Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"Stayed for 1 night only so cant comment on spa facilities..very tired and run down out of date room .....stayed in room 505 bathroom although clean ne ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sat 02 Mar 2024

Enter dates to see availability

Classic Twin Room, 2 Single Beds

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Business Double Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Double Room, Canal View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Classic Single Room, 1 Single Bed

Bed Count 1 Twin Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Classic Double Room, 1 Double Bed

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Double Room, Balcony, Canal View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Hotel Description

The Mill Hotel & Spa's walkable location gets good marks from our customers. During your stay, you're just a quick walk from Chester City Walls. Enjoy features like free breakfast and free WiFi in public areas, plus 2 restaurants.

  • Free full breakfast served daily
  • Free WiFi
  • Grab something to eat at one of the 2 restaurants, or stop for a drink at one of the 2 bars/lounges
  • Self-parking available for a fee
  • Take a swim in the indoor pool
  • Treat yourself to body treatments, facials or manicures and pedicures at The Mill Spa
  • Services include dry cleaning/laundry, tour or ticket assistance and luggage storage
  • On-site recreation includes a gym, a steam room and a sauna
  • Guests speak favourably about the value of their stay and the area's walkability
  • 10 minutes by foot from Chester City Walls and a 4-minute drive from Chester Racecourse

The Mill Hotel & Spa ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.4 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 0.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for The Mill Hotel & Spa

Everyone (1) Couples (7) Family (1)
3 out of 5
Stayed for 1 night only so cant comment on spa facilities..very tired and run down out of date room .....stayed in room 505 bathroom although clean needs replacing...absolutely terrible layout verging on dangerous door possition to toilet. Hotel bar/restaurant/reception area etc very nice although wasnt impressed with the breakfast tbh probably wouldnt stop again

Posted by on 2 Mar 2024

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Mar 2024 by Jane

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Mill Hotel & Spa.We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay and the issues you mention in your review.We will ensure your comments are forwarded on to our management team for them to view.Kind Regards

3 out of 5
Dated and disjointed accommodation with average staff.

Posted by on 10 Apr 2023

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Apr 2023 by Reception

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Mill Hotel & Spa.We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and do hope to hear from you again.

4 out of 5
Good location and close to the centre, 10 minute walk. Lots of restaurants close by

Posted by on 12 Nov 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Nov 2022 by Jane

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Mill Hotel & Spa.We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Mill and do hope to welcome you again at a future date.

3 out of 5
Did not get the room I booked, but was changed. However, room very dated so really disappointed. Stayed here before but will not be returning.

Posted by on 24 Aug 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Aug 2022 by Jane

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Mill Hotel & Spa.Thank you for your comment regarding not having the room you requested. If we have rooms available, we do quite often offer complimentary upgrades. Could this have been the case? We would never downgrade a room, as we always have to offer a similar grade of above. Should you feel you need to discuss this further, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

5 out of 5
Fabulous hotel. 10 minutes walk from Chester centre. Stayed in Business king room which appeared to have been recently refurbished. Very clean and comfortable. Ate in the restaurant both nights - food very good. The staff were without exception EXCELLENT. Nothing was too much trouble. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Thank you for a perfect stay.

Posted by on 1 Aug 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

2 Aug 2022 by Andrew

Thank you for taking time out to review your recent stay with us at the hotel. We thank you for your positive comments regarding the hotel. We will ensure our management team does here about your positive feedback. We do look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kindest regards, Andrew, Reception.

3 out of 5
The staff were super apart from the room cleaner. I had spoken via email & telephone regarding parking. Never at any time did it get mentioned that parking is £7.50 a night....even with a Blue Badge. The restaurant provided good food in a nicely laid out decor. Unfortunately the hotel over sells its water frontage being on a very grubby canal. Our room had a very noisy a/c unit & due to it being on sixth floor the windows were limited to opening hence very stuffy. Our room was poorly cleaned & replenished. Dirty cubs no cleaned & dirty glasses left. No glass or plastic beaker in bathroom for rinsing after cleaning teeth. An ok place for 2 nights & handy for city centre

Posted by on 14 Jun 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Jun 2022 by Jane

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Mill Hotel & Spa. Thank you for your comments. I will ensure they are forwarded on to our management team for them to view.. We do hope that we can welcome you again at a future date. Our reception team are always available for guests to contact during their stay, should they have any problems that need resolving.

