Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.3 out of 5

"Short and sweet nice breakfast. Tom's large and airey. Will stay there again. Was a good location for the ferry port. " More

By a verified traveller on Thu 29 Mar 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

The spacious rooms at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North get good marks from our customers. During your stay, you'll be within walking distance of Farlington Marshes. Free breakfast, free WiFi in public areas and free self-parking are available. This 3.5-star hotel has 150 rooms over 2 floors. Free WiFi and flat-screen TVs are available in all rooms.

  • Air-conditioned rooms with flat-screen TVs, electric kettles and fans
  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast served daily
  • Free WiFi
  • Free self-parking
  • Grab something to eat at the restaurant or stop for a drink at the bar/lounge
  • Amenities include free newspapers in the lobby, a front-desk safe and 3 meeting rooms
  • Guests like the accommodation for the comfy beds, spaciousness and overall comfort
  • 8 minutes by car from Gunwharf Quays and 8 minutes from Portsmouth Guildhall
  • Dogs welcome for a fee

Room, 2 Single Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Single Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
£31* Per night/room 10 Nov - 11 Nov

Room, 2 Single Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking (Wheelchair)

Bed Count 2 Single Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room, 1 Double Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room, 1 Double Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Family Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Double Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North ratings based on 15 verified reviews

Review Summary
4.3 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North

Everyone (10) Couples (2) Business (1) Family (2)
5 out of 5
The room was clean and tidy. The staff were freindly and helpful.

Posted by on 22 Sep 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Oct 2019 by Jessica

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel, we are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay here with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Many thanks Jessica

5 out of 5
We found it very easy to find, the hotel has plenty of parking spaces, was very clean and modern.

Posted by on 20 Aug 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

21 Aug 2019 by jess

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel, we are pleased to see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay here with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Many thanks Jessica

5 out of 5

Posted by on 30 Jun 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Staff friendly and happy to help.clean and tidy.good location

Posted by , from Newport on 19 Feb 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Mar 2019 by Jessica

Dear Gaynor, Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel, its great to see you enjoyed your stay here with us, we hope to welcome you back on your next return to Portsmouth. Many thanks Jessica

4 out of 5
Could hear the traffic in my room and people walking/talking in the passages woke me up. Also, the glass I picked up at the breakfast buffet was dirty. On a positive note - the staff were friendly and efficient and the overall presentation of the hotel was smart and tasteful. Thank you.

Posted by on 10 Feb 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Feb 2019 by jess

Dear guest thank you for taking your time to review our hotel, we are pleased to see you found our staff friendly and you liked the overall presentation, i will be sure to pass your other comment onto the breakfast team, we hope to welcome you back on your next return to Portsmouth. Many thanks Jessica

3 out of 5
It was advertised with a swimming pool via the Internet site, which was really upsetting for my children when we tried to sort it out, using "Resolver" I felt that it was really mean spirited, as all the girls really wanted & needed was a quick swim before & or after the Great South run, which they completed, to soften up their muscles. We were offered the opportunity to swim where we paid to park the car at the Holiday Inn near the run in Portsmouth, but there was a charge of £34 for a swim!!!! Shame on you. We haven't had a holiday for such a long time and that spoilt it. Other than that the staff & facilities were fine. The motorway noise was a problem as I sleep with the window open usually.

Posted by , from Kent on 23 Oct 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

8 Nov 2018 by jd

Dear Sus, Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel, Apologies with the slight confusion you had regards to a swimming pool, no holiday inn express's have swimming pools i can only imagine you may have looked at The Holiday inn?, we are all separate franchise's so i am unsure as to why our website would state a pool i will look into this, we hope this does not stop you returning in the near future. Many thanks Jessica

5 out of 5
Short and sweet nice breakfast. Tom's large and airey. Will stay there again. Was a good location for the ferry port.

Posted by on 29 Mar 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Lovely stay

Pros: The comfort of the bed. The 'newness' of the room and hotel.
Cons: There was a table in the room but not sure why as there was no chair, so maybe a chair would be nice. Also the bedside tables were tiny
Location: No restaurants within walking distance unfortunately, but the location to the motorway and university were perfect for us.
My Daughter and I were visiting the University so decided to stay here based on the price and the reviews. We were not disappointed. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were comfortable and spacious. The shower was LOVELY. All in all a great stay and only 10 min drive from University. My Daughter is an insomniac and she said it was the best nights sleep she had had in ages. Unfortunately we were abruptly awoken by a fire alarm at 6.45am, which was ear shattering but apart from that we had a really good stay and would definitely stay again.

Posted by , from Essex, UK on 1 Feb 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Vacant reception

Very modern and clean and comfortable. Only minus point was that the reception was often vacant.

Posted by on 14 Nov 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Nov 2017 by Chelcei

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth North. Im pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. I will pass on your comments about reception to my manager. We hope to see you again. Thank You

4 out of 5

Location.

Pros: Location
Cons: Easy to miss the entrance when driving.
Location: Business trip so not relevant.
Good location for my needs. Clean and tidy, food was good quality.

Posted by , from Chester on 22 Dec 2016

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North

Location Eastern Road, Portsmouth, England PO6 1UN

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Free breakfast is served daily. Public spaces have free WiFi. There are 3 meeting rooms available. The business-friendly Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North also features a terrace, coffee/tea in common area, and complimentary newspapers in the lobby. Free self parking is available. A complete renovation of Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North was completed in February 2016. This 3.5-star Portsmouth hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 150 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • Breakfast available (free)
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Front desk safe
  • Terrace
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • No smoking on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Southampton (SOU) (31.1 km / 19.4 mi)
  • Train station: Portsmouth Hilsea Station (2.4 km / 1.5 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North offers 150 forms of air-conditioned accommodation with a hairdryer and an iron/ironing board. Flat-screen televisions are featured in guestrooms. Bathrooms include a shower and complimentary toiletries. This Portsmouth hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and telephones. Additionally, rooms include fans and blackout curtains. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • Flat-screen television
  • Electric kettle
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hairdryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Air conditioning
  • Fan
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Guests are served a free hot/cold buffet breakfast on weekdays from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM and at the weekend from 7 AM to 10:30 AM.

Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North has a restaurant on site.

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Wheelchair-accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair-accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.

Pets

  • Pets: GBP 10 per pet, per night
  • Only dogs are allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • Only service animals are allowed
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • No rollaway/extra beds available

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Pet fee: GBP 10 per pet, per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Hilton Hotel Portsmouth
  • Hilton Portsmouth
  • Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth North Hotel
  • Hotel Hilton Portsmouth
  • Portsmouth Hilton
  • Portsmouth Hilton Hotel
  • Homewood Portsmouth
  • Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
  • Homewood Suites Portsmouth
  • Portsmouth Homewood Suites
  • Portsmouth Park Hotel
  • Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth North
  • Express Portsmouth Portsmouth
  • Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North Hotel
  • Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North Portsmouth
  • Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North Hotel Portsmouth
url importing https://www.ebookers.com/Portsmouth-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-Portsmouth---North.h21982-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.