"Great pool, room had fridge which was good. The hotel looked modern, changing rooms for the pool could do with upgrading. Breakfast was great and staf ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 01 Apr 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Five Lakes Resort's beach location gets good marks from our customers. During your stay, you'll be close to Layer Marney Tower. Free WiFi in public areas, free self-parking and 2 bars are available. This 4-star hotel has 194 rooms over 2 floors. Free WiFi and deep-soaking bathtubs are available in all rooms.

  • All rooms offer deep-soaking bathtubs, 24-hour room service and flat-screen TVs
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet
  • Free self-parking
  • Drinking and dining options include a restaurant, a coffee shop and 2 bars/lounges
  • Buffet breakfast served daily for a fee
  • Take a swim in the indoor pool or soak in the spa tub
  • Treat yourself to body scrubs, facials or reflexology at The Spa
  • Amenities include free newspapers in the lobby, a front-desk safe and 15 meeting rooms
  • On-site recreation includes a golf course, an outdoor tennis court and a health club
  • Guests speak favourably about the value of their stay and the location
  • 10 minutes by car from Colchester Golf Club and 13 minutes from Colchester Zoo

Standard Room, 1 Double Bed

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
£64* Per night/room 1 Sep - 2 Sep

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Twin Room, 2 Single Beds

Bed Count 2 Single Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Family Twin Room, 2 Double Beds

Bed Count 2 Double Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Luxury Suite

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Executive Twin Room

Bed Count 2 Single Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Five Lakes Resort ratings based on 10 verified reviews

Review Summary
3.7 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Five Lakes Resort

Everyone (7) Business (1) Family (2)
5 out of 5
Vast grounds (golf facilities). All staff were very helpful and polite. Great food. Spa facilities v good. Impressed with the four poster bedded relax area! Good products & again, staff couldn't do enough for us. Great value, lovely rooms. We will go back

Posted by on 26 Jun 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Jul 2019 by Exec Office

Thank you for visiting Five Lakes Resort and taking the time to comment on your visit. We are delighted that all you experienced was enjoyable and your mention of our helpful and welcoming staff is very much appreciated – thank you. It is great to know that you will return in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back. With kind regards

3 out of 5
I like the grounds of the hotel so beautiful it's a shame about the way they managed the hotel.

Posted by on 22 Apr 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

22 Apr 2019 by Exec Office

Thank you for visiting Five Lakes Resort and commenting so positively on the hotel grounds, I shall ensure that our Head Gardener is aware of your feedback. Regards

2 out of 5

Disappointed, Very Disappointed !!!!

Pros: Not much, I would only ever consider coming here to play golf, & that's all !!
Cons: Cleanliness, Cleanliness. I know it's not 5 star, but it's got to be clean...
Location: N/A
In years gone by, I've only been here for Christmas parties, so when I heard a friend of mine was getting married & holding a wedding reception here I thought I'd get a room for the night. The room (503) was away from the hotel which my partner & I didn't mind because it was very quiet. This though, was the only good thing, everything else was awful. The room although spacious, was filthy & disgusting, cleanliness was missing throughout. Everything from the dirty, filthy windows to the dust everywhere & this hideous disgusting phone in the bathroom, & the awful shower curtain, yuck !!! The drinks in both bars were horrendously overpriced, the tables disgustingly dirty, the seating dirty & in need of attention. The carpets throughout looking threadbare & very dirty which need to be replaced immediately. The morning breakfast was a complete fiasco. It just seems there's not enough staff around this hotel to cope. I'm so disappointed with The Crowne Plaza. If the owners or management had any sense they'd shut most of this place for a wash & refurb'.

Posted by , from Colchester on 19 Aug 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

28 Aug 2018 by Exec office

We have taken on board the negatives you have highlighted in your posting and immediately shared with the respective teams to resolve. Please accept our apologies that this was your experience. Hopefully you mentioned these concerns at the time to one of our team, who would have resolved these issues. Thank you for your feedback.

