Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.8 out of 5

"Very good for overnight stay. Central position with walking distance to restaurants. Would recommend. " More

By a verified traveller on Fri 22 Feb 2019

Enter dates to see availability

Select your room to view prices

Family Room

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.TwinXLBed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Superior Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Classic Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Hotel Description

The clean rooms at Hotel Meurice get high marks from our customers. During your stay, you're just a quick walk from Musee des Beaux-Arts et de la Dentelle. Features include free WiFi in public areas, plus a bar and breakfast (surcharge). Built in 1771, this 3-star hotel has 39 rooms over 2 floors. Enjoy your stay with amenities like free WiFi and a pillowtop bed in each room.

  • All rooms offer pillowtop beds, flat-screen TVs and room service
  • Free WiFi
  • Enjoy French cuisine while dining at La Diligence
  • Buffet breakfast served daily for a fee
  • Self-parking available for a fee
  • Amenities include free newspapers in reception, a front-desk safe and a meeting room
  • Guests really like the accommodation for the cleanliness and comfy beds
  • Steps from Musee des Beaux-Arts et de la Dentelle and Eglise Notre Dame
  • Cats and dogs welcome free of charge

Hotel Meurice ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.8 out of 5 5.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 5.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 5.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 5.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Hotel Meurice

Everyone (9)
5 out of 5
Very good for overnight stay. Central position with walking distance to restaurants. Would recommend.

Posted by on 22 Feb 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

23 Feb 2019 by Thierry Hédoin, Manager

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and that you appreciated our convenient location. Our location is one of the things we are very proud of about our hotel. We are so lucky to have such a strategic position that brings transport options to our guests and must-see attractions closer. We would like to thank you for your kind recommendation. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again. Kindest regards, Thierry Hédoin, Manager

5 out of 5
Wonderful graceful spacious hotel- full of charm and great staff. Very well situated /quiet Delicious breakfast Very good value

Posted by , from London on 23 Nov 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

26 Nov 2018 by Thierry Hédoin, Manager

We would like to thank you for the kind review of your recent stay at Hotel Meurice. We are glad to know your stay with us was a great experience and that you appreciated the classic elegance of our hotel. Thank you very much for all your comments for which we are very grateful, as it not only encourages us to continue to uphold our high standards but will also be very useful for our future guests. Our team is always happy to help and we are thankful that you appreciated our efforts to make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible. We are glad you were happy with our dining options and you were able to start your day off perfectly with our tasty and varied breakfast buffet. The entire team look forward to the pleasure of seeing you again on your future visits to Calais. My best wishes, Thierry Hédoin, Manager

5 out of 5
a very nice venue with very helpful staff we always stay here when in this area

Posted by on 13 Sep 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Sep 2018 by Thierry Hédoin, Manager

Dear Joe. Thank you for this kind feedback concerning your visit to Hotel Meurice, Calais. It is always a pleasure to welcome returning guests and we would like to thank you for choosing to come back and visit us again. We look forward to welcoming you on many more occasions. All the best!

5 out of 5
Elegant hotel, with individual characteristics which made it stand out from the run of the mill, chain type of hotels.

Posted by , from South Coast on 10 Sep 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Sep 2018 by Thierry Hédoin, Manager

Dear Hilary. Thank you for taking the time to send us your kind review of your experience at our hotel. We are glad that you fell under the charm of our traditional building with it's classic and elegant style, a reminder of days gone by and value your comments. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you on another occasion. My kindest regards,

5 out of 5
Firstly, very welcoming right from the start. My Franglais was understood but clearly they speak perfect English. This hotel has charm and substance.

Posted by on 29 Apr 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

2 May 2018 by Thierry Hédoin, Manager

Dear guest, We are delighted that you had a very pleasant stay in our hotel and can only thank you for such a kind description. Thank you for so much all your compliments. It's very humbling to know that we were able to create such an impression on you. The entire team do hope that we have the pleasure of seeing you on your next stay. Best regards, Thierry Hédoin, Manager

4 out of 5

Full of character and well located hotel

Pros: Position and character
Cons: It is being refurbished, so hopefully the bathrooms are on the list. There is a beautiful dining room but sadly no restaurant.
Location: The hotel is near the water front, close to the Musee de Beaux Arts, several restaurants and bars, the beautiful Town Hall and railway station.
I have stayed here 3 or 4 times over the last few years and find the staff friendly and helpful and they all speak English way better than I speak French. They have started a programme of refurbishment including the garden, still a work in progress, but the reception area, bar, lounge and hallway have been sympathetically completed and it looks very charming. The rooms are quite small, not uncommon, particularly in France, but it was clean and had everything we needed for our short break (except air-con as it was very warm). The bathroom had a shower over the bath and a separate loo, both rooms again could do with updating but they were functional. I will definitely go back as it is much more inviting than other larger hotel complexes in the area.

Posted by on 8 Apr 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Apr 2018 by Thierry Hédoin, Manager

Dear Guest, Thank you for such a valuable review. We are glad to know that your recent stay at Hotel Meurice was a pleasant one. It is always a pleasure to welcome our returning guests. We appreciate your compliments as well as your suggestion. The bathrooms are indeed planned to be renovated with along with the rooms. We hope you will notice the difference on your next visit. As you have already noticed the renovation, each room has a classic, refined and personalized decoration in which many personalities such as Charles de Gaulle, Antoine de Saint Exupery or Sydney Bechet could stay. Though we don't have a restaurant in the hotel but our reception team are always willing to help with suggestions and booking a table in one of the many restaurants in the vicinity. We are happy that the room and all the facilities were to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you. All the best.

