Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"Really a small double room. No fridge in the room " More

By a verified traveller on Wed 24 Jul 2019

Enter dates to see availability

Select your room to view prices

Compact Double Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
£81* Per night/room 6 Jun - 7 Jun

Family Room, Connecting Rooms (with Air Conditioning)

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Double Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Superior Family Room (2adults + 1 children) with Air Conditioning

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Single Room

Bed Count 1 Twin Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Superior Double or Twin Room (with Air Conditioning)

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Hotel Description

The Durley Dean Hotel's great location gets high marks from our customers. During your stay, you're just a quick walk from Bournemouth Beach. Features include free WiFi in public areas, plus a full-service spa and an indoor pool. Built in 1880, this 4-star hotel has 115 rooms over 5 floors. All rooms offer free WiFi and flat-screen TVs.

  • All rooms offer 24-hour room service, flat-screen TVs and coffee/tea makers
  • Free WiFi
  • Enjoy British cuisine while dining at No. 28
  • Buffet breakfast served daily for a fee
  • Self-parking available for a fee
  • Take a swim in the indoor pool
  • Indulge with manicures and pedicures, Swedish massages or body treatments at Beauty Spa
  • Services include dry cleaning/laundry, a porter and luggage storage
  • On-site recreation includes a fitness centre, a steam room and a sauna
  • Guests have great things to say about the location and the breakfast
  • Within a 10-minute walk of Bournemouth Beach and Bournemouth International Centre
  • Dogs welcome for a fee (restrictions apply)

The Durley Dean Hotel ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.6 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for The Durley Dean Hotel

Everyone (11) Couples (1)
1 out of 5
Absolutely terrible place to stay ! Reception staff useless she didn’t know a great deal about anything . Room not as expected . 2 nights of no sleep for two of us both in separate rooms. The noise from the creeping floors was ridiculous.They moved us to a top floor with a better room the type I was expecting . I was horrified before this to see linen placed all along the landings outside rooms on the carpet with no protection round it whatsoever! I can’t believe on any level how anyone could think his to be acceptable . In leaving we informed the manager about he linen she didn’t seem to understand the point and seemed baffled as to what we were trying to say. Then told us to take it up with the director . On returning home I got in touch with the director he assured me the linen situation had been rectified , however I doubt it now agreed it next hideous experience . He offered us £85 each refund or two free nights each . We took him up on the two free nights and we’re happy to pay for a third night each . On speaking to someone there called Jenifer to book the third night , I informed her I’d look up on line the prices to see if I could get a better eye than she gave me. She said that’s fine just get back to me. I then received A shocking email that is too long to post not basically withdrawing his offer of two nights Free as apparently I’d been ride to Jennifer when I have a witness to say otherwise and going on to accuse me of being out of balance ?!

Posted by , from U.K. on 6 Oct 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Oct 2020 by Durley Dean Hotel

Thank you for your review. As you stated you did raise some concerns with me and as you stated I offered you a return visit or a cash refund against your stay. As you stated, during the course of the booking process we felt a complimentary stay was inappropriate and was not being accepted in good faith. I am sure most readers will agree that we would not have just withdrawn this without just cause. I will not tolerate my staff being referred to as “crackpots” or psychos” under any circumstances.

4 out of 5
Really a small double room. No fridge in the room

Posted by on 24 Jul 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Really friendly staff (reception and restaurant). My single room on the second floor was clean with a limited sea view. Dinner in the restaurant had a level of service well above my expectation for a seaside resort hotel. Thank you!

Posted by on 15 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Good Leisyre facilities. Room was good for the price paid.

Posted by on 19 Jan 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
nice hotel close to the beach good walks from the hotel near to the town centre

Posted by on 11 Jan 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
We booked two standard double rooms at an extra costs and strongly stated hotel reception staff on check in that we were allocated a compact room school was cheaper and very small so much so to walk past the end of the bed to bathroom you had to be very careful that you didn't hit your head on the TV which was hanging off the wall. The carpets were very badly stained as though they had a flood. There was no ventilation/ window in the very small and basic toilet shower room. So disappointed. Booked this hotel as we had tickets to the evening Pantomine

Posted by on 31 Dec 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Pleasant hotel good location.

Hotel accommodation was good. Car parking is a major issue I had to park two streets away not ideal only negative about my stay.

Posted by , from West Midlands on 22 Dec 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

spotlessly clean good breakfast but just too hot!!

Pros: upkeep and décor nice to have a pot of tea at breakfast
Cons: turn heat down larger bathrooms
Location: close to beach and all activities
our room was on front so very noisey. staff not too friendly a bit sharp at times

Posted by , from b'ham on 20 Oct 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Okay for the price

Be warned if staying in summer as the rooms are extremely small and stuffy with no air con, which makes for an uncomfortable nights sleep. Our room had stains on the window which looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while due to the huge cobweb. The cups were also dirty. The pool is great as long as there are only two of you in there, any more and it becomes overcrowded which could explain the murky water. On the plus, the reception staff are very friendly.

Posted by , from Devon on 25 Aug 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Durley dean

Hotel pleasant. Although I booked two nights in advance I was rang up during seaside outting asking to call hotel back as they only had me written in for one night, panicked I might loose my room i left trip early where staff confronted me, matter cleared up by proving I had paid two nights. Inext morning was woken early by knocking on my door from room service who hadn't been obviously notified I was staying till checkout to.spoke to managers about the harassed situation who said they would contact me as soon as they had sorted there end out.'still waiting durley dean."poor costumer service.apology would have been ok for the cutting short an expensive trip and and holiday lie in that was looked forward too. ( that did not happen).They need to communicate to one another which will make a smoothly run hotel also manager and staff very blase, will be spending my money in another hotel next year.

