Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"The hotel was a perfect location for any tourist. With buses five minutes away it was the best way to get around. The staff were really helpful and ... " More

By Laura88 on Tue 08 Jul 2014

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Our customers tell us that they enjoy the comfortable rooms at Mercure London Bloomsbury. During your stay, you're just a quick walk from Russell Square. You'll find features such as free WiFi in public areas, plus a restaurant and a bar. This 4-star hotel has 108 rooms over 7 floors. All rooms offer free WiFi and flat-screen TVs.

  • Air-conditioned rooms with 24-hour room service, flat-screen TVs and coffee/tea makers
  • Free WiFi
  • Drinking and dining options include a restaurant, a coffee shop and a bar/lounge
  • Buffet breakfast served daily for a fee
  • Services include dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services and tour or ticket assistance
  • Guests speak favourably about the area's walkability and the proximity to public transport
  • Steps from Russell Square and Great Ormond Street Hospital
  • Train station pick-up shuttle service available for a fee

Double Room (small, 120 cm bed)

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
£80* Per night/room 22 Dec - 23 Dec

Standard Room

Bed Count 2 Single Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room

Bed Count 1 Single Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Standard Room

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Superior Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Mercure London Bloomsbury ratings based on 11 verified reviews

Review Summary
3.4 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Mercure London Bloomsbury

Everyone (3) Couples (2) Business (2) Family (1) Friends (2)
4 out of 5

Posted by on 13 Mar 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Mar 2019 by Mercure London Bloomsbury

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we hope to welcome you back again soon!

2 out of 5
Hotel disappointing, overall feel was that hotel was tired and in need of an upgrade. Have stayed in Mercure hotels before and they are usually excellent. Air conditioning units on last legs, we had to be moved to another room as first one not working. A member of staff did not seem knowledgeable in local area, asked her to direct me to a particular street and she gave me directions in opposite direction. We would not stay again

Posted by , from Edinburgh on 2 Aug 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Aug 2017 by Paula

Thank you for your feedback. We have just finished renovating both our Reception area and Marco's restaurant, and our bedrooms are done on an ongoing basis, so we are surprised to hear you were disappointed. We're glad we were able to resolve your air-con problem, things to go wrong from time to time unfortunately. We do indeed have several new members of our Front Office team, and we can only apologise if you were mis-directed. We have a supply of free maps for guests, and can also print out directions from most websites upon request. Thanks for taking the time to share with us, we appreciate it.

1 out of 5

Small Rooms

I stayed at this hotel on the 15th Jan and also 23 January. I had a very poor experience on the 15th as we had booked a standard double room and the room that we were given on the 7th floor was extremely small and would have probably have described this as a small double which I had not booked. the bathroom was also extremely small and the loo was in very small area and your knees were against the wall. I did manage to change rooms eventuall and did get a bit bigger room, however with a horrible few of a concrete wall. As I had booked this hotel again for the 23 Jan, I requested that we had a room overlooking the street. We booked in on the 23rd and to my amazement the room was of a reasonable sixe for a boutique hotel, however there again the bathroom very small and almost had to sit sideways on the loo. The window was extremely small, however when opening the curtains could not see out of the window as it was frosted. I would not stay at this hotel again as that in 2 very poor experiences. Disappointing.

Posted by on 26 Jan 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Great place to stay

The hotel was a perfect location for any tourist. With buses five minutes away it was the best way to get around. The staff were really helpful and friendly and don't mind answering any questions you have about how to get to local attractions like civent garden. The room was clean and the bed was comfy though on wheels so it rolled if you leaned against it but was fine when sleeping. Overall it was a great hotel :)

Posted by on 8 Jul 2014

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Business Trip

Excellent hotel, good value for money in the location. Will stay again when in London.

Posted by on 23 Jun 2014

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

Where did it get four stars?

The room was small, which is normal for London, but there was a lot of noise from the outside corridor. The staff were indifferent when this was brought to their attention. The shower would not get very hot and had a very wasteful large shower head which uses a lot of water for no good reason, and was particularly irritating as the bath wouldn't drain properly so you had to stand in cold water up to your ankles to shower. The breakfast was good.

Posted by on 13 Nov 2012

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Very good in every way !

