Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"The location couldn`t have been better. Everything about the hotel was really good. Couldn`t fault a thing. Right next to the abbey, the park and the ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sat 13 Apr 2019

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Our customers tell us that they enjoy the free breakfast at The City Hotel. During your stay, you're just a quick walk from Abbot House. You'll find features such as free WiFi in public areas and free self-parking, plus a bar. This 3-star hotel has 32 rooms. Enjoy your stay with amenities like free WiFi and a deep-soaking bathtub in each room.

  • All rooms offer deep-soaking bathtubs, TVs and coffee/tea makers
  • Free full breakfast offered
  • Free WiFi
  • Free self-parking
  • Enjoy drinks at the bar/lounge
  • Amenities include meeting rooms
  • Guests have good things to say about the accommodation for the cleanliness and overall comfort
  • Steps from Abbot House and 5 minutes on foot from Pittencrieff Park

Business Double Room, 1 Double Bed

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
£76* Per night/room 3 Aug - 4 Aug

Executive Single Room, 1 Single Bed

Bed Count 1 Single Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Executive Double Room, 1 Double Bed

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Business Single Room, 1 Single Bed

Bed Count 1 Single Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Family Triple Room, Multiple Beds

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Family Triple Room, Multiple Beds

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

The City Hotel ratings based on 4 verified reviews

Review Summary
3.2 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 0.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for The City Hotel

Everyone (2) Couples (1) Family (1)
1 out of 5
Bed was the worst all you could feel was springs. Also sounded like there were animals stuck in the walls

Posted by on 19 Jul 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
The location couldn`t have been better. Everything about the hotel was really good. Couldn`t fault a thing. Right next to the abbey, the park and the shops.Thumbs up.

Posted by on 13 Apr 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Room was clean and comfortable. Food good and bar area was nice and lively. Good value.

Posted by on 11 Feb 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
The hotel was a great disappointment. I have been staying there off and on since 1995 and am sorry to say not again unless there is an improvement not again. I dropped a tablet on the floor at breakfast and couldn’t find it that was friday Late

Posted by on 31 Oct 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Nov 2018 by Christine, Reception

Hi Thanks for your review. We are disappointed to hear that your stay wasn't up to the usual high standards that you would normally expect from us. We wish you had expressed any issues you had while staying with us so that we could have resolved these at the time. Hope you are able to return to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards

Renovations + Closures

This property is closed from 7 May 2020 to 1 August 2020 (dates subject to change).

Property Features

You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Free breakfast is served. Public spaces have free WiFi. Self parking is free. This 3-star Dunfermline hotel is smoke free.

  • 32 guestrooms or units
  • Full breakfast (free)
  • Bar or lounge
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • No smoking on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Edinburgh (EDI) (26.3 km / 16.3 mi)
  • Train station: Dunfermline Town Station (1.7 km / 1.1 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

The City Hotel offers 32 forms of accommodation with coffee/tea makers and free toiletries. This Dunfermline hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Bathrooms include baths or showers with a deep soaking bath. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • Deep-soaking tub
  • Television
  • Coffee maker
  • Bathtub or shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Guests are served a free full breakfast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cots (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guest room reservation.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guest room reservation.

  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Staffed front desk
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • No lifts

Hotel Names

  • City Hotel Dunfermline
  • City Dunfermline
  • The City Hotel Hotel
  • The City Hotel Dunfermline
  • The City Hotel Hotel Dunfermline
url importing http://www.ebookers.com/Dunfermline-Hotels-The-City-Hotel.h4030824-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Dunfermline-Hotels-The-City-Hotel.h4030824-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.ebookers.com/Dunfermline-Hotels-The-City-Hotel.h4030824-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.