"Excellent hostel, staff are courteous, friendly and helpful. Room is exactly what is required, beds are comfortable and the place is spotless. " More

By a verified traveller on Wed 23 Nov 2016

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Our customers tell us they enjoy Safestay London Elephant & Castle - Hostel's good location. During your stay, you'll be within walking distance of Imperial War Museum. Features include free WiFi in public areas, plus a bar and breakfast (surcharge). This 2-star hostel has 72 rooms. All rooms offer free WiFi and safes.

  • All rooms offer safes
  • Free WiFi
  • Enjoy drinks at the bar/lounge
  • Continental breakfast served daily for a fee
  • Services include luggage storage
  • Guests speak favourably about the proximity to public transport and the value of their stay
  • 14 minutes by foot from Imperial War Museum and a 3-minute drive from Borough Market

Basic Twin Room, 2 Single Beds

Bed Count 2 Single Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
£83 per night

Room, Mixed Dorm, Private Bathroom (8 Beds)

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.BunkBed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Triple Room, Private Bathroom

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.BunkBed.Singular Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Basic Room

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.BunkBed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Room, Mixed Dorm, Private Bathroom (4 Beds)

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.BunkBed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Room, Mixed Dorm, Shared Bathroom (6 Beds)

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.BunkBed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Safestay London Elephant & Castle - Hostel ratings based on 19 verified reviews

Review Summary
3.6 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Safestay London Elephant & Castle - Hostel

Everyone (10) Students (2) Friends (1) Other (5)
1 out of 5
The worst stay for me ever. Reason: 1- No change for bed sheets for 12 days. 2- WiFi signal is very weak and poor you have to move everyday around the hostel to catch the signal. 3- No soap in toilet and only available in shower room. 4- No clean for room floor. 5- The heater give off very bad smell.

Posted by on 7 Jan 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Feb 2019 by Sam

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you had issues with our cleanliness while you were here. We will investigate the problems that you encountered and whilst it doesn't help your previous stay, we can see how our service could have been improved Also, next time please feel free to report any issues at reception immediately, so we could solve them straight away. King Regards,

1 out of 5

Posted by on 27 Nov 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

6 Dec 2018 by Sam

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay at our hostel. Unfortunately you just rated so we don't know where we failed so we can improve. Kind regards,

5 out of 5

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Excellent hostel, staff are courteous, friendly and helpful. Room is exactly what is required, beds are comfortable and the place is spotless.

Posted by on 23 Nov 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Nice hostel

Great place! Close to the city center, good location.

Posted by on 16 Sep 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
It was a good experience overall except with the time taken at the reception to complete my hotel booking for which I made the payment online..

Posted by on 7 Sep 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Helpful and friendly staff

The hostel looks just like in the pictures! It's very nice, helpful staff and at approx 10 min walking distance from the underground station.

Posted by , from Italy on 29 Aug 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Great :)

Pros: Great that it was so central! Free wi-fi, the staff we very nice and they allowed me to print theatre tickets.
Cons: Possibly a water fountain, doors were heavy and were slow to close but then at the last second they would slam very loudly.
I stayed for 2 nights and it was my first hostel experience. I wasn't sure what to expect but I was pleased!

Posted by on 21 Aug 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Ideally suited for access to Underground.

Pros: I liked the modern décor, the many sockets for charging phones and the presence of elevators.
Cons: I do not consider the breakfasts great value for money. I believe these could be improved.
Location: The hostel is in a wonderful position, for visiting London's South Bank.
Ideally suited for access to Underground & bus services. The hostel is modern and stylish. I had a top bunk in an 8 bed dorm. Each bunk has curtains on 4 sides to provide some privacy. My experience would have been greatly enhanced with the inclusion of an overhead blind. As it was, other occupants arrived throughout the night. Their thoughtlessness meant that I was awoken on several occasions, by the overhead light. Having said that, the price was low. I guess you get what you pay for.

Posted by , from www.facebook/jollyroger2729 on 26 Jul 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Good value in zone 1

Close to the center of London, clean and quiet with helpful staff

Posted by on 9 Apr 2014

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Posted by on 13 Mar 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

6 Apr 2019 by Claudio

Loved the 5-star review. Best regards,

About the Safestay London Elephant & Castle - Hostel

Location 144-152 Walworth Road, London, England SE17 1JL

Property Features

Safestay London Elephant & Castle - Hostel offers its guests a lift. WiFi is free in public spaces. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. This London hostel is smoke free.

  • 72 guestrooms or units
  • Bar or lounge
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Lift
  • No smoking on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Transport

  • Train station: London Elephant and Castle Station (0.4 km / 0.2 mi)
  • Metro station: Elephant & Castle Station (0.6 km / 0.4 mi)
  • Parking:

Room Amenities

Safestay London Elephant & Castle - Hostel offers 72 forms of accommodation with a safe. Guests can surf the web using complimentary wireless Internet access. Rooms have partially open bathrooms. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • Bathrooms are partially open
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Safe

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a continental breakfast daily from 10:00 AM to 11:30 AM.

On-site venue – This bar only serves light fare.

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 5 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. No on-site parking is available. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Additional policies and fees may apply when booking for more than 10 persons. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

This property does not accept student cards as valid identification at check-in. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

Guests under age 18 staying in a Mixed Dorm room type must be accompanied by an adult over 18 staying in the same room. Families with children younger than 16 must book a private room. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. No on-site parking is available.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for continental breakfast: GBP 5 per person (approximately)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Safestay London Elephant Castle Hostel