Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.2 out of 5

"Alot of children in pool area, apparently still off school Treatments winderful, rool lovely and both lunch 'n breakfast excellent " More

By a verified traveller on Tue 03 Sep 2019

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

The free breakfast at Slaley Hall gets good marks from our customers. During your stay, you'll be close to Derwent Reservoir. Enjoy features like free WiFi in public areas and free valet parking, plus 3 restaurants. Built in 1900, this 4-star hotel has 141 rooms over 3 floors. Enjoy your stay with amenities like free WiFi and a flat-screen TV in each room.

  • Air-conditioned rooms with 24-hour room service, flat-screen TVs and fridges
  • Free English breakfast served daily
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet
  • Free valet parking
  • Enjoy international cuisine with golf course views at Hadrians Brasserie, one of the property's 3 restaurants and 2 bars/lounges
  • Extended parking available for a fee
  • Take a swim in the indoor pool or soak in the 2 spa tubs
  • Treat yourself to body treatments, body wraps or manicures and pedicures at Slaley Spa
  • Services include dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services and a porter
  • On-site recreation includes a golf course, a health club and a steam room
  • Guests speak favourably about the beds and the pool
  • 9 minutes by car from North Pennines and 11 minutes from Derwent Reservoir
  • Dogs welcome for a fee

Double or Twin Room

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
£133* Per night/room 4 Jul - 5 Jul

Double/Twin Special

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Double Room

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Double Room

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Slaley Hall ratings based on 6 verified reviews

Review Summary
4.2 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Slaley Hall

Everyone (5)
5 out of 5

Posted by on 19 Nov 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

22 Nov 2019 by andrew

Dear Guest Thank you for your rating, I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Regards Andrew Fox General Manager

5 out of 5
Alot of children in pool area, apparently still off school Treatments winderful, rool lovely and both lunch 'n breakfast excellent

Posted by on 3 Sep 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Sep 2019 by Andrew

Dear Guest Thank you for your review I am pleased you enjoyed using the spa facilities. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Regards Andrew Fox General Manager

3 out of 5
Stayed for a wedding at the weekend. Staff and service were excellent, however, public areas were tired and in need of updating and so did the bedroom. I was lucky and got a good deal but would have been bitterly disappointed if I'd had to pay the rate other family membera did (which was very high even though a wedding discount had been applied).

Posted by , from Gateshead on 15 Apr 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Apr 2019 by Andrew

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We are hoping for investment in the near future so that up dating can be done in many more bedrooms and public areas. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Regards Andrew Fox General Manager

3 out of 5

Run down hotel

Have been going to slaley for few years now but this hotel has become very run down. Spa facilities very dirty. Breakfast ok but had to queue for ages.

Posted by , from edinburgh on 27 Oct 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Nov 2017 by Andrew

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, I am sorry to read that you found the hotel disappointing. Your feedback will be shared so that review can be taken. Kind regards Andrew Fox Regional General Manager

4 out of 5

Great but...

Pros: The location great
Cons: The public rooms need a little attention
The location is great with fantastic grounds we were checked in by a very pleasant and competent receptionist and porter/concierge staff. We were given room 242 which was a nice room except the window is high in the wall so if you were looking forward to a view from the room this was not the room for you! We went to the bar for drinks (a bit expensive) and found the furniture worse for wear. As we had driven a while we decided to have diner in the restaurant I had the 284g Hereford Rib-eye steak Garlic Portabella mushrooms, roast plum tomato, watercress & chips very nice but to me the steak looked small at £29.00 expensive. My wife who is a vegetarian and a very fussy eater had the Open artichoke ravioli a dish that at a good Italian restaurant would cost no more than £7.50 (I know this as she had it last night) cost £16.50 and was tasteless & poorly done. The ambiance of the restaurant was poor the chairs in dire need of a clean or replacement the table shoddy the front of house manager was asked a simple question after 20 minutes no answer however the server answered it immediately. The cutlery should be returned to the local youth hostel as they were so bad not what you expect from a four star hotel. The breakfast was good if the service was poor the juices were absolutely appalling when I complained about it they brought me juice from the bar much better. Overall it is a good hotel but......

Posted by on 18 Jul 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

10 Aug 2017 by Andrew

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you found our grounds fantastic and check in good, but it is always disappointing to read when guests express disappointment with other areas of their stay. Please be assured your feedback has been taken on board for review by the management here at the hotel. Qhotels are continually investing in the hotel and as such areas have been highlighted for refurbishment which have previously been neglected by previous owners. I hope to welcome you back to Slaley Hall in the near future. Kind regards Andrew Fox Regional General Manager

5 out of 5

Lovely hotel and staff very clean

Was a lovely experience hotel was beautiful and very clean. Spa area was lovely and the massage was amazing

Posted by on 5 Apr 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Jun 2017 by Andrew Fox

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave your 5 out of 5 review on Slaley Hall, I am pleased you found the hotel a lovely experience, beautiful and clean. I am delighted you enjoyed your spa experience. I hope to welcome you back to the resort in the near future. Kind regards Andrew Fox Regional General Manager

Renovations + Closures

This property is closed from 2 April 2020 to 31 May 2020 (dates subject to change).