Posted by , from oxford on 23 Aug 2017

Was this review helpful to you?

Renovations + Closures

This property is closed from 31 March 2021 to 16 May 2021 (dates subject to change).

Property Features

The Durley Dean Hotel offers its guests a full-service spa, an indoor pool, and a sauna. There's a restaurant on site, as well as a coffee shop/café and a snack bar/deli. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Public spaces have free WiFi. You'll find a business centre on site. A fitness centre, multilingual staff, and laundry facilities are also featured at the business-friendly The Durley Dean Hotel. Limited parking is available for a fee and is offered on a first-come, first-served basis. This Victorian Bournemouth hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 115 guestrooms or units
  • 5 levels
  • Built in 1880
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Deli
  • Business facilities
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff members are multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front desk safe
  • Wedding services available
  • Bellhop
  • Lift
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Indoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Laundry facilities

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge) , Limited onsite parking

Transport

  • Airport: Bournemouth (BOH-Bournemouth Intl.) (11 km / 6.8 mi)
  • Train station: Bournemouth Station (3.3 km / 2.1 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

The Durley Dean Hotel offers 115 forms of accommodation with coffee/tea makers and a hairdryer. Flat-screen televisions come with digital channels. Bathrooms include baths or showers and complimentary toiletries. Guests can surf the web using complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and telephones. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • In-room dining (24 hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Digital channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Bath or shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hairdryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy buffet breakfast on weekdays from 7:30 AM to 10:00 AM and at the weekend from 8:00 AM to 10:00 AM.

No. 28 – This restaurant specialises in British cuisine and serves breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar. Reservations are required.

24-hour room service is available.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include an indoor pool, a sauna and a fitness centre.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on-site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Bicycle rentals nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Golfing nearby

Spa Services

Beauty Spa has 2 treatment rooms. Services include deep-tissue massages, hot stone massages, Swedish massages and facials. The spa is equipped with a sauna and a steam room.

The spa is open daily.

  • Hot stone massage
  • Deep tissue massage
  • Swedish massage
  • Sauna in spa
  • Number of treatment rooms 2
  • Steam room in spa
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Body treatments
  • Body wraps
  • Facial treatments
  • Massages

Accessibility

If you have any requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Wheelchair-accessible on-site restaurant
  • Wheelchair-accessible lounge
  • Wheelchair-accessible registration desk
  • Wheelchair-accessible parking
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Due to COVID-19, pool access is limited to 6 guests at a time for maximum 1 hour. Pool reservations are required (subject to availability).

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! One child 16 years old or younger stays free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.

Pet Policy

  • Pets: GBP 10.00 per pet, per night
  • Only dogs are allowed
  • Maximum 1 per room
  • Restrictions apply
  • For more information, you can reach out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property accepts credit cards; cash is not accepted

Parties and events are allowed on site

Safety features at this property include a carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, a security system and a first aid kit

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts credit cards. Cash is not accepted. Parties and events are allowed on site. For guests' safety, the property includes a carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, a security system and a first aid kit in all accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Personal protective equipment, including masks, will be available to guests. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; guests are provided with hand sanitiser; reservations are required for some on-site facilities. Contactless check-in and contactless checkout are available. Individually wrapped food options are available for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and also through room service. This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of Safe Travels (WTTC - Global).

  • One child stays free
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Reservation might be required for some facilities on site
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wear personal protective equipment
  • Security system
  • Protective clothing is available for guests
  • Masks are available for guests
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Property follows sanitisation practices of Safe Travels (WTTC - Global)
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Staffed front desk
  • Events/parties allowed
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually wrapped food options are available
  • Individually wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Individually wrapped food options are available for lunch
  • Individually wrapped food options are available for dinner
  • Individually wrapped food options are available through room service
  • No gap period between guests' stays

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for buffet breakfast: GBP 14.95 per person (approximately)
  • Self-parking fee: GBP 15.00 per night
  • Pet fee: GBP 10.00 per pet, per night
  • Pool fee: GBP 20.00 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Durley Dean
  • Durley Dean Bournemouth
  • Durley Dean Hotel
  • Durley Dean Hotel Bournemouth
  • Durley Hotel
  • The Durley Dean Hotel Hotel
  • Durley Dean Hotel Bournemouth
  • Durley Dean Hotel
  • Durley Dean Bournemouth
  • Durley Dean
  • Hotel The Durley Dean Hotel Bournemouth
  • Bournemouth The Durley Dean Hotel Hotel
  • Hotel The Durley Dean Hotel
  • The Durley Dean Hotel Bournemouth
  • The Durley Dean Hotel Bournemouth
  • The Durley Dean Hotel Hotel Bournemouth

You should know

  • Please note that this property can refuse certain bookings for the purpose of group events or parties, which include pre-wedding stag/bachelor and hen/bachelorette parties.
  • Reservations are needed for massage services and spa treatments. For reservations, contact the hotel before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • One child aged 16 years old or younger stays free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.
  • Certain facilities might have restricted access. For details, you can contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation.
  • To make arrangements to bring your pet, contact the property directly at the number on your booking confirmation (please see the Fees section for related charges).
url importing http://www.ebookers.com/Bournemouth-Hotels-The-Durley-Dean-Hotel.h1170728-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Bournemouth-Hotels-The-Durley-Dean-Hotel.h1170728-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.ebookers.com/Bournemouth-Hotels-The-Durley-Dean-Hotel.h1170728-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.