4 out of 5

Central and comfortable hotel in Calais

Pros: Comfort.
Cons: Kettle in room not working. Flickering overhead light in room. Grouting around bath and shower needed replacing.
Location: Easy to walk to shops and restaurants. Really handy for the port too.
Great old historical hotel, in central Calais. Warm, clean, comfortable room with really comfy beds. Lots of period features. Free parking out front. Friendly staff. Some upkeep needed in bathrooms, etc, but nothing too major. Great value. Would return, and would recommend.

Posted by , from West Midlands, UK. on 3 Jan 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Jan 2018 by Thierry Hédoin, Manager

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your kind comments about the time you spent at Hotel Meurice, Calais. Thank you for mentioning our ideal position in the historical center of the city near the Calais Museum of Fine Arts, Richelieu Park and the beach as well as in proximity to the Eurotunnel and the ferry terminal. As you mention there is a lot of unrestricted parking in the area however we do have a private, underground, secure parking, which provides a certain level of security and peace of mind especially if you have a lot of possessions in your vehicle. We are glad to see that your room met your expectations in terms of comfort and cleanliness and that you found our hotel suitable for your needs. I regret to hear of the issues you found in your room, we urge our guests to inform reception so we make take the appropriate action. We would like to mention that a complete refurbishment is planned very soon. We would like to thank you for your kind recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions. We really do hope that we may be able to welcome you back on many more occasions. Best regards, Thierry Hédoin, Manager

5 out of 5

Ideally located

A feeling of being back in the day. Very comfortable room and a good selection for breakfast

Posted by , from Wales on 11 Oct 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Oct 2017 by Thierry Hédoin, Manager

Dear Jon, Thanks for this positive review of your stay among us. We value your good rating and are glad to read you had a lovely time in our hotel. Thanks for hinting at the comfort of your room. As you pointed out, we're conveniently located in the city centre with good accessibility to the train station, the Euro-tunnel and the ferry terminals. It's also very pleasant to note you enjoyed our breakfast menu including various kinds of bread, cheese, meat, fruits and juices. We would be happy to welcome you again. Kindest regards,

5 out of 5
si certains trouvent cet hôtel vieux et poussiéreux, nous l’avons trouvé plein de charme. ça change des hôtels modernes, aseptisés et sans intérêt: c’est parfaitement propre, très “cosy”, calme, feutré, on s’y sent bien...

Posted by , from Genève on 28 Aug 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Sep 2018 by Thierry Hédoin, Directeur

Chère Cécile, Merci beaucoup pour votre commentaire si adorable à propos de notre établissement. Nous sommes ravis de savoir que votre séjour chez nous a été couronné de succès. Nous vous remercions pour votre retour positif sur le charme ancien de notre établissement pour une expérience vraiment originale. Merci de souligner la propreté et le confort de votre chambre. Ce serait un plaisir de vous accueillir une nouvelle fois. Sincères salutations, Thierry Hédoin, Directeur

Property Features

Hotel Meurice offers its guests a terrace, gift shops/news stands, and a garden. Public spaces have free WiFi. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. The business-friendly Hotel Meurice also features complimentary newspapers in the lobby, laundry facilities, and room service (during limited hours). Limited parking is available for a fee and is offered on a first-come, first-served basis. This 3-star Calais hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 39 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • Built in 1771
  • Bar or lounge
  • 1 conference room
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front desk safe
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Gift shop
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Lift
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge) , Parking (limited spaces) , Free parking nearby

Transport

  • Airport: Nantes (NTE-Nantes - Atlantique) (606.8 km / 377 mi)
  • Train station: Calais City Station (0.5 km / 0.3 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Hotel Meurice offers 39 forms of accommodation with coffee/tea makers and a hairdryer. Beds feature pillowtop mattresses. Flat-screen televisions are featured in guestrooms. This Calais hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Cots/infant beds (surcharge) are also available.

  • Pillowtop beds
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Coffee maker
  • Cots (surcharge)
  • Hairdryer
  • Desk
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Wheelchair accessible

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a buffet breakfast daily from 6:30 AM to 10:30 AM.

La Diligence – This restaurant specialises in French cuisine and only serves dinner.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Accessibility

If you have any requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Wheelchair-accessible parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 5:30 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11:30 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cots (infant beds) are available for EUR 10.0 per stay.

Pet Policy

  • Pets are welcome and stay free
  • Only dogs and cats are allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property accepts credit cards and cash

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts credit cards and cash. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; guests are provided with hand sanitiser.

  • Staff temperature checks are not conducted regularly
  • Pets allowed (no fees)
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Contactless check-out is not available
  • Staff wear personal protective equipment
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Protective clothing is not available for guests
  • No shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Property does not follow sanitisation practices of any association
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually wrapped food options are not available
  • Online Penalty Collection
  • No gap period between guests' stays

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • A tax is imposed by the city: EUR 0.90 per person, per night. This tax does not apply to children under 12 years of age.

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between EUR 6 and EUR 14 for adults, and EUR 6 and EUR 14 for children (approximately)
  • Self-parking fee: EUR 10.00 per day
  • A pet fee will be charged
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: EUR 10.0 per stay

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Hotel Meurice
  • Hotel Meurice Calais
  • Meurice Calais
  • Meurice Hotel Calais
  • Hotel Meurice Hotel
  • Hotel Meurice Calais
  • Hotel Meurice Hotel Calais

National Rating

This property has received its official star rating from the French Tourism Development Agency, ATOUT France.

url importing http://www.ebookers.com/Calais-Hotels-Hotel-Meurice.h1382028-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Calais-Hotels-Hotel-Meurice.h1382028-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.ebookers.com/Calais-Hotels-Hotel-Meurice.h1382028-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.