Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"Overall satisfied, slightly annoying they didn't have a keycard for me but more than helpful to find a solution and from the moment I arrived helped m ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 06 Oct 2019

Enter dates to see availability

Select your room to view prices

Double Room (Small)

Bed Count 1 Twin Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
£31* Per night/room 1 Apr - 2 Apr

Panoramic Room, 1 King Bed, Sea View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Family Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Double Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Quadruple Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Twin Room

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Hotel Description

Our customers tell us that they enjoy the helpful staff at The Mount Rooms. During your stay, you're just a quick walk from Porthkerry Country Park. You'll find features such as free WiFi in public areas and free self-parking, plus a restaurant. This 4-star hotel has 44 rooms over 2 floors. Enjoy your stay with amenities like free WiFi and a flat-screen TV in each room.

  • All rooms offer flat-screen TVs, electric kettles and free toiletries
  • Free WiFi
  • Free self-parking
  • Options for a bite to eat or a relaxing drink include a restaurant, a coffee shop and a bar/lounge
  • Continental breakfast served daily for a fee
  • Services include concierge services, luggage storage and wedding services
  • On-site recreation includes a fitness centre and aerobics classes
  • Guests speak favourably about the restaurant and the value of their stay
  • Just a 5-minute drive from Barry Island Pleasure Park and 8 minutes from Barry Island Beach

The Mount Rooms ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
2.9 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for The Mount Rooms

Everyone (7)
1 out of 5

Posted by on 14 Sep 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Sep 2020 by Mount Rooms Hotel

Hi there! Thank you for the feedback! Kind Regards, Mount Rooms Hotel

4 out of 5
Overall satisfied, slightly annoying they didn't have a keycard for me but more than helpful to find a solution and from the moment I arrived helped me the best they could. Parking is horrendous but again can't helped. The staff went beyond their duty to help which is great.

Posted by on 6 Oct 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Oct 2019 by Mount Rooms Hotel

Firstly, we at here at the Mount Rooms are so happy to hear that the staff went out of there way to help you, we like to make sure our guests are satisfied. We can only apologise enough for the small car park and hope this does not put you off booking in the near future. Kind Regards

5 out of 5

3 night stay

The hotel was much better than I expected for the price. Room was a single but it was really a small double. Bathroom was clean and the shower was powerful. Looks like the hotel had recently been refurbished. Didn't eat at the hotel or use the gym/spa so can't comment on that Would definitely stay again

Posted by , from Liverpool on 20 Jan 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

24 Jan 2018 by The Mount Rooms

Good Morning, Thank you for choosing to stay here with us at The Mount Rooms Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards,The Mount Rooms

1 out of 5
Disappointing my room was not cleaned and also in one occasion was just bundled up in a dump and a cold room. It use to a good place to book but things are slipping. managers open your eyes and do something about it. it can but a good hotel if workers work are inspected properly.

Posted by , from Cardiff on 11 Jan 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Jan 2018 by The Mount Rooms

Good Afternoon, Thank you for choosing to stay here with us at The Mount Rooms Hotel. We apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and will be sure to look into the issues you have noted. Kind Regards, The Mount Rooms

1 out of 5

Noisy, cold, no hot water, rude staff!!

Greeted by rude staff! No facilities in site! Dirty and dusty. Room was cold, dirty, no hot water. Parking awful

Posted by , from somerset on 7 Jan 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Jan 2018 by The Mount Rooms

Good Morning Dolly, Thank you for choosing to stay here with us at The Mount Rooms Hotel. We apologise that you had a bad experience with our staff and were not happy with the cleanliness and facilities provided. We will be sure to look into the issues you have noted and will try our best to improve. Once again we apologise and we would hope to see you again in the future. Regards, The Mount Rooms

5 out of 5

Nice Hotel

Great experience and will recommendation it friends

Posted by , from Southam. on 26 Nov 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Nov 2017 by The Mount Rooms

Thank you for taking the time to give us feed back

3 out of 5

Nice hotel close to the airport

Small and friendly hotel, comfortable rooms and helpful staff. Could not be fault our stay. Close to the airport.

Posted by , from South Wales on 23 Sep 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

26 Sep 2017 by Georgia

Good afternoon, Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Mount Rooms hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would hope to see you again. Regards, The Mount Rooms

3 out of 5

Comfortable but basic

Arrived late as previously advised but did not exactly have a welcoming response from the night shift member of staff. No breakfast included so the hotels cafe is an option but didn't use this facility. OK for one night but wouldn't wish to stay for any longer. Comfortable and clean but basic which was reflected in their price. Close to Barry rail station and sea front.

Posted by on 18 Jul 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Aug 2017 by Taraya

Hello Karen, We deeply apologise for the factors which were negative on your experience with us, and hope we can strive to improve these for the future. Thank you for your feedback and staying with us at The Mount Rooms. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, The Mount Rooms

Renovations + Closures

This property is closed from 1 February 2021 to 22 February 2021 (dates subject to change).

Property Features

Along with a restaurant, there's a coffee shop/café on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. WiFi is free in public spaces. Event space at this hotel measures 532 square feet (49 square metres) and includes conference rooms. The business-friendly The Mount Rooms also features a fitness centre, a garden, and concierge services. Limited free parking is available on a first-come, first-served basis. A complete renovation of The Mount Rooms was completed in January 2017. This 4-star Barry hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 44 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • 532 sq ft of conference space
  • 49 sq. m of conference space
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Garden
  • Lift
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Soundproofed rooms

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , Limited onsite parking , Free parking nearby

Transport

  • Airport: Cardiff International Airport (CWL) (4.8 km / 3 mi)
  • Train station: Barry Station (0.3 km / 0.2 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

The Mount Rooms offers 44 forms of accommodation with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Flat-screen televisions come with digital channels. Guests can surf the web using complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is offered on a daily basis and an iron/ironing board can be requested.

  • Flat-screen television
  • Digital channels
  • Electric kettle
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hairdryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board available
  • Desk
  • Sound-insulated rooms
  • Heating
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Wheelchair accessible

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a continental breakfast daily from 8:30 AM to 10:30 AM.

The Mount Rooms has a restaurant on site.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include a fitness centre.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on-site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Fitness classes on site

Accessibility

If you have any requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 11 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cots (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property accepts credit cards; cash is not accepted

Safety features at this property include carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector and a first aid kit

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts credit cards. Cash is not accepted. For guests' safety, the property includes carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector and a first aid kit in all accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; guests are provided with hand sanitiser.

  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wear personal protective equipment
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Protective clothing is not available for guests
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for continental breakfast: GBP 6.95 per person (approximately)
  • Facilities fee: GBP 5 per person, per day and includes use of: sauna; fitness facilities

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Mount Rooms Hotel Barry
  • Mount Rooms Barry
  • Mount Rooms
  • The Mount Rooms Hotel
  • The Mount Rooms Barry
  • The Mount Rooms Hotel Barry
url importing http://www.ebookers.com/Cardiff-Hotels-The-Mount-Rooms.h16621508-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Cardiff-Hotels-The-Mount-Rooms.h16621508-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.ebookers.com/Cardiff-Hotels-The-Mount-Rooms.h16621508-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.