5 out of 5
Great pool, room had fridge which was good. The hotel looked modern, changing rooms for the pool could do with upgrading. Breakfast was great and staff bery helpful. Overall great stay

Posted by , from Surrey on 1 Apr 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Apr 2018 by Gayleen

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Five Lakes. We are pleased to receive a top score of 5. Hope to see you soon.

2 out of 5

Great bed bad bathroom

The thermostat for the bath was not working so no hot water, also the thermostat for the shower was not working so just scolding hot water also big spider on shower ceiling and paint peeling of in various places, I booked a room with a double bed but it had two singles also no bath robes or slippers, telephone by bed not working .

Posted by , from uxbridge on 16 Feb 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

21 Feb 2018 by Gayleen

Apologies that there were issues in your accommodation nd I do hope you mentioned tour team, who will always react to remedy soonest. Hope other aspects of your stay were enjoyable though. Thanks for your review. Best regards

3 out of 5

Improvements needed

I have been a few times before but this time I found the resort a little tired in places. The swimming pool area needs attention, the jacuzzi was not working properly (we mentioned this at Reception) and the changing areas were obviously not tended regularly with wet towels just left everywhere mainly I would think because there was nowhere to put them. We ate at the Brasserie and enjoyed a tasty evening meal but any requests to make slight changes to our choices ie custard instead of cream were met with a firm “no, it’s not allowed” which is unusual in this day and age. The buffet breakfast was substantial but certain items had run out well before the finish time. It wasn’t a disastrous stay but would think twice about returning in the near future.

Posted by , from Essex on 5 Feb 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

6 Feb 2018 by Gayleen

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. Please accept our belated apologies that we did not entirely meet your expectations. We have taken on board your feedback and will review and take action where appropriate. Best regards

5 out of 5

Great hotel

Fantastic stay. Very clean and comfortable bedrooms, friendly staff.

Posted by on 23 Oct 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Oct 2017 by Gayleen

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted to know that you had a great time with us at Five Lakes and found our team to be welcoming and helpful. Hope to see you in the future. With kind regards

2 out of 5

Terrible stay!

The hotel looks nice and the grounds are pretty. However, that's all the good things I can say I'm afraid! The room is very tired, especially the bathroom; the door to the bathroom was starting to rot from the inside. This is obviously a popular wedding venue as other reviewers have noticed. We stayed on a Sunday night and there was a wedding. They were understaffed and as a consequence when we went to the restaurant for dinner (which we had booked a few days before), we were told that there would be no A la Carte dining, after they had shown us to our table, and could only offer a buffet roast for about £30 per head! We had no choice but to accept as we have a 3 year old and there are no other eateries near by. That night, we got no sleep at all. Our family room was right next to a fire door, which banged very loudly whenever anyone went by, and because there was a wedding on, the wedding guests were going backwards and forwards till the early hours. They were also very rowdy, running up the hall ways, shouting, singing and banging on doors. We could also hear the wedding band playing away till the early hours. Worst night sleep in a hotel, ever! I complained to the receptionist during check out and the look on her face told me that they get this complaint very often and are not going to do anything about it. This hotel is an embarrassment to the Crowne Plaza brand. I have stayed in other Crowne Plaza hotels before and they all lived up expectation.

Posted by , from Swindon, UK. on 10 Oct 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Oct 2017 by Gayleen

Thank you for your review. We offer our belated apologies that, for the reasons mentioned, you felt we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Certainly had you mentioned your dissatisfaction at the time, I feel confident we would have resolved any issues you had. I am sorry for the behaviour of other residents which caused noise disturbance, our Night Manager would have intervened had he been aware. Thank you for reviewing your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes. Best regards

5 out of 5

A very pleasant hotel indeed.

It was the first time I stayed in a hotel with my children. They loved the facilities and thought it "posh". Although this made me smile a little, it is safe to say that they were impressed. All the staff were very professional, and other than a little confusion over which type of food was available at 21.45hrs I couldn't fault them. All round an excellent venue- the sort of place you would happily return to.

Posted by , from Kent on 20 Aug 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Amazing Hotel

Great hotel, amazing room, nice breakfast and the amenities, well I wish I hadn't gone there to attend a conference as needed spare time to use them all. Only downside were bar prices and foreign staff so hard to understand. I would definitely go back.

Posted by on 20 Sep 2015

Was this review helpful to you?

Property Features

Five Lakes Resort offers its guests a full-service spa, a golf course, and outdoor tennis courts. There's a restaurant on site, as well as a coffee shop/café. You can unwind with a drink at one of the 2 bars/lounges. Public spaces have free WiFi and wired Internet. Event space at this hotel measures 32292 square feet (3000 square metres) and includes conference centres. An indoor pool, a health club, and a hot tub are also featured at the business-friendly Five Lakes Resort. Free self parking is available. This 4-star Maldon hotel is smoke free.

  • 194 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • 2 buildings
  • 2 bars or lounges
  • 32292 sq ft of conference space
  • 3000 sq. m of conference space
  • Dining venue
  • Coffee shop
  • Conference centre
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Front desk safe
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • ATM
  • Bellhop
  • Lift
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Indoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Outdoor tennis courts -3
  • Outdoor tennis court

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: London (STN-Stansted) (50.2 km / 31.2 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Five Lakes Resort offers 194 forms of accommodation with a safe and complimentary bottles of water. Flat-screen televisions come with pay-per-view films. Bathrooms include a bath and shower with a deep soaking bath, a complimentary bathrobe, complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer. Guests can surf the web using complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and telephones. Additionally, rooms include coffee/tea makers and an iron/ironing board. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • Deep soaking tub
  • In-room dining (24 hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Premium channels
  • Films for purchase
  • Coffee maker
  • Bathtub or shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe
  • Bathrobes
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy buffet breakfast on weekdays from 6:30 AM to 10:00 AM and at the weekend from 7:30 AM to 10:30 AM.

Brasserie 1 – This restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are required.

Sports Bar – On-site bar. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar. Open daily.

Bar Lacu – This cocktail bar only serves light fare. Open daily.

Late-night fare is available from 24-hour room service.

Nearby Activities

Guests can play rounds at the 36-hole golf course and enjoy other recreation facilities including outdoor tennis courts and a health club. An indoor pool and a spa tub are on site. Other recreational amenities include a sauna and a fitness centre.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on-site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Pilates classes on site
  • Racquetball/squash on site
  • Golf driving range on site
  • Golf lessons on site
  • Golfing on site
  • Fitness classes on site
  • Yoga classes/instruction on site

Spa Services

The Spa has 12 treatment rooms, including rooms for couples. Services include facials, body wraps, body scrubs and body treatments. A variety of treatment therapies are provided, including aromatherapy and reflexology.

The spa is open daily.

  • Number of treatment rooms 12
  • Reflexology
  • Couples treatment rooms
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Body wraps
  • Body treatments
  • Body scrubs
  • Facial treatments
  • Aromatherapy treatments

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11:00 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children 15 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed. Safety features at this property include a fire extinguisher and a smoke detector. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed. For guests' safety, the property includes a fire extinguisher and a smoke detector in all accommodation.

  • Noise-free rooms not guaranteed
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • Debit cards
  • Number of children who can stay for free – 2

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: GBP 50 per day

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for buffet breakfast: GBP 16.95 for adults and GBP 6.95 for children (approximately)
  • Late check-out fee: GBP 15 (subject to availability)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Colchester Five Lakes
  • Crowne Plaza Colchester Five Lakes
  • Crowne Plaza Colchester Five Lakes Maldon
  • Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester
  • Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
  • Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes Maldon
  • Crowne Plaza Resort Five Lakes
  • Five Lakes Colchester
  • Five Lakes Resort Maldon
  • Five Lakes Maldon

You should know

  • Pool access available from 6:00 AM to 9:00 PM
  • Reservations are needed for spa treatments. For reservations, contact the hotel before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • Up to 2 children 15 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
  • Certain facilities might have restricted access. For details, you can contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation.
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.