"This hotel is cheap and cheerful but has everything you need and is close to town. " More

By a verified traveller on Fri 14 Jul 2017

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

The breakfast at ibis budget Southampton Centre gets good marks from our customers. During your stay, you're just a quick walk from Mayflower Theatre. Features include free WiFi in public areas, plus a coffee shop/café and a 24-hour business centre. This 2.5-star hotel has 124 rooms. Enjoy your stay with amenities like free WiFi and a flat-screen TV in each room.

  • Air-conditioned rooms with flat-screen TVs, desks and showers
  • Free WiFi
  • Enjoy a bite to eat at the coffee shop/café
  • Buffet breakfast served daily for a fee
  • Self-parking available for a fee
  • Amenities include free newspapers in the lobby, a front-desk safe and a 24-hour business centre
  • Guests speak favourably about the comfortable guestrooms and the proximity to shopping
  • Within a 15-minute walk of Southampton Cruise Terminal and Mayflower Theatre
  • Pets welcome for a fee (restrictions apply)

Standard Room

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
£40 per night

Classic Room

Bed Count 1 Double Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

ibis budget Southampton Centre ratings based on 16 verified reviews

Review Summary
2.9 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for ibis budget Southampton Centre

Everyone (16)
4 out of 5

Posted by on 13 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 May 2019 by reception


5 out of 5
Does what it says budget hotel clean room continental breakfast.friendly staff, ear plugs available because next to busy road, did not need ear ugs very wuiet night comfortable bed

Posted by , from Brighton on 9 Sep 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Sep 2018 by Onder

Dear Shaz, Thank you for taking time to give us feedback regarding your stay. I am happy to see that you were satisfied with your stay and thank you for your kind comments about the staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind Regards Onder Cimen General Manager

3 out of 5
Next door to a fast food out let very disturbed night due to late night noise which lasted until 04.00

Posted by , from Cardiff on 9 Sep 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Sep 2018 by Onder

Dear Robert, Thank you for taking time to give us feedback. I am sorry to see that your stay did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your comments and please rest assure that we are taking necessary precautions to avoid this to reoccur. We are in touch with the local authorities to minimise the disturbance. Once again, thank you and we hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind Regards Onder Cimen General Manager

3 out of 5
Central port location . A bit on the pricey side considering the room is like being in a caravan. No tea making facilities. But a good experience. Breakfast was very good and staff on breakfast were very helpful. The hotel accepts dogs which was good for me but not for everyone.

Posted by on 1 Aug 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Basic Hotel

Pros: The shower was really good
Cons: The issue with McDonald needs to be sorted
As expected a basic hotel but unfortunately the room was to hot and couldn't cool it down as the air con unit was not up to the task. Had to leave the window open but was woken up by a lot of noise from a group of people at the McDonald at the back of the building. I spoke to McDonald the next day who said security should have moved the group of people on and when I reported it to the reception they said this was an ongoing issue with McDonald's and they had been talking to them about it for a while. Not the hotels fault but still an issue that needs dealing with

Posted by on 23 May 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 May 2018 by Onder

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to give us feedback regarding your stay and I am sorry to see that you were not satisfied with your stay. I am sorry to see that your stay was disturb by noise coming from outside. We are trying our best to reduce the noise level however as you would appreciate, we do not have much control over the noise coming from out side. For your future visit, we offer complimentary ear plugs at reception on request. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind Regards Onder Cimen General Manager

1 out of 5


I am sure this is what staying in a prison cell is like

Posted by on 2 Mar 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5

Please do not book this “Youth Hostel”

I checked in and left immediately!! I was mortified that I’d booked such an awful place. This is not a hotel and is not suitable to be advertised on Ebookers in my opinion. The room was dirty, damp and freezing cold. I was charged £7 for the car park even though I was only there all of 5 minutes. This is the worst excuse for a hotel. Appalling.

Posted by , from Putney london on 11 Jan 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5

Cheap hotel with lots of problems

This is a cheap hotel in a great location however the room in genreal isn't tidy the remote control for the tv looked like it had never been cleaned the bed was not made properly as the sheets were hanging off so I had to make the main bed up again myself . The bed is really hard and not comfitable and thier was ants in the sink and human hair in both the main bed and upper bunk bed. Also the shower had a hole in the door so anyone staying in the room with you can see straight thru the door into the shower. It was frustrating that it had an aircon unit installed that you can't even turn on atall. They gave me a fan to replace this which was really noisy and didn't even blow much air. So if you want somewhere cheap in a good location and you don't care about anything apart from having a bed to sleep in then this is great.

Posted by , from from south London on 18 Jul 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Great cheap hotel

Pros: Price
Cons: Shampoo and shower gel in rooms
Location: Very close to Southampton City Center and the docks
This hotel is cheap and cheerful but has everything you need and is close to town.

Posted by , from Devon on 14 Jul 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Pleasantly Surprised ( rarity nowadays !)

Pros: seriously, everything . ideal for a short stop off .
Cons: the weather . poured .
Location: stranger to Southampton , very short visit , literally " in & out" so can't really comment .
I arrived at Southampton Ibis Budget for a very short stay, not too sure just how "budget" this Hotel would actually be . Within the first few moments, my concerns had been suitably allayed . Plenty of spacious car parking slots . The Hotel itself was light, clean & roomy with a prompt and pleasant welcome at Reception. The main item , my room , proved to be more than just adequate . Bright & airy, nicely decorated and well appointed, the bed was very comfortable, tv & radio both worked (!), the shower functioned simply and effectively (no scalds / freezes) with plenty of elbow room . Separate toilet area . Separate hand/wash basin . Free coffee (delicious) and fruit juice downstairs in the lounge area with snack style foods available to purchase . McD & TGIF within a few minutes walk if required . Bottom line , Highly Impressed !

Posted by , from Southend on 13 Jul 2017

Was this review helpful to you?

About the ibis budget Southampton Centre

Location West Quay Road, Southampton, England SO 151RA

Property Features

There's a coffee shop/café on site. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. You'll find a 24-hour business centre on site. The business-friendly ibis budget Southampton Centre also features a terrace, complimentary newspapers in the lobby, and dry cleaning/laundry services. For a fee, parking is available. This Southampton hotel is smoke free.

  • 124 guestrooms or units
  • Coffee shop
  • Business centre (24 hours)
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front desk safe
  • Terrace
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • No smoking on site


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


Self parking (surcharge)


  • Airport: Southampton (SOU) (7.2 km / 4.5 mi)
  • Train station: Southampton Central Station (1.3 km / 0.8 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Ibis budget Southampton Centre offers 124 forms of accommodation with free newspapers. Flat-screen televisions come with cable channels. Bathrooms include a shower. Guests can surf the web using complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is offered on a daily basis and hairdryers can be requested.

  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Hairdryer available
  • Desk
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy buffet breakfast on weekdays from 6:30 AM to 10 AM and at the weekend from 7 AM to 10:30 AM.


If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 6 AM


  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.


  • Pets: GBP 5 per pet, per night
  • Restrictions apply
  • For more information, you can reach out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation


Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No cots (infant beds) available


Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for buffet breakfast: GBP 5.8 per person (approximately)
  • Self-parking fee: GBP 10 per day (in/out privileges)
  • Pet fee: GBP 5 per pet, per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • ibis budget Southampton Centre Hotel
  • ibis budget Southampton Centre
  • Etap Southampton

You should know

  • To make arrangements to bring your pet, contact the property directly at the number on your booking confirmation (please see the Fees section for related charges).
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.