Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"Large capacity and space. The putter part needs some redecorating. " More

By a verified traveller on Sat 22 Feb 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Our customers tell us they can't get enough of King Charles Hotel's great location. During your stay, you'll be within walking distance of Historic Dockyard Chatham. Features include free breakfast, free WiFi in public areas and free self-parking. This 3-star hotel has 97 rooms. Enjoy your stay with amenities like free WiFi and a flat-screen TV in each room.

  • All rooms offer flat-screen TVs, room service and coffee/tea makers
  • Free continental breakfast served daily
  • Free WiFi
  • Free self-parking
  • Enjoy British cuisine while dining at Aurora
  • Services include dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage and wedding services
  • Guests speak favourably about the helpful staff and the convenient parking
  • Steps from Royal Engineers Museum and 12 minutes on foot from Historic Dockyard Chatham
  • Pets welcome free of charge

Double Room

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
£56* Per night/room 27 Jul - 28 Jul

Triple Room

Bed Count 3 Single Beds Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Family Room

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Family Room

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Suite

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Room (4 Poster )

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

King Charles Hotel ratings based on 11 verified reviews

Review Summary
3.7 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for King Charles Hotel

Everyone (4) Couples (3) Family (4)
4 out of 5
Large capacity and space. The putter part needs some redecorating.

Posted by on 22 Feb 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

24 Feb 2020 by Reservations

Good Morning Thank you for staying at the King Charles Hotel. We are just waiting for our final development plans and then work will be commencing. Kind Regards

3 out of 5
The hotel is ok but a bit pricey for what it is. The internet is terrible

Posted by , from Norwich on 17 Feb 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Rooms were clean everything we needed for one nights stay

Posted by on 1 Jan 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 Jan 2020 by Reservations

Good Afternoon Thank you for staying at the King Charles Hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards

1 out of 5
staff were really rude took our money and didn't let us in

Posted by on 26 Jun 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

26 Jun 2019 by Gabby

Good Morning, I am sorry to hear this. The hotel doesn't take any money from yourselves, we run a validation check on the card 24hr prior to your arrival, so the first night amount will be pending on your account. As you weren't allowed to stay at the hotel, we would have run a reversal on your card which takes 2-5 working days (does not include weekends) to show back onto your account. As you booked through a booking agency this would have been stated on your booking confirmation in the terms and condition section. I do hope this little incident has not put you off returning to the king Charles hotel, we hope to have you book with us again.

4 out of 5
Good friendly staff, the bathroom and bedroom are very clean.

Posted by on 9 Jun 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

10 Jun 2019 by Reception

Good Morning Thank you for staying at the King Charles Hotel. We are glad you found our staff to be friendly and our rooms clean. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Reservations

4 out of 5
Reasonably priced clean and staff friendly.hotelin a good position for access to medway townd

Posted by on 15 Apr 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Apr 2019 by Gabby

Thank you for your review of the King Charles Hotel I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will visit us again in the future.

5 out of 5
Fabulous hotel with excellent facilities. Location perfect for Leisure Centre.

Posted by , from Ramsgate on 29 Oct 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Good hotel, friendly efficient staff. Good breakfast with efficient friendly service. Good size room with comfortable bed. Good size en suite bathroom with large shower.

Posted by on 26 Aug 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Staff outstanding and helpful thank you event nite well organised a perfect location for a hen nite

Posted by on 24 Apr 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Nice hotel for travel work

Good hotel,all clean but without air conditioned. Was very hot in the room. The wifi is rubbish

Posted by , from Uxbridge on 30 May 2017

Was this review helpful to you?

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Free breakfast is served daily. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. Vending machine, multilingual staff, and a garden are also featured at the business-friendly King Charles Hotel. Free self parking is available. This 3-star Gillingham hotel is smoke free.

  • 97 guestrooms or units
  • 5 conference rooms
  • Continental breakfast (free)
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff members are multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Wedding services available
  • Garden
  • Computer for guest use
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • Lift
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Train station: Gillingham Station (1.1 km / 0.7 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

King Charles Hotel offers 97 forms of accommodation with a safe and coffee/tea makers. Flat-screen televisions come with cable channels. Bathrooms include a shower, complimentary toiletries and hairdryers. Guests can surf the web using complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is offered on a daily basis and an iron/ironing board can be requested.

  • In-room dining
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board available
  • Desk
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Guests are served a free continental breakfast daily from 7:30 AM to 10:30 AM.

Aurora – This restaurant specialises in British cuisine.

Room service is available.

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • In-room accessibility
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at anytime
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.

Pet Policy

  • Pets are welcome and stay free
  • Maximum 1 per room

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property.Guests are provided with hand sanitiser.

  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Staffed front desk
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Pets allowed (no fees)
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • King Charles Hotel Gillingham
  • King Charles Hotel
  • King Charles Gillingham
  • King Charles Hotel Hotel
  • King Charles Hotel Gillingham
  • King Charles Hotel Hotel Gillingham

You should know

  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.

National Rating

This establishment has received its official star rating from VisitEngland, the National Tourist Board for England.

url importing http://www.ebookers.com/Gillingham-Hotels-King-Charles-Hotel.h11899425-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Gillingham-Hotels-King-Charles-Hotel.h11899425-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.ebookers.com/Gillingham-Hotels-King-Charles-Hotel.h11899425-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.