, there's a snack bar/deli on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. WiFi is free in public spaces. There's an onsite business centre. The luxury Continental Hotel Budapest also features coffee/tea in common area, laundry facilities, and dry cleaning/laundry services. For a fee, parking is available. This 4.5-star Budapest hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 272 guestrooms or units
  • 6 levels
  • Built in 2010
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Deli
  • Business facilities
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Front desk safe
  • Lift
  • No smoking on site

Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Budapest (BUD-Ferenc Liszt Intl.) (20 km / 12.4 mi)
  • Train station: Eastern Railway Station (1.7 km / 1 mi)
  • Metro station: Blaha Lujza ter Station (0.3 km / 0.2 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Continental Hotel Budapest offers 272 forms of air-conditioned accommodation with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Smart televisions come with digital channels. Bathrooms include baths or showers. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • HD television
  • Digital channels
  • Bathtub or shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hairdryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Air conditioning

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a buffet breakfast daily from 7:00 AM to 10:30 AM.

Continental Hotel Budapest has a restaurant on site.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include a health club, a sauna and a seasonal outdoor pool.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on-site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Golfing nearby
  • Mountain biking nearby
  • Golf lessons available nearby
  • Scooter/moped rentals nearby

Spa Services

  • Hot stone massage
  • Deep tissue massage
  • Swedish massage

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.

  • In-room accessibility
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 5:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for HUF 35.0 per day.

Pet Policy

  • Pets: HUF 25 per pet, per night, plus a deposit of HUF 25 per night
  • Maximum 1 per room (weight limit: 33 lb)

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place

Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F

Personal protective equipment, including masks and gloves, will be available to guests

Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests

Individually wrapped food options are available for breakfast

Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 24 hours between bookings

The property affirms that it adheres to the Intertek Cristal (3rd party expert - Global) sanitisation guidelines and the Safe Travels (WTTC - Global) sanitisation guidelines

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F.Personal protective equipment, including masks and gloves, will be available to guests.Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests.Individually wrapped food options are available for breakfast.Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 24 hours between bookings.The property affirms that it adheres to the Intertek Cristal (3rd party expert - Global) sanitisation guidelines and the Safe Travels (WTTC - Global) sanitisation guidelines.

  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is not available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wear personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is available for guests
  • Masks are available for guests
  • Property follows sanitisation practices of Intertek Cristal (3rd party expert - Global)
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Gloves are available for guests
  • Property follows sanitisation practices of Safe Travels (WTTC - Global)
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually wrapped food options are available
  • Individually wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Gap period enforced between guests' stays 24 hours

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • A 4.00 per cent tourism fee will be charged

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for buffet breakfast: HUF 15 per person (approximately)
  • Self-parking fee: HUF 18 per day
  • Pet deposit: HUF 25 per night
  • Pet fee: HUF 25 per pet, per night
  • Late check-out fee: HUF 40 (subject to availability)
  • Rollaway bed fee: HUF 35.0 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Continental Hotel Zara
  • Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
  • Continental Zara
  • Continental Zara Budapest
  • Continental Zara Hotel
  • Hotel Continental Zara
  • Hotel Zara Continental
  • Zara Continental
  • Zara Continental Hotel
  • Continental Hotel Budapest
  • Continental Budapest
  • Continental Budapest Budapest
  • Continental Hotel Budapest Hotel
  • Continental Hotel Budapest Budapest
  • Continental Hotel Budapest Hotel Budapest

You should know

  • The outdoor pool opens for the season in May.

National Rating

Hotelstars Union assigns an official star rating for properties in Hungary. This property is rated 4 star Superior and is displayed on this page as 4.5 stars.

url importing http://www.ebookers.com/Budapest-Hotels-Continental-Hotel-Budapest.h3052491-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Budapest-Hotels-Continental-Hotel-Budapest.h3052491-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.ebookers.com/Budapest-Hotels-Continental-Hotel-Budapest.h3052491-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.