Property Features

Slaley Hall offers its guests a full-service spa, a golf course, and 2 hot tubs. There are 3 restaurants on site. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include 2 bars/lounges and A poolside bar. Free breakfast is served daily. Public spaces have free WiFi and wired Internet. An indoor pool, a kids' pool, and a health club are also featured at the eco-friendly Slaley Hall. Free valet parking is available. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this Edwardian Hexham hotel.

  • 1 building
  • 141 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • 3 dining venues
  • 2 bars or lounges
  • Built in 1900
  • English breakfast (free)
  • Bar by the pool
  • Conference space
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Staff members are multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front desk safe
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • Bellhop
  • Lift
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Indoor pool
  • Children's pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Fridge

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Parking

Long-term parking (surcharge) , Self parking (surcharge) , Free valet parking , RV, bus, truck parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Newcastle (NCL-Newcastle Intl.) (37.2 km / 23.1 mi)
  • Train station: Riding Mill Station (9.6 km / 6 mi)
  • Parking: Free valet parking; self parking, extended parking, and RV/bus/truck parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Slaley Hall offers 141 forms of accommodation which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature a safe and coffee/tea makers. Beds feature Egyptian cotton sheets and premium bedding. 32-inch Flat-screen televisions come with satellite channels and pay-per-view films. Bathrooms include a combined bath/shower unit, designer toiletries, complimentary toiletries and hairdryers. Guests can surf the web using complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and telephones. Additionally, rooms include an iron/ironing board and blackout curtains. Housekeeping is offered on a daily basis and hypo-allergenic bedding can be requested.

  • Separate bedroom
  • In-room dining (24 hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Satellite channels
  • Films for purchase
  • Fridge
  • Coffee maker
  • Egyptian cotton linens
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cots (surcharge)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe
  • Designer toiletries
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Climate control
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

Guests are served a free English breakfast daily.

Hadrians Brasserie – Overlooking the golf course, this brasserie specialises in international cuisine and serves breakfast and dinner. A children's menu is available. Reservations are required.

Dukes Grill – Overlooking the golf course, this fine-dining restaurant specialises in international cuisine and only serves dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar. Reservations are required. Open selected days.

The Claret Jug – Overlooking the golf course, this bistro specialises in international cuisine and serves breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar. A children's menu is available.

19th Bar – Overlooking the golf course, this restaurant serves lunch and light fare. A children's menu is available.

24-hour room service is available.

Nearby Activities

Guests can play rounds at the 36-hole golf course. 2 hot tubs are on site along with an indoor pool. In addition to a kids' pool, other recreational amenities include a health club and a sauna.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on-site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Golf driving range on site
  • Waterskiing nearby
  • Golf lessons on site
  • Golfing on site
  • Parasailing nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails on site
  • Surfing/boogie boarding nearby
  • Windsurfing nearby
  • Mountain biking on site
  • Yoga classes/instruction on site
  • Pilates classes on site
  • Rafting nearby
  • Segway rental/tour on site
  • Fitness classes on site
  • Bicycle rentals on site
  • Kayaking nearby
  • Personal motorised watercraft on site
  • Sailing nearby
  • Scooter/moped rentals nearby

Spa Services

Slaley Spa has 8 treatment rooms, including rooms for couples. Services include hot stone massages, facials, body wraps and body scrubs. The spa is equipped with a sauna. A variety of treatment therapies are provided, including aromatherapy.

  • Hot stone massage
  • Sauna in spa
  • Number of treatment rooms 8
  • Couples treatment rooms
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Body wraps
  • Body treatments
  • Body scrubs
  • Facial treatments
  • Aromatherapy treatments
  • Massages

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.

  • Wheelchair-accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair-accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

Due to COVID-19 travel restrictions, this property can only accept bookings for essential travel or stays. You may be asked to provide evidence of this on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for GBP 20 per night.
  • Cots (infant beds) are available for GBP 10.00 per night.

Pet Policy

  • Pets: GBP 20 per pet, per night
  • Only dogs are allowed
  • Maximum 2 per room

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card may be required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • Debit cards

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Self-parking fee: GBP 0.01 per stay (in/out privileges)
  • Extended parking fee: GBP 0.01 per stay
  • Pet fee: GBP 20 per pet, per night
  • Late check-out fee: GBP 50 (subject to availability)
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: GBP 10.00 per night
  • Rollaway bed fee: GBP 20 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Slaley Hall Hotel
  • Vere Hotel Slaley Hall Hexham
  • Slaley Hall Hotel Hexham
  • Slaley Hall Hexham
  • Slaley Hall
  • De Vere Slaley Hall Hotel Hexham
  • De Vere Slaley Hall Hexham
  • Hall Hotel Slaley
  • Hall Slaley
  • De Vere Hotel Slaley Hall
  • Slaley Hall Hotel
  • Slaley Hall Hexham
  • Slaley Hall Hotel Hexham

You should know

  • Reservations are needed for golf tee times, massage services, and spa treatments. For reservations, contact the hotel before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.

Awards & Affiliations

Green/Sustainable Property
This property participates in Green Tourism Programme, a programme that measures the property's impact on one or more of the following: The Environment, the community, the cultural heritage and the local economy.

  • Green Tourism Programme
url importing http://www.ebookers.com/Hexham-Hotels-Slaley-Hall.h519079-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Hexham-Hotels-Slaley-Hall.h519079-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.ebookers.com/Hexham-Hotels-Slaley-Hall.h519079-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.