Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"Sadly nothing special. Had massive problems with the staff over charging my card. The stay was prepaid via ebookers but the check in staff charged th ... " More

By a verified traveller on Fri 13 Dec 2019

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Our customers tell us that they can't get enough of the great public transport around The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City. During your stay, you're just a quick walk from 5th Avenue. 3 restaurants, a 24-hour health club and a business centre are available. Each room includes amenities such as a pillowtop bed and a flat-screen TV.

  • Air-conditioned rooms with pillowtop beds, flat-screen TVs and premium bedding
  • Enjoy a bite to eat at one of the 3 restaurants
  • Full breakfast served daily for a fee
  • WiFi for a fee
  • Valet parking available for a fee
  • Services include dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services and a porter
  • On-site recreation includes a 24-hour health club
  • Guests speak favourably about the central location and the proximity to shopping
  • Steps from 5th Avenue and 4 minutes on foot from Grand Central Terminal

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Cozy)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
£61* Per night/room 2 Mar - 3 Mar

Junior Suite, 1 Queen Bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Suite, 1 Bedroom

Bed Count 2 Double Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Deluxe Room, 2 Double Beds

Bed Count 2 Double Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Suite (Madison)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City ratings based on 103 verified reviews

Review Summary
3.2 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City

Everyone (78) Couples (5) Family (11)
3 out of 5

Posted by on 27 Jan 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
Sadly nothing special. Had massive problems with the staff over charging my card. The stay was prepaid via ebookers but the check in staff charged the stay again to my card as well as an "incidentals" cover. When trying to refund they charged it again, despite not having my card in their hand or my permission. They blocked out all the funds on my Revolut card, with their constant mistakes and unapproved charges. Management kept promising it would be fixed, and it was eventually but I didnt get all the funds back for around 3 days after I'd left the property. Would I go back? No. Why not? Hotel is nothing special, staff not overly interested in the impact their errors caused. They talked the talk, but didnt walk the walk. I dont mind things going wrong - it happens but the measure is how it's fixed and this wasnt fixed well enough.

Posted by , from Sofia on 13 Dec 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

28 Dec 2019 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Dear Steve, Thank you for sharing your comments. We are sorry to hear your stay fell short in meeting your expectatiosn. I cannot speak as to why your card was charged, but if not correct, we apologize. Even if we initiate the return of funds right away, the transaction is often delayed by the bank/credit card issuer. Please know your comments will be shared with our management in our continual effort to improve guest satisfaction.

3 out of 5
wifi is so bad... bathroom is not really clean! otherwise it’s ok for staying 2 nights here

Posted by on 27 Nov 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

27 Nov 2019 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Good and bad, we appreciate hearing both in our continual effort to improve guest satisfaction.

2 out of 5
The hotel outside and lobby is very impressive. Unfortunately it seems the rooms haven’t been updated since the hotel was built. Our room was extremely poor so much so I wanted to leave within hours of being at the hotel. My wife convinced me otherwise. I requested an upgrade to see if that room would be any better, obviously with a fee which we were happy to pay, the upgrade room was even worse and the employee who served us on reception was rude and had extremely poor customer service. I asked one more time for an upgrade to a suite, this time to another receptionist and provided her photos of damaged parts of our room along with another complaint of no hot water, we were shown a site, it was shocking, but better than what we currently had. We agreed an upgrade fee of $100 or night for the remainder of out stay, and agreed to move out things when we got back from our dinner reservation. Upon returning this fee had gone up to $150 or night plus tax. Upon complaining to the manager we were told this is the fee, even though we had signed paperwork agreeing to the lower charge. If I cold have found another hotel for the remaining night I would have left there and then but unfortunately I couldn’t locate one with consecutive nights. What a fantastic start to our honeymoon. The hotel completely ruined it.

Posted by on 22 Nov 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
I like the old world style of the property. However, it is in need of refurbishment. The heater in the room I stayed in was extremely noisy but it worked which was the main thing. The main light in the room was constantly buzzing. The best way to describe the room was 'tired'. Having said that, it was very clean and the beds were nice and comfy.

Posted by on 21 Nov 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

21 Nov 2019 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are happy to share that we do have plans for a guest room renovation in the near future which will be a great update and enhancement to the hotel. We hope on a future visit to NYC, we'll have the opportunity to host you again!

4 out of 5

Posted by on 5 Nov 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Nov 2019 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate guest insight in our continual effort to improve the hotel experience. We hope to host you again in the future!