Great location.Friendly staffs .Clean rooms although small.Four STARS and it showed. Good breakfasts for £10.Not bad at all and would stay again.Near to major attractions.Near to bus,tube and rail.Safe area.

Posted by on 2 Jan 2012

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
Emplacement ok, chambre sans vue dans cour intérieure dommage.

Posted by on 17 Sep 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Sep 2019 by MLB Team

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. Lie most city centre hotels, unfortunately we can't offer all rooms with views, but there is so much to do in London, especially in our area!

4 out of 5
Tolle Lage, in Gehdistanz zu Tube, Pubs, Restaurants. Sehr nettes und hilfsbereites Personal. Betten konnten entweder als Doppelbett oder Einzelbetten genutzt werden. Als Einzelbetten waren diese leider viel zu schmal. Der Wasserdruck in der Dusche liess leider auch zu wünschen übrig. Ansonsten war alles tiptop.

Posted by , from Zürich on 15 Sep 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Sep 2018 by MLB team

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we really appreciate it, and hope to welcome you back again soon!

4 out of 5

Hotelli lähellä metroasemaa

Pros: Sijainnista ja aamiaisesta.
Cons: Isompi huone 2:lle hlölle !
Location: Sijaitsee lähellä Russel Squaren metroasemaa. British Museum lyhyen kävelymatkan päässä. Paljon pikku ravintoloita lähistöllä.
Hotelli on lähellä Russel Squaren metroasemaa. Loistava aamiainen, ystävällinen ja avulias henkilökunta. Mutta huone kovin pieni !

Posted by , from Tuusula on 29 Mar 2017

Was this review helpful to you?

Property Features

Along with a restaurant, there's a coffee shop/café on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Business amenities include a limo/town car service and a meeting room. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. A terrace, tour or ticket assistance, and multilingual staff are also featured at the business-friendly Mercure London Bloomsbury. This 4-star London hotel is smoke free.

  • 108 guestrooms or units
  • 7 levels
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • 1 conference room
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff members are multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front desk safe
  • Car service
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Terrace
  • Computer for guest use
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • Bellhop
  • Lift
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Free cots/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Transport

  • Airport: London (LHR-Heathrow) (29.7 km / 18.4 mi)
  • Train station: London St. Pancras Station (1.4 km / 0.9 mi)
  • Metro station: Russell Square Underground Station (0.4 km / 0.2 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Train station pick-up
  • Parking:

Room Amenities

Mercure London Bloomsbury offers 108 forms of air-conditioned accommodation with laptop-compatible safes and free newspapers. Flat-screen televisions come with cable channels. Bathrooms include a bath and shower, complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer. Guests can surf the web using complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and telephones. Additionally, rooms include complimentary bottles of water and coffee/tea makers. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • In-room dining (24 hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Bathtub or shower
  • Cribs (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Hairdryer
  • Laptop safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a buffet breakfast daily from 7 AM to 10 AM.

THE BRASSERIE – This brasserie serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

24-hour room service is available.

Nearby Activities

The recreational activities listed below are available either on-site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Bicycle rentals nearby
  • Waterskiing nearby
  • Golfing nearby
  • Sailing nearby
  • Scooter/moped rentals nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • In-room accessibility
  • Assistive listening devices available

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2:30 PM

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. No on-site parking is available. Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. No on-site parking is available. Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Noise-free rooms not guaranteed
  • Debit cards not accepted

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for buffet breakfast: GBP 10.00 for adults and GBP 10.00 for children (approximately)
  • Late check-out fee: GBP 50.00 (subject to availability)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • London Bloomsbury Mercure
  • Mercure Hotel London Bloomsbury
  • Mercure London Bloomsbury
  • Mercure London Bloomsbury England
  • Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
  • Waverley House Hotel London
  • Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel
  • Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel
  • Mercure London Bloomsbury London
  • Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London

You should know

  • Please note that this property can refuse certain bookings for the purpose of group events or parties, which include pre-wedding stag/bachelor and hen/bachelorette parties.
  • Mercure London Bloomsbury offers transfers from the train station (fees may apply). Please contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation with your arrival details prior to travel.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
url importing https://www.ebookers.com/London-Hotels-Mercure-London-Bloomsbury.h527793-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.