Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"The location couldn`t have been better. Everything about the hotel was really good. Couldn`t fault a thing. Right next to the abbey, the park and the ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sat 13 Apr 2019

Enter dates to see availability

Select your room to view prices

Basic Twin Room

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
£57* Per night/room 20 Jun - 21 Jun

Executive Single Room, 1 Double Bed

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Business Double Room, 1 Double Bed

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Executive Double Room, 1 Double Bed

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Business Single Room, 1 Single Bed

Bed Count 1 Twin Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Business Double Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Hotel Description

Our customers tell us that they enjoy the free breakfast at The City Hotel. During your stay, you're just a quick walk from Abbot House. You'll find features such as free WiFi in public areas and free self-parking, plus a bar. This 3-star hotel has 32 rooms. Enjoy your stay with amenities like free WiFi and a deep-soaking bath in each room.

  • All rooms offer deep-soaking baths, TVs and coffee makers
  • Free full breakfast served daily
  • Free WiFi
  • Free self-parking
  • Enjoy drinks at the bar/lounge
  • Amenities include meeting rooms
  • Guests have good things to say about the accommodation for the cleanliness and overall comfort
  • Steps from Abbot House and 5 minutes on foot from Pittencrieff Park

The City Hotel ratings based on 4 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.2 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 0.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for The City Hotel

Everyone (2) Couples (1) Family (1)
1 out of 5
Bed was the worst all you could feel was springs. Also sounded like there were animals stuck in the walls

Posted by on 19 Jul 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
The location couldn`t have been better. Everything about the hotel was really good. Couldn`t fault a thing. Right next to the abbey, the park and the shops.Thumbs up.

Posted by on 13 Apr 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Room was clean and comfortable. Food good and bar area was nice and lively. Good value.

Posted by on 11 Feb 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
The hotel was a great disappointment. I have been staying there off and on since 1995 and am sorry to say not again unless there is an improvement not again. I dropped a tablet on the floor at breakfast and couldn’t find it that was friday Late

Posted by on 31 Oct 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Nov 2018 by Christine, Reception

Hi Thanks for your review. We are disappointed to hear that your stay wasn't up to the usual high standards that you would normally expect from us. We wish you had expressed any issues you had while staying with us so that we could have resolved these at the time. Hope you are able to return to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards

Property Features

You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Free breakfast is available daily. Public spaces have free WiFi. Self parking is free. This 3-star Dunfermline hotel is smoke free.

  • 32 guestrooms or units
  • Full breakfast (free)
  • Bar or lounge
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • No smoking on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Edinburgh Airport (EDI) (26.3 km / 16.3 mi)
  • Train station: Dunfermline Town Station (1.7 km / 1.1 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

The City Hotel offers 32 forms of accommodation with coffee/tea makers and free toiletries. Guests can surf the web using complimentary wireless Internet access. Bathrooms include baths or showers with a deep soaking bath. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • Deep-soaking bath
  • Television
  • Coffee maker
  • Bath or shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Guests are served a free full breakfast on weekdays from 7:00 AM to 9:00 AM and at the weekend from 8:00 AM to 10:00 AM.

Accessibility

If you have any requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Upper floors accessible by stairs only

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cots (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed at The City Hotel

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation

This property accepts credit cards; cash is not accepted

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guest room reservation. This property accepts credit cards. Cash is not accepted.

This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; guests are provided with hand sanitiser; cashless payment methods are available for all transactions; reservations are required for some on-site facilities. Enhanced food service safety measures are in place. Each guest room is kept vacant for a minimum of 72 hours between bookings.

  • Guest accommodation is not sealed after cleaning
  • Electrostatic spray is not used for disinfection
  • Cashless transactions are available
  • Staff temperature checks are not conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Masks are not compulsory at the property
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Contactless food service / room service is not available
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Reservation might be required for some facilities on site
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Contactless check-out is not available
  • Staff wear personal protective equipment
  • Mobile key entry is not available
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Food service has been amended for enhanced safety
  • Protective clothing is not available for guests
  • No shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Property does not follow sanitisation practices of any association
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • Property does not follow regional sanitisation guidelines
  • No lifts
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Service animals not allowed
  • Gap period enforced between guest stays - 72 hours

Hotel Names

  • City Hotel Dunfermline
  • City Dunfermline
  • The City Hotel Hotel
  • The City Hotel Dunfermline
  • The City Hotel Hotel Dunfermline

You should know

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed on site.
url importing http://www.ebookers.com/Dunfermline-Hotels-The-City-Hotel.h4030824-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Dunfermline-Hotels-The-City-Hotel.h4030824-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.ebookers.com/Dunfermline-Hotels-The-City-Hotel.h4030824-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.