3 out of 5
Great location for access to the Centre of Chester however you need to be aware that this hotel is next to the ring road so their is noise from the traffic

Posted by on 8 Dec 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Dec 2021 by Jane

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Mill Hotel & Spa. We do hope that you will be able to visit us again at a future date.

5 out of 5
Converted Mill from the past, very tastefully converted. 5 =

Posted by on 17 Nov 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

20 Nov 2021 by Jane

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Mill Hotel. We do hope you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and do hope that we will be able to assist you with any future reservations.

2 out of 5

Posted by on 8 Aug 2021

Was this review helpful to you?

Property Features

The Mill Hotel & Spa offers its guests a full-service spa, an indoor pool, and a health club. There are 2 restaurants on site, along with a nearby snack bar/deli. You can unwind with a drink at one of the 2 bars/lounges. Free breakfast is served daily. Public spaces have free WiFi and wired Internet. A sauna, spa services, and a terrace are also featured at the business-friendly The Mill Hotel & Spa. For a fee, parking is available. This 3-star Chester hotel is smoke free.

  • 132 guestrooms or units
  • 5 levels
  • 2 buildings
  • 2 dining venues
  • 2 bars or lounges
  • Full breakfast (free)
  • Deli
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff members are multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Terrace
  • Newspapers for purchase
  • Lift
  • No smoking on site
  • 1 conference room

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Number of indoor pools - 1
  • Free WiFi
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Laundry facilities

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Free wired internet

Parking

Self parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Train station: Chester Station (1.2 km / 0.7 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

The Mill Hotel & Spa offers 132 accommodations with an iron/ironing board and free toiletries. Digital televisions are provided. Bathrooms include a combined bath/shower unit. This Chester hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is offered on a daily basis and hairdryers can be requested.

  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Television
  • Digital channels
  • Combined shower/bath
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hairdryer available
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Heating
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Guests are served a free full breakfast daily from 7 AM to 10:00 AM.

The Canal Barge – This restaurant serves lunch and dinner.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include an indoor pool, a health club and a sauna.

Spa Services

Guests can indulge in a pampering treatment at the hotel's full-service spa, The Mill Spa. Services include hot stone massages, Swedish massages, facials and body wraps. A variety of treatment therapies are provided, including aromatherapy.

  • Hot stone massage
  • Swedish massage
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Body treatments
  • Body wraps
  • Facial treatments
  • Body scrubs
  • Aromatherapy treatments
  • Massages

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 6 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Cots (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation

This property accepts credit cards; cash is not accepted

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property is managed by a professional host. The provision of housing is linked to their trade, business or profession. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guest room reservation. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Diners Club. Cash is not accepted.

Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available.

  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is available to guests
  • Masks are available to guests
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Gloves are available to guests
  • Property follows sanitisation practices of Safe Travels (WTTC - Global)
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for lunch
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for dinner
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available through room service
  • No gap period between guest stays

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Self-parking fee: GBP 12.00 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Hotel Mill
  • Mill Chester
  • Mill Hotel
  • Mill Hotel Chester
  • Mill Hotel Spa
  • The Mill Hotel & Spa Hotel
  • The Mill Hotel & Spa Chester
  • The Mill Hotel & Spa Hotel Chester

You should know

  • Please note that this property can refuse certain bookings for the purpose of group events or parties, which include pre-wedding stag/bachelor and hen/bachelorette parties.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
url importing http://www.ebookers.com/Chester-Hotels-The-Mill-Hotel-&-Spa.h1695656-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Chester-Hotels-The-Mill-Hotel-&-Spa.h1695656-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.ebookers.com/Chester-Hotels-The-Mill-Hotel-&-Spa.h1695656-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.