"Not a good start with rude reception staff and being told there is a $5 per bag charge for them to look after your bag until check in. Once we che ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sat 07 Oct 2017

Enter dates to see availability

Classic Room, 1 Double Bed

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
£40 per night

Room, 2 Double Beds (Penn 5000)

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Classic Suite, 1 Bedroom

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 1 Double Bed (Penn 5000)

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Classic Room, 2 Double Beds

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 1 King Bed (Penn 5000)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Hotel Pennsylvania ratings based on 413 verified reviews

Review Summary
2.9 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 2.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Everyone (24) Couples (146) Business (4) Family (99) Friends (101) Other (38)
3 out of 5
Very basic hotel, rooms very dated could do with a refit, curtains and carpet were filthy and bathroom not much better, having said that we spent very little time in it and the location was great.

Posted by , from Dublin on 10 Nov 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Nov 2018 by Hotel Penn Staff

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that your stay was not up to par. We appreciate the feedback and will utilize this to better the experience of our future guests. Thank you for your time and have a great day!

3 out of 5

Posted by on 26 Oct 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

27 Oct 2018 by Hotel Penn Staff

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and will utilize this to better the experience for our future guests. Thank you once again and hope you have a great day!

1 out of 5

Posted by on 21 Oct 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Oct 2018 by Hotel Penn Staff

We sincerely apologize about the experience you had while staying with us. Your feedback is important to us and we will work on this matter to better the experience for our future guests.

2 out of 5
Expensive hotel with low standards.I never recommend to my friends.

Posted by on 8 Apr 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

8 Apr 2018 by Charlie Kim

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that your stay was not up to par. We appreciate the feedback and will utilize this to better the experience of our future guests. Thank you for your time and have a great day!

1 out of 5

Just don’t do it

This place is like a tramps shoe, it is disgusting, mucky, worn out and dreadful.

Posted by , from uk on 4 Dec 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Jan 2018 by Front Office

We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

2 out of 5

Poor

Tv wouldn’t work dirty shower, only super hot water would run so couldn’t shower and then we were advised against using the water as it was apparently contaminated.

Posted by on 23 Nov 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Jan 2018 by Front Office

We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

4 out of 5

Basic but clean hotel in great location

Not a good start with rude reception staff and being told there is a $5 per bag charge for them to look after your bag until check in. Once we checked in lovely lady gave us info and large bed. Then found room was basic but clean with comfy bed and strong hot shower. Great location 15 min walk from Times Square and 1 min walk from subway where you can get to anywhere in NYC for $2.75. Would recommend staying here for cheap room if your out all day exploring like we were.

Posted by , from Essex, England on 7 Oct 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Oct 2017 by C. Garcia

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of The Pennsylvania Hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. We're glad to see that you noticed our convenient location, and hope you were able to take full advantage of that. Again, we welcome your feedback and hope to see you soon! Hotel Pennsylvania

3 out of 5

Booked for location

Booked a Penn 5000 room not convinced that is what we got but had nothing to complain it to if this was a up grade hate to think what standard rooms were like

Posted by on 28 Sep 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Oct 2017 by C. Garcia

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of The Pennsylvania Hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. We're glad to see that you noticed our convenient location, and hope you were able to take full advantage of that. Again, we welcome your feedback and hope to see you soon! Hotel Pennsylvania

4 out of 5

Ok

Second of two nights got the correct room this time

Posted by on 28 Sep 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Oct 2017 by C. Garcia

Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback with us! I will sure to share your kind words with our team as well. We're glad to see that you noticed our convenient location, and hope you were able to take full advantage of that. Again, we welcome your feedback and hope to see you soon! Hotel Pennsylvania

2 out of 5

No room available

Just returned to this hotel after trip to Washington booked a pen 5000 room none available even though booked way in advance ended up in bad twin

Posted by on 28 Sep 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Oct 2017 by C. Garcia

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of The Pennsylvania Hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. We're glad to see that you noticed our convenient location, and hope you were able to take full advantage of that. Again, we welcome your feedback and hope to see you soon! Hotel Pennsylvania

About the Hotel Pennsylvania

Location 401 7th Ave, New York, NY 10001

Property Features

Along with a restaurant, there's a coffee shop/café on site. A computer station is on site and WiFi is available in public spaces for a fee. You'll find a 24-hour business centre on site. A fitness centre, tour or ticket assistance, and multilingual staff are also featured at the business-friendly Hotel Pennsylvania. For a fee, parking is available. This New York hotel is smoke free.

  • 1705 guestrooms or units
  • 26 levels
  • Dining venue
  • Coffee shop
  • Business centre (24 hours)
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Staff members are multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Gift shop
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • On-site shopping
  • Bellhop
  • Lift
  • No smoking on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: WiFi (surcharge)

Parking

Valet parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Newark, NJ (EWR-Liberty Intl.) (27.4 km / 17 mi)
  • Train station: New York W 32nd St. Station (0.3 km / 0.2 mi)
  • Metro station: 34 St. - Penn Station (Fashion Av.) (0.2 km / 0.1 mi)
  • Parking: Valet parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Hotel Pennsylvania offers 1705 forms of air-conditioned accommodation with a hairdryer and an iron/ironing board. Televisions come with premium cable channels. Bathrooms include a combined bath/shower unit and complimentary toiletries. This New York hotel provides wireless Internet access for a surcharge. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • Television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hairdryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a buffet breakfast daily.

Statler Grill – This restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

City Perk – This café only serves light fare. Open 24 hours.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include a fitness centre.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on-site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Hiking/biking trails nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • In-room accessibility