4 out of 5
Nice hotel with beautiful lobby. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. No tea or coffee facilities in the room which was a real disappointment for me. The bathroom was clean but needs refurbishment as old and in need of attention. Staff were helpful and friendly. Fantastic location in the city.

Posted by on 28 Sep 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Sep 2019 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed much about your stay with us. We do have plans for a guest room renovation in the near future which will be a great update to the hotel. We hope on a future visit to NYC, we'll have the pleasure to host you again!

1 out of 5

Posted by on 18 Jul 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Jul 2019 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Thanks for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Please know your feedback will be shared with our management in our continual effort to improve guest satisfaction.

5 out of 5
Staff were friendly and very helpful, comfy beds and great air conditioning!

Posted by on 12 Jul 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Jul 2019 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Thank you for sharing your perfect review. We are glad you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

1 out of 5
Not only did we end up paying more than what we was told on ebookers, As soon as we walked into the room it smelt really bad, the toilet seat hadn’t been changed in years. The whole room needs an upgrade, the price I payed and for what I got I was very disappointed, i wouldn’t recommend to anyone.

Posted by on 25 Jun 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

28 Jun 2019 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry you had such a poor stay. We do have plans for a guest room update in the near future which will be a great refresh to the rooms and address the issues you experienced.

About the The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City

Location 45 E 45th Street, New York, NY 10017

Property Features

There are 3 restaurants on site. WiFi is available in public spaces for a fee. You'll find a business centre on site. Event space at this hotel measures 29999 square feet (2787 square metres) and includes conference rooms. A 24-hour health club, a rooftop terrace, and multilingual staff are also featured at the business-friendly The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City. For a fee, parking is available. This 4-star New York hotel is smoke free.

  • 3 dining venues
  • 29999 sq ft of conference space
  • 2787 sq. m of conference space
  • Terrace on the roof
  • Business facilities
  • Conference space
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Staff members are multilingual
  • Front desk safe
  • Concierge
  • Beauty salon
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • ATM
  • Bellhop
  • No smoking on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: WiFi (surcharge)

Parking

Valet parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: New York, NY (LGA-LaGuardia) (14.7 km / 9.1 mi)
  • Train station: New York Grand Central Terminal Station (1.1 km / 0.7 mi)
  • Metro station: Grand Central - 42 St. Station (0.4 km / 0.3 mi)
  • Parking: Valet parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Air-conditioned accommodation at The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City offers a safe and blackout curtains. Pillowtop beds feature premium bedding. Flat-screen televisions come with premium cable channels and pay-per-view films. Bathrooms include a combined bath/shower unit. In-room wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge. Housekeeping is offered on a daily basis and fridges can be requested.

  • Pillowtop beds
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Films for purchase
  • Fridge available
  • Luxury bedding
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cots available
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Safe
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a full breakfast daily from 6:30 AM to 11:00 AM.

The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City has 3 restaurants on site.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include a 24-hour health club.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on-site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Hiking/biking trails nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.

  • Wheelchair-accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • In-room accessibility
  • Assistive listening devices available
  • Braille or raised signage

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children 17 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 35.00 per night.
  • Cots (infant beds) are available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

This property will place an authorization at check-in for the entire length of stay and incidental charges for any bookings where payment for the stay will be made on site instead of at the time of booking. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • Only service animals are allowed
  • Debit cards not accepted

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 50.00 per day
  • Resort fee: USD 40.16 per accommodation, per night

The resort fee includes:

  • Fitness centre access
  • Internet access
  • Phone calls
  • Additional inclusions

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for full breakfast: USD 28 per person (approximately)
  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: USD 19.95 per night (rates may vary)
  • Fee for wireless Internet in public areas: USD 19.95 per night (rates may vary)
  • Valet parking fee: USD 72 per day
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 35.00 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Hotel Roosevelt
  • Hotel Roosevelt New York City
  • New York City Roosevelt Hotel
  • Roosevelt Hotel City
  • Roosevelt Hotel New York City
  • Roosevelt New York City
  • Roosevelt New York City Hotel
  • Roosevelt Hotel
  • The Roosevelt Hotel, York City
  • The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City Hotel
  • The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City New York
  • The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City Hotel New York

You should know

  • Children 17 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.
url importing https://www.ebookers.com/New-York-Hotels-The-Roosevelt-Hotel,-New-York-City.h